We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought this hotel would be!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basic Hotel Bergen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Basic Hotel Bergen to your Saves list
Basic Hotel Bergen
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Silver Spring, MD
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Better than I thought this hotel would be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a nice hotel situated close to the main city area of Bergen. It is about a 10 minute walk to the train station and about a 7 minute walk to the ferry area and Hanseatic Square area. Our room was very nice, large and comfortable with free WIFI and coffee. However, there is no breakfast included at this hotel. I'd say that for the price of this hotel...it is not cheap for what you are getting and there are many more hotels situated closer into the heart of Bergen that may be close in price (costing just a little more)...but we did like the hotel other than the noise from the people drunk from the bar at the end of the street. There is no receptionist after certain hours...so forget about a wake up call at this hotel. They will provide you with a small alarm clock at your request.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    85
    58
    15
    14
See reviews for
18
101
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is on a very noisy student street. There appeared to be student residents directly opposite the hotel and there are many bars and clubs in the immediate vicinity. The noise on both Friday and Saturday night did not stop until 3am and could be heard clearly through ear plugs. Other people have commented on forums about this and the hotel management have come back to say that they were one of occurrences. There is no way this is true. The bars and clubs in the area are well established and numerous. One of the receptionists told us there was little point in them moving our room as this noise was to be expected in Bergen and was completely normal and whichever room we were in, we would hear it. He put the noise down to it being in a city. I disagreed and he very condescendingly told me that this is how cities are as though I had never been in a city in my live! Incidentally, I currently live in the middle of a much bigger city than Bergen and do not have these problems. Conveniently they do not have reception staff after 11pm so there is no one to complain to when you are suffering the most. In short - do not stay here on the weekend and I would always take ear plugs. Further, don't bother with the hotel staff - it is run by children who have little customer services skills. They could not have dealt with our complaint worse.

Room Tip: Get one at the back of the building!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona S, General Manager at Basic Hotel Bergen, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
First of all, accept our sincere appologiez for the disturbance you had during your visit, and also that you did not receive the proper attention by the receptionist when complaining. The reception is open from 0900 until 2300, after 2300 our nigthwatch have rounds and are reachable, information about this is both in the reception area and at the info channel in the tv in room.
In May its correct that we wrote a comment to a review concerning noise, that was a one night happening. These places had been closed for a while , and then suddenly without any notice to us they had a big party 1 night. Since then these two bars that are located in the same building as Basic Hotel Bergen has been sold, and new owners opened up these places again 10.08. We did not before they opened get to know what concept they had.The first weekend it was ok , and they where taken into concideration that we are running a hotel in the same building., as you say – a place where people come to sleep.
Unfortunately they had this arrangement with students in week 33 ( as most of the pubs in Bergen had this week ), and we where trying to have dialog with them concerning music level / noise from the street etc. For us this is not acceptable , and we was addressing this both 15.08 and 16.08, actually we where buying earplugs on the 17.08 for our guests, as it seemed that the noise still was disturbing. Of course this is not a good situation for us and our guests. Our nightwatch reported that it was better , but still noisy. For us this is a really big problem, and we have these days meetings with the owners of these places, as we need to do something about this. We do not want to give our guest wrong information. We will when we launch our website describe that the hotel is located in the middle of the city centre and also that there are two bars in the same building. We are now addressing this and our aim is that these places are not to be disturbance for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It is a basic hotel: rooms are very nicely decorated but a bit on the small side. Our room on the 5th floor had sloped ceilings. The bathroom was a good size.

Rooms have a fridge and a kettle. We bought supplies for breakfast a one of the two grocery stores in the shopping mall close to both the bus station and train station. Both stations are about 1km from the hotel. Walk if you can; taxis are not cheap. A bus will only get you half the distance.

The front desk staff were all very helpful and customer-orientated. They helped us find our way around Bergen, and suggested restaurants (which turned out to be excellent.) After we checked out, they stored our luggage for several hours.

The hotel is located a very easy 5 minute walk from the harbour area. There are lots of restaurants in the immediate area. There are also two excellent museums (Cultural History and Natural History) at the university, which is a 5-minute walk uphill (away from the harbour).

Note that your room will not be cleaned during your stay unless you want to pay extra for it. Bring your own coffee and tea making supplies (including cups.) The windows open, which we found a big plus. The area around the hotel seems a bit lively/noisy at night, but this drops off after 11pm. We had no problem sleeping with our window open (we had a rear-facing room.)

This hotel is good value, and the staff make it a great value.

Room Tip: Elevator goes only to the 4th floor: 5th floor rooms require one flight of stairs. Also, some 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found this budget hotel on the internet. It was reasonably central and recently decorated and furnished to a good standard. There were quirky quotations andf drawings over the beds and on landings which gave a friendly feel to the place. Meals are not provided but vouchers are sold for either breakfast "on the run" or at a nearby hotel. There are many decent restaurents nearby which are reasonably priced by Norwegian standards. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt we got good value for what we paid. Tea making facilities were avalable in the bedroom & cofee was available at modest cost on one of the landings. We were allocated a room on the 5th floor but unfortunately the lift only went to the 4th. which meant that we had to carry our luggage up a flight (although the staff did offer to carry it up for us)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel really made me speechless - we stayed in the most beautiful room at a very reasonable price (considering that Bergen is in Norway...), close to the city center and the railway station, with very helpful and friendly staff. I just loved the decoration of the place, the bed was very comfortable, the room big and clean. I don´t know what else to say, except please don´t even think about staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here in May for 3 nights - it may be called basic but it's actually more than basic. Room size are just enough 2 people with not much to spare but comes with a decent sized bathroom, with coffee making facility in the room, internet connection, stylish new furnishing, and great location to the city.
Beds were comfortable, very clean but no housekeeping unless you request for it and it comes with a fee. For the price I was paying in Bergen and so near the city, it was reasonable. I felt at home - lots of privacy. No breakfast but the town centre was easily accessible by foot and short walk away takes you to coffee shops and stores. It's also a short walk to the nearest bus stand to take the Flybussen to the airport. Overall I really liked the hotel. It's like an budget version of a boutique hotel - a step above staying at hostels with the basic hotel room comforts. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spent 3 nights here in July 2012.

Room: Had a standard double room on the 5th floor on the back of the hotel away from the street. I had read some reviews that mentioned noise, but this was a very quiet room. The room was a bit on the small size, with little room on either side of the bed. Being on the top floor, the slope of the roof cut into the size of the room on one side. The room had air conditioning but it wasn't needed during our stay. There was no closet space, just a single small drawer in each of the 2 bedside tables. Washroom had a very small stand-up shower with good water pressure.

Amenities: Free wi-fi was solid and fast. The room had a mini-fridge which helped with the very high food costs in Bergen. There is no breakfast at the hotel but there is a coffee machine on the 2nd floor. Cleaning of the rooms is not provided unless you're staying for more than 7 days or arrange for it for a fee.

Location: Just a few minutes walk to the harbour, I found this to be a great location. There is a grocery store one block away and numerous restaurants, bars and cafes within a few minutes walk. It is about a 10 minute walk to the bus/train stations.

Staff: There was an issue with our room key on check-in that was resolved promptly by a very friendly attendant on duty. The hotel doesn't always have staff on the desk (especially overnight), but you can reach staff via an intercom in the small lobby.

Overall: It's a very good value hotel in what is a very expensive town. By North American standards, this would be a 2 star hotel, but for three nights in Bergen, I found this to be a very clean, convenient hotel that offered good value compared to other options.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter. Request one of these if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basic Hotel Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Bergen

Address: Hakonsgaten 27, Bergen 5015, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basic Hotel Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our three Basic Hotels are located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality. All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Basic Hotel Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic Hotel Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.