We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jazz consert should be free charged for guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Neptun

Save Saved
You added Scandic Neptun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Neptun
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Valkendorfsgate 8, Bergen 5012, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Bergen
Stavanger, Noruega
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Jazz consert should be free charged for guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I like the hotel for this concerning with norwegian modern art. Books, music, prints all over the place. Even with the ramshackle room we were, we had a big tv set. The room was ugly with ugly curtains, old tiles, bronken furnitures, but everything works well. The water was warm, the towells were clean, the bed were soft. I do now understand how so many artists throw throught the window tvs & chairs way. That´s preety much a room designed for the case. Be my guest.

But the room had a nice view for the Fløybane.

The girls at lobby were good, spesially the nowergian one.
The bar girl maybe should have more learning.

I liked the building, I liked the breackfast salloon. The breackfast was nice, but not that stravagant. If you can ask stuff before, you may garantee your spesial preferences.

Very well located hotel, among the commercial center & Akvariet. It seemed to me drived to be a family friendly.

Room Tip: top floor, you may get the view to hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear that you liked our art collection and the way you can explore art pretty much all over the hotel.

Scandic Neptun is currently renovating the entire hotel, and will by the end of the month get 70 new rooms, a new reception-and lobbyarea and in January we will open up our third restaurant. Hopefully the next time you visit Bergen we can offer you a brand new room in a, almost, brand new hotel:)

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    92
    70
    49
    17
See reviews for
36
94
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We are at the end of our Norway in a Nutshell. All our other accommodation was fantastic but the Neptun was disappointing. Very old - we changed rooms thanks to the girls on the front desk. Our first room faced a noisy road so great to be able to change. Very ordinary bathroom and wate not hot in the shower!! Everything just very tired. Would havelikedablittle more modern for the price!! Good location though

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are sorry yo hear that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. We are currently renovating the hotel and by the end of this year we will have 70 new rooms, new reception and lobby, one more restaurant and not at least we will uprade the remaining floors. So hopefully if you ever come back to Bergen we can proudly show you our new hotel!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Mangager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The new rooms in the Nor section are compact and well designed but need just a little more attention to detail. You have to plug the kettle in ..in the bathroom, the bathroom needs a storage shelf and a larger shower screen as the entire bathroom floor gets wet. There are no power outlets for you laptop , iPad etc unless you plug in the bathroom or unplug a light. Central location and customer service is good.... Not very informative about what you can do either in person or print material. The new section has 8 to 10 stairs and no ramp not a good experience with luggage.

Room Tip: Book after the renovations are completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are glad to hear that you liked the design in our new rooms. As you mention there are a few more details that needs to be looked into - for instance moving the plugs to the kettle. There should be power outlets for electronic equipment on the desk, so hopefully our guests won´t have to use the plug in the bathroom.

Scandic has a focus on the environment so therefore we have very few printed brochures. But our staff in the reception will be happy to help you next time - they will try their best to find what you are looking for.

We are pleased that you liked our central location and thank you for your nice comments regarding the customer service.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun





We
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

-ve. fairly small room, strange barthrom door, did not close, designed this way. Hot room, no AC, difficult to get cool. Building work outside, disturbed early in morning and noisyn throughout the day.

+ve - wifi good, breakfast good, lcation good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are aware of the problem with the new bathroom doors and our supplier is working on it. Usually we dont need aircondition in Bergen as the temerature very seldom is more than 25 degrees and that is why so few hotels have aircondition in rooms.

The hotel is currenly renovating several floors and unfortunately this will cause some noise in periods, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are happy that you liked our breakfast and our good location!

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel was part of a prebooked Fjord tour and the first two hotels were fantastic but even without this comparison we were horrified by our treatment. We were told we could expect to get our room between 2 and 3pm but if we arrived earlier we could ask if the room was ready. Our boat arrived at 12 so we asked to be told we could have a room on the 3rd floor but the implication was that if we waited we could have a newer, quieter room - probably further from the street so we went away leaving our bags in the luggage room. On our return at 2.45 we were given a room which overlooked the courtyard where the noise from builders was way beyond a joke, one of the windows was boarded up so the room was dark and the decor was really depressing. I never complain about hotel rooms but this was to be an exception so back we went to be told that 'our room' was still not ready (there was no suggestion of this at 2,45!) but we could use the room until then so we said we would be back at 5 after we had had a look around the area. At 5 the receptionist had left and the one we spoke t was new and had no record of another room. She offered us one on the top floor facing out so no builders, brighter and quieter so we took it but to reach it we had to pass along dirty corridors and the room was cramped and very tired. We had no minibar or tea facilities - there would not have been room. The only good part was the view. Breakfast was overcrowded, poorly organised and far inferior to other Norwegian hotels that we have stayed in. On checking the price, poor value too!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms were not quieter and the one we were shown (and did not take) had one window boarded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are sad to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your stay. The staff try their best to allocate rooms early, but sometimes we get many late check -uts and it is impossible to get the rooms ready for early check-in. Standard check-in time is 15 p.m. We are also sorry that you did get the room you were first promised, and we will aske the staff in the reception to look into their routines.

We are aware that the standard is not good enough in som part of the hotel, but when we are done with the renovation project later this fall we will be happy to welcome you all back to Scandic Neptun.

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night at Scandic Neptun Hotel in Bergen in August 2012.
The location of the hotel is convenient and very close to the port and was easily to find by car-you can park in front of the hotel for a while.
At the reception we had a small problem because despite we booked the room for a special price in advance (it was payable at the moment of booking), they wanted the credit card at the time of arrival and the money were deducted at the time of arrival (this may cause troubles when you have got limited payments by credit card per week and you plan to spend the money on something else).
The room itself was clean but dark, decorated with dark velvet in a masculine style. The bathroom was quite big, with a bath and a hair dryer. No coffe/tea making facilities as in Scandic Hotel in Oslo. There were 2 elevators but only one took the guests to the breakfast room which made some of them a little bit confused and they used the stairs instead.
The breakfast itself was great - english/ continental food, local food, fruit, cereals, pancakes, even the fish oil! The staff quickly refilled the missing food despite there were fully occupied breakfast room.

The only negative thing about Bergen is that you have to pay an extra money for parking, because it is not possible at the hotel garage. Here in Scandic, you will get an 20% off the cost when you show your parking ticket at the reception desk (at least a small compensation).

Room Tip: Windows overlooking the main street are more noisy because of the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are very glad that you enjoyed our central location and the selcetion on the breakfast buffet.

Hotels all over Norway have the same practice when it comes to creditcard payment, and there is nothing the hotel can do to change that, I´m afraid.

When it comes to parking in Bergen it is expencive, so we are very happy that we are able to offer our guests 20% discount.

Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great and the rooms are spacious but these are the only decent things about this hotel. The condition of the room was awful. Ugly carpeting, poorly maintained barhroom, not very clean room overall. The common areas are very miserable and the worst of all is the breakfast area. Looked like a poor school's cafeteria. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biriv, Manager at Scandic Neptun, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and to hear that you were not satisfied with your hotel room. We are currently undergoing a major expansion and refurbishment process which is scheduled to finish by autumn 2012. With this expansion we will be able to offer 70 completely new rooms. During the fall we will also refurbish some of our existing rooms, including the one you stayed in.

The breakfast is currently moved to areas that are temporary for breakfast-serving, due to renovation of the entire hotel. When the renovation is done we will be happy to serve our guest breakfast in a brand new restaurant placed on the ground floor, next to the reception.


Welcome back to Scandic Neptun!

Best regards
Birte Iversen
Manager
Scandic Neptun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Neptun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Neptun

Address: Valkendorfsgate 8, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Neptun 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Scandic Neptun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptun Hotel Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Neptun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.