We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway (Vågen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We arrived in Bergen a day before our scheduled departure on Hurtigruten to Kirkenes (7 day cruise -- excellent by the way). This hotel is excellent. Classic Scandinavian design. Great staff. The breakfast buffet is awesome. Everything is fresh ranging from classic British/american breakfast goods to Scandinavian smoked and pickled fish/seafood, salads, cheeses... Right next to the Bryuggen (UNESCO heritage site of Hanseatic League shipping houses... near the water/port, walking distance to many sights and the heart of downtown. Steam and Dry Sauna....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience from your last stay in Bergen, Norway.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location here at the Wharf, close to all the main sights. Moreover, we are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the Super Breakfast buffet, the staff and the hotel in general. We hope to see you here in Bergen – and of course we hope you will stay with us next time too.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    372
    134
    45
    14
See reviews for
133
294
48
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Hotel room very nice, even better when I found how to switch the heating on! I used the hotel resteraunt when the staff could be troubled to talk to me with no resrvation it took 5 minutes to decide if I could have a table or not. Food OK resteraunt did not fill up so very poor front of house experience from dissinterested or plain rude staff. I would stay again but go out for dinner

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your last stay in Bergen, Graham.

It is nice to hear you enjoyed the totally renovated hotel rooms, but we are very sorry to hear about your experience in the restaurant. We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your comments about your restaurant experience have been passed on to the Food & Drinks Manager for further investigation.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen – and that you will give our restaurant a second chance.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is the sure choice when visiting Bergen! Uniquely located at the historic Bryggen, close to sights as Fløyen, Torvalmenningen+++ Efficient connection to Airport shuttle as well as other means of transportation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi Marius,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from your stay at Radisson BLU Royal Hotel, Bryggen!

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great location, close to all the main sights. We hope to see you here in Bergen again – and of course we hope you will stay with us nest time too.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I booked this hotel because it is unique as it is located on the Unesco World Heritage
Bryggen

and it was one of an extremely few HOTELS OPENED DURING CHRISTMAS TO NEW YEAR.

This fact is very important to know if you are travelling to Norway. Most things are shut down during Christmas holiday until first week of January!

We did not expect much from the hotel in a small town of 200,000 people in Norway so we were so happy with the warm welcome by the very jolly staff and a newly renovated hotel.

Everything is new. No iffy old furnitures or bed sheets.

The lobby is small but warm and cozy with large weather forecast and flights information panel in the shape of giant iPhone.

It was such a pleasure every time to walk into the warm lobby with elegant fireplace
after the rain and blustery wind. I cannot quite say what it was..., warm, but clean design I suppose and not crowed.

The corridor dotted with framed "Thank You" letters from celebrities, rockstars and personalities who stayed there hung along the wall which was interesting to read...Bruce Springsteen...among others.

OPPS factor!

I mistakenly booked the Business Class Room , a second category up thinking that it would be a better room ( saw in the website) than a suite which in the photo had a slandered roof, instead.

I got a slandered roof room anyway but not a large room. The price was not the issue but a more comfortable is important to us as we had a lot of luggages.

My room on the top floor ( Attic style room..my first time) was small for 2 adults and 5 bags (!!) but had a window opening to the front of the hotel and also a view from the side the waterfront so it has more light even in winter in December.

The elevator is very modern and you do not need to take your own bags like many of the the hotels ( some with no elevators).

It was not the best room of the hotel because of the roof shape but they had no better rooms available on those dates we stayed or so the front desk staff told us.

Nevertheless, it was functional despite the
3 large suitcases + 2 small ones but the fact that it is all new with new bed sheets, towels, and especially bathroom are all new and modern in style.

The biggest surprise was the very good hearty and healthy breakfast.
I would say it is better than the best hotel in Oslo had to offer.

The choice is vast and the chef often showed up himself and say hello.

The hotel also is on the best location in Bergen - Postcard perfect!

The young ladies of front desk are very helpful.
The young lady at the main restaurant was also very sweet.
All in all Norwegians are so very kind people! I was very happy there.

I only need to book their better room next time well ahead of time.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Wow! Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a detailed description of your positive experience from your last stay in Bergen, Norway.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the great “postcard” location, close to all the main sights, and the Super Breakfast buffet. Moreover, we are thrilled to hear how you describe our Yes I Can! staff in the restaurant and at the front desk.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen again – and of course we hope you will stay with us nest time too.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After multiple stay in Radisson Blu in Norway & India, I found that this is a good and nice value for money hotel but not exceptional. Few little issues come up sometime that cause inconvenience. So there are of course some scopes of improvement that can be looked into mostly by more initiative from hotel management. I wise they can enhance their quality of service. However, location wise, quality of rooms offered and attitude of some employees are extremely prefessional & good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Sumit.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the great location and our totally renovated hotel. Moreover, we are pleased to read you received value for money. We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your constructive feedback will be addressed by the various department heads.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for three nights during a visit to Bergen in early January. The location is just perfect, not far from the city center but not noisy. The hotel - good underground parking (city), there is an entrance to the hotel (on the stairs). The room itself is not bad, quite spacious. But for late arrival was not dressing gowns, slippers, not working coffee and tea - in the morning had obschatsya with reception. The breakfasts are very diverse, tasty.
But the staff does not care about the guests of the hotel: the night before out in the hallway had a bad smell, and the day of departure the garage entrance through the hotel was closed - but the reception was very difficult to get a intelligible information.

Room Tip: Choose a room not less than business class for a comfortable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Tor.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed the great location here at Bryggen, close to all the sights, and that you liked our totally renovated hotel and the Super Breakfast buffet. We take the time to listen to your comments, so we can continually improve the guest experience. Your comments about the in-room amenities and the front desk staff has been passed on to the Front Office Manager and will be addressed.

Feel free to reach out to any of our employees should you have any concerns during or after your next stay. We hope to see you here in Bergen again.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The location of this hotel - right in the midst of Brygge - is unbeatable. Service was always friendly and our room was very comfortable and well furnished - with arty Warhol prints above the bed and a great shower in the bathroom. The highlight was probably the breakfast though - coming from the UK Norway is supremely expensive (we paid around £12 for a beer/ £3 for a regular sized chocolate bar) so to have a huge selection of fresh and tasty food for breakfast every morning included in the room rate was excellent.The internet always worked perfectly and hotel was spotlessly clean. For a chain hotel this surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, hannypops, and for taking the time to write about your positive experience.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our hotel as much as you did. We are proud of our Yes I Can! staff, so it is nice that you mentioned the service. Moreover, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed both the great location and the Super Breakfast buffet. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#5 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rezidor, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.