We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, minimalist rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway (Vågen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great service, minimalist rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel based on experience of other Radisson hotels. Having previously stayed in the Tallinn hotel with large rooms, floor to ceiling windows and stunning views, it was a little shocking to find a box-like room with a fold down desk and chair and a view of the roof of the internal courtyard area. Maybe it's a cultural thing but it certainly wasn't what I'd previously experienced. The rest of the hotel is excellently maintained. Having got the negative out the way, the positive is the service. Every member of staff is friendly, courteous and polite and it really does make a difference. The free in room WiFi is also a bonus when a lot of other hotels limit if to the communal areas

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    369
    134
    45
    14
See reviews for
133
291
47
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a Canadian-American living in China, I was happy to arrive in Bergen after a long route via Amsterdam. This hotel is right next to a cheap shuttle going to/from the airport. I was there in May for national holidays, and this was a great place to take in the action.

Location: as others noted it's close to several touristy spots, but importantly near the pier where the Fjord tours depart from (A MUST. Spectacular). Great smoked salmon and other fishy delights can be had there as well. I found it easy to walk anywhere I needed to go in Bergen, and never did I take any transit.

Breakfast: Very generous and tasty. Lots of domestic tourists were around when I visited, and I found people to be quite grumpy and business-like in the morning, so do as I did and send them some cheerful smiles!

Room: Clean, very tiny. Bathroom clean and very tiny. Bed comfortable enough. Internet nice and fast. Standard list of international hotel tv channels. I found it quite expensive, but Norway is the kind of place you have to exhale and just tolerate in terms of expenses.

Staff and service wasn't anything I really dealt with, but they seemed fine if a bit reserved as many locals are anyway, in my opinion.

Bergen, however, is a great city with plenty of lovely food, people, and nature to take in. This is a good place to base your stay from if you don't mind spending a bit more.

Room Tip: Obviously you'd like a view of Bryggen if possible, but I had a view of another window in some b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hi I am into my 2nd night stay here and it has been fabulous. The hotel is pretty new and the breakfast is simply awesome. Overall , I would stay here again and retards this as a much better choice than the radisson blu Norde which is much older though more convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is 2-3 minutes away from Bryggen and close to the centre of Bergen. The rooms are comfortable, clean and adequately sized. The Nespresso coffee machine is a big plus. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We even got a free upgrade to a larger room. We can recommend this hotel for a city trip to Bergen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I had booked this hotel a week upfront through my employer's travel agency. When I arrived half past midnight after a long day, I was informed the hotel was overbooked and that they had organized another hotel for me.
I had to wait for another taxi (of course mine just drove off when I got the news) and was taken to another hotel (not my choice) 15min back the way I was coming from.

I would have expected the hotel to warn me or my travel agency at least a day upfront, or even during my flight, so I would be able to choose myself and not loose ant precious time.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese S, Manager at Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, Lindsey. We understand how precious time can be and you are absolutely right that it would have been better if we managed to inform you, or your travel agency, before you arrived at the hotel. Especially considering your late arrival. This is not the kind of experiences we want our guests to have.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and we will use it in our continuous work on improving every part of the service aspect. Despite the issue you had last time, we sincerely hope that we get the possibility to welcome you again. Please send me an e-mail prior to you arrival, in order for me to quality assure everything about your reservation.

We hope to see you again!

Best Regards


Kjartan Vestbø
-Sales Manager-
kjartan.vestbo@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We took the train from Oslo to Bergen, and walked to the hotel from the train station (only took about 20 minutes, and fairly flat terrain). The hotel is in a beautiful part of Bergen and is ideally located for exploring Bergen. The hotel is lovely - modern, well appointed. We had a business class room and were glad we did, as I think the standard ones were quite small. Breakfast area lovely and spacious, with a great variety of food for breakfast (not as extensive as the Oslo version of breakfasts for this chain of hotels, but nonetheless we'd rate it as top notch). As with Oslo version of hotels in this chain, reception staff okay but if these hotels are aiming to give great service, they have a way to go. Staff don't seem particularly well informed or interested in doing more than is absolutely necessary. So, no particular complaints, but likewise no particular compliments. Just adequate. We would stay there again if we visited Bergen because of the location.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for business class room as they are bigger. Also, we had one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our sightseeing holiday in Bergen. This hotel has a great location if you plan on doing day trips out of Bergen. We caught the bus from the airport and had pleasant journey through Bergen, with the Radisson hotel being the last stop on the bus route. We found the hotel to be comfortable and had all that we needed for this type of holiday. The hotel is in walking distance to some great hiking trails up the mountains, shops and restaurants, and the train station from where we took our Norway in a Nutshell tour from. Breakfast was hectic in the mornings but provided us with some healthy Norwegian breakfast options as opposed to some other places in the world which are packed with unhealthy fried dishes. There was a small gym on the top floor which was okay, but nothing to get too excited about. Service in the hotel was average, for example on one day our shampoo's had not been replaced so we called housekeeping at night and it took over 20 mins for someone to bring us a bottle of shampoo (this was after we called them twice)

Be prepared to pay a lot for things in Bergan especially on eating out. We walked around the restaurants located in the harbor and the food looked great but pricing was extortionate. We ended up settling on a place called Egon (just 5 mins walk from the hotel) due to it's pleasant outdoor setting, generous food servings and reasonable prices. When I say reasonable I mean by Bergens standards based on the average pricing of other restaurants in the area. e.g for ~$45 USD you can get a large ham and pineapple pizza and a ~$15 USD pint of the local beer. If you plan on doing any day trips anywhere best to bring a packed lunch along with you as there are plenty of bakeries and 7/11's that do rolls and salads etc.

Overall we had a good experience at this hotel and would stay here again if visiting Bergen in the future. My travelers tip would be to make the most of the included buffet breakfast and take advantage of the free natural sightseeing activities that this beautiful country has to offer.

Room Tip: Request a room with wooden floors for allergy sufferers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen

Address: Bryggen 5, Bergen 5003, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen > Vågen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
#5 Business Hotel in Bergen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel is idyllically situated on the waterfront, amongst the UNESCO World Heritage listed Hanseatic houses. The hotel`s award winning architecture blends in perfectly with the historical area. The hotel is the ultimate combination of modern facilities in a warm and cosy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Rezidor, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen Hotel Bergen
Radisson Bergen
Bergen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.