We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "new" rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Neptun to your Saves list
Scandic Neptun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkendorfsgate 8, Bergen 5012, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice "new" rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice location, nice rooms, clean environment, friendly staff, good breakfast and desent price. No gym, but you are offered free admittance close by. Definately a place to consider when in Bergen. Stayed several times and will for sure comeback . Restaurants of various quality close by.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking time to write positive comments.

We look forward seeing you again!

Best regards
Scandic Neptun

Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    115
    85
    56
    19
See reviews for
51
122
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel lobby is huge - and newly upgraded.
Check in went rather well. Hotel was nearly full - so I got the impression that I should feel lucky to get a room. Do not think the hotel was that full,but for a receptionist this can add some excitement in the daily routines. Do not fully understand what is the strategy behind it - as customers in a city floating over with available rooms in March may just consider to leave.

Room was big,everything functioned and all was clean and nice including the bathroom.
Breakfast next morning was also good - with lots of choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay - thank you for your nice comments on the breakfast buffet and our new reception and lobby area.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!


Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimingham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

- the enormous lobby area was very stylish, the receptionist efficient if not over- friendly, so our expectations were raised.The room was big and comfortable (big TV with BBC World Service), as was the bathroom but the room desperately needed repainting. If the refurbishment is indeed 'nearly complete' then I am surprised. And when will hotels learn than two single beds just pushed together do not a double make? We are 'old marrieds' but had we been on our honeymoon/a romantic break I think we might have been a bit cross.....
' Housekeeping' aren't doing a good job here-there was no convenient mirror to use when drying your hair (in the room, not the bathroom) no shelf in the shower for your (own)toiletries, no bin in the bathroom. The hot water ran out about 5pm and again later, though when it did run it was fine and the power shower was powerful . We didn't complain as these things weren't crucial to us, but petty omissions don't give a good impression There were empty cardboard boxes in the corridor when we arrived, which were still there hours later. The following day a dirty duster-unused I would think as all the ledges in the corridor were dusty- sat outside for a while.
The most disappointing thing was the breakfast, which, apart from being badly laid out (not enough room between the serving stations, large tour group in) was not the huge 'spread' we had come, perhaps wrongly , to expect in Norway, though what there was tasted fine, especially the bread. We came down a good half an hour after they 'opened' on the second day but the hot plate for DIY waffles/pancakes wasn't hot . Very inadequate fruit selection . . All the plates in one place, which led to 'blocks' , tea bags nowhere near the hot water machine . It's completely DIY.
However the brasserie Pascal (near the front of the building) was excellent , though the equivalent of £150 for three courses (set menu) with a bottle of wine for two -this is Norway-and the staff very friendly . We went back on our second night- two main course with 2 glasses of wine and one coffee about £120 Sadly, we did not try Lucullus. I noticed the set menu was about £120 per person (without wine)
Taxi to station an extortionate £20-we had cases/a train to catch- at 7.45 on a Monday morning with very little traffic . It's about a fifteen/20 minute walk

Room Tip: We were on the side of the hotel facing a small 'green' area which was quiet. But I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are sad to hear that you were not happy with several things doing your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the housekeeping departement, and they will look into it. Regarding the breakfast buffet I must say we are a bit surprise that you were not happy. We have recently upgraded the buffet and we get a lot of positive feedback on both selection and presentation.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Pascal Mat & Vin - thanks for your positive comments on that.

Happy easter from Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed one night and was pleased with the location, very close to Bryggen in the centre of Bergen. Walking to restaurants and shopping. Room was not refurbished, but it was OK. Nice flat screen. No minibar, no ironing board, no proper shampoo/conditioner in room, just the combined soap/hair liquid bolted to the wall as Scandic likes to do it. Coffe/tea making facilities in room is a plus.

Breakfast was good, nice cold spread and different kinds of egg, bacon and the full option as well. Bonus for option to make your own pancakes (lappe).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the selcetion on the breakfast buffet. Next time you think there is something missing in your hotelroom, please contact the reception and they will bring i.e ironing board to your room. We are also happy to tell that straight after easter the hotels gets the popular Scandic Shop in the reception., so hopefully our guests will find what they need of snack, beverages etc there.

Happy easter from Scandic Neptun!


Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have tried a good number of hotels, always trying to find a good deal in this wonderful city, but this was my first time at the Neptun. Location is fine, set back from the water, although only 10 minutes walk to the main shopping area, it's quiet and very convenient for most travellers.

Those undertaking the Norway in a Nutshell tour will be delighted to know that it is only 15 minutes from the station on foot so easy to get to.

The reception area is spacious and I was attended to quickly in spite of my late arrival after the Norwegian flight which arrives at 2325, service was pleasant and I headed up to the room. The corridors are a little tired, definitely a little TLC would not go amiss, but hardly problematic.

The real surprise was the size of the room, which was really large, with a separate seating area so you can watch your flat screen. The bed was extremely comfortable with lots of lighting and plugs for your electric devices and of course, wi-fi was free of charge.

Breakfast was fine, not the best I have had in Norway as the selection was limited but what was there was good enough. Sadly I did not have dinner here so cannot enlighten you on that element.

The hotel in summary is fine for business and leisure clients, with spacious rooms and a really good reception area. Food is fine, not outstanding, but perfectly good enough.

The Scandic is certainly a hotel I would consider again, although perhaps I may choose one with a little more character next time.

Room Tip: as an atrium style hotel, the inner ones have no view, but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your first stay at the Scandic Neptun! As you mention the location of the hotel is very good, and within ten minutes walk you actually get to the famous Bryggen (the old Hanseatic wharf) the funicular "Fløibanen " and of course the shoppingarea. To bad you did´nt get to try our restaurants. We have three different restaurants; Lucullus is a gourmetrestaurant, pascal is a bistro frenchstyle and Entré is the newest one, located next to the reception. Next time, maybe...:)

Regarding your comments on the corridors I am happy to tell that we are now changing all carpets, upgrading the lighting with LED-lights and painting the walls in the corridors.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

A very comfortable stay with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. The flybus from the airport delivered us to the front door of the hotel. A very convenient position with an easy walk to the centre. Great value!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We introduced the new Scandic breakfast just one week ago so we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the selection and the presentation.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Perfectly fine hotel for short stays, fairly central location with Airport Shuttle stop right outside. Little bit rough around the edges but reasonably priced with friendly staff and a good breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you liked our breakfast! Actually we are introducing the new Scandic breakfast next week including freshly made "svele" - a true norwegian specialty:) Hopefully you choose to stay with us next time you visit Bergen so you get to try it!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgate 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.