We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Neptun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Neptun to your Saves list
Scandic Neptun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkendorfsgate 8, Bergen 5012, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

A very comfortable stay with friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. The flybus from the airport delivered us to the front door of the hotel. A very convenient position with an easy walk to the centre. Great value!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We introduced the new Scandic breakfast just one week ago so we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the selection and the presentation.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    128
    94
    57
    19
See reviews for
57
128
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Perfectly fine hotel for short stays, fairly central location with Airport Shuttle stop right outside. Little bit rough around the edges but reasonably priced with friendly staff and a good breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you liked our breakfast! Actually we are introducing the new Scandic breakfast next week including freshly made "svele" - a true norwegian specialty:) Hopefully you choose to stay with us next time you visit Bergen so you get to try it!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards,
Birte Iversen

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice comfortably rooms. The staff was very helpful.
The hotel's restaurant Pascal can be recommended; Excellent food and quick service.
Breakfast was very good served in nice location.
Used the lobby area for a business meeting. Free self-service coffee was available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your very nice review! We are super happy that you enjoyd your stay with us.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards

Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel, prior to embarking on the Hurtigruten cruise. It was a nice hotel, but in the middle of some refurbishment at present. I had one of the new rooms and it was spotlessly clean. The staff were excellent, very kind and extremely helpful. I would nonetheless recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms in a recently built area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The refurbishment of the hotel is almost completed, a few things remaining like changing carpets in rooms and corridors along with new corridor lighting.

We wish you a merry christmas and a happy new year!

Best regards
Scandic Neptun
Birte Iversen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our first ever stay in this hotel was 17 years ago . And the rooms had plenty of "extras and courtesy toiletries " . 17 years later same property and I have been around a lot of hotels in that time .
Our latest visit was on the last day of the opening of a whole new Reception and lobby area . All was cleaned up , old reception desk thrown out and cleaning and vacuuming over in under an hour . I was the first to check in to the new reception . The immediate impression of the whole of the Reception , bar and lounge looks splendid . Lobby floor looks like a fine shining ballroom stage . So my question is this ....."Is this the beginning of a great hotel makeover and restoration ?"
We stayed there only for our weekend away . The rooms in our passage had an individual name of an explorer or pioneer which I thought was a very inventive way to give a theme and special touch . Nice . Our bathroom i thought was " compact " And there was an age old cigarette burn mark on the sink . Some ceiling tiles had been replaced and were whiter than the rest . On the carpet right before the bathroom door was a massive stain on the carpet . The bedroom furniture style was good .
The lounge area looked fine but needed a new light bulb and in addition 2 light tubes positioned just after the curtains . It was reported and fixed in one hour .
17 years ago there were no wall-mounted tv screens . But now there was one . Mounted on top of a dirty mark where it was clear the 8 sided mirror had once hung . Modern technology does not wash walls and if the mark was impossible to remove without damaging the wallpaper then interior decorating or a bigger tv could solve the problem . Still in the room I noticed that the furniture that I liked had some scrapes along the edges of the coffee table with use . The cupboard which housed the mini-fridge ( not a mini bar ) was now a cupboard without a door . The door had been removed . Hotel information leaflets were very sparse on necessary basic info .
The breakfast restaurant on the second floor serves a very good , wide choice buffet .The lift "drops" pleasantly into it . Staff were friendly , calm and welcoming . The carpet in the restaurant had gathered it share of splashes . Soft floors soften noise but need attention .
This was our weekend and I was there to have a good restful weekend with my wife . We did . These observations and details are worth noting . For me everything functioned well . BUT ..................... My advice to Scandic hotels is this = Your new Reception and lobby area I hope is not the end of your hotel upgrading . Simple maintainence of every room would lift my rating of this hotel . It might not be economically possible to simply refurbish every room .Most people experience dissatisfaction because they buy disappointment , that is it glitters on the outside but the inside lacks the same class as the outside

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you took your time to write such a detailed review - your opinion is important to us!
As you mention there is a lot of things going on in the hotel at the moment. Our brand new reception and lobby are working well and we do recive very nice comments and feedback from visitors and guest. I am happy to tell that tomorrow is the opening of our new breakfast restaurant situated on the ground floor, next to the reception. It is very nice looking and is going to be great!
We have also built 70 new rooms inkl. three suites on the 8th floor with private terrace. Next step in the renovating of the hotel is changing carpets in rooms and corridors along with new corridor lighting.

So, yes, there is a major upgrade of the hotel taking place theese days. Hopefully you will stay at Scandic Neptun again and get to see all the changes!

Merry christmas and a happy new year!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
M;anager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight in one of your new rooms. The door to our room did not lock! Someone from the front desk said she would be up to take a look, never came. We called, they said someone who works on the rooms would check our room, never arrived. Finally saw a housekeeper who also checked the lock and she called the front desk to tell them about our problem. Someone called to tell us the door did lock and would send someone, again never did. Finally just gave up and put furniture in front of the door and went to bed. This really needs to be corrected, probably won't given someone else complained months ago about issues with the new rooms. Poor customer service, but beautiful room.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review!

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We have a duy manager working every afternoon and every weekend to make sure that there is always a manager on site if anything happens after regurlar working hours. In this case our routines clearly failed, and we do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

Our front desk manager will use your case to make sure we do better in the future.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Noruega
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I like the hotel for this concerning with norwegian modern art. Books, music, prints all over the place. Even with the ramshackle room we were, we had a big tv set. The room was ugly with ugly curtains, old tiles, bronken furnitures, but everything works well. The water was warm, the towells were clean, the bed were soft. I do now understand how so many artists throw throught the window tvs & chairs way. That´s preety much a room designed for the case. Be my guest.

But the room had a nice view for the Fløybane.

The girls at lobby were good, spesially the nowergian one.
The bar girl maybe should have more learning.

I liked the building, I liked the breackfast salloon. The breackfast was nice, but not that stravagant. If you can ask stuff before, you may garantee your spesial preferences.

Very well located hotel, among the commercial center & Akvariet. It seemed to me drived to be a family friendly.

Room Tip: top floor, you may get the view to hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you liked our art collection and the way you can explore art pretty much all over the hotel.

Scandic Neptun is currently renovating the entire hotel, and will by the end of the month get 70 new rooms, a new reception-and lobbyarea and in January we will open up our third restaurant. Hopefully the next time you visit Bergen we can offer you a brand new room in a, almost, brand new hotel:)

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgate 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Scandic Neptun hotel Hotel Scandic Neptun in central Bergen has a quayside location within walking distance of Bergen's top attractions and entertainment. From the Scandic Neptun hotel, step into downtown Bergen and visit Bryggen, Bergen's Hanseatic area and a UNESCO World Heritage site. Discover penguins, seals and fish down at Bergen Aquarium. The popular Fløibanen funicular railway is just a few minutes' walk from the hotel and takes you right to the top of mount Fløyen, one of the seven mountains surrounding Bergen. At the Scandic Neptun hotel we have one of Bergen's largest collections of modern art, giving you a great cultural experience during your hotel stay in Bergen. We're also renowned for the gourmet dishes served in Restaurant Lucullus. In addition, we have a continental-style bistro and a wine and champagne bar. Arrange meetings, conferences or events in one of our venues at Scandic Neptun, all with wireless internet and modern equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.