We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Holberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Hotel Holberg to your Saves list
Comfort Hotel Holberg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandgaten 190, Bergen 5004, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in June. There is a bus stop outside the hotel where I guess one of the airport buses stops (as there were always people with luggage sitting around waiting), but we ended up being dropped off at Fish Market. No biggy as the hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk.

The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood which is close to the city centre. The city isn't terribly big. The receptionists were very friendly, efficient and spoke excellent English. Nothing was too much and they seemed to enjoy their jobs.

The room itself is not that small by European standards for a 3* hotel. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and I could not hear a peep from the street below when the window was shut. The bonus was the window opened - so we could get fresh Norwegian air. Many hotels only have hvac which can cause the air to be a bit dry.

There aren't tea/coffee facilities in the rooms, but there are tea/coffee facilities in the lobby. They also had very generous paper cups - so you can grab a tea/coffee for the road which is amazing.

Another bonus is there is a communal patio on the seventh (?) floor. This was great to spend 30 minutes on Sunday morning drinking a cup of coffee before our day out. I also noticed a barbeque...

The breakfast was really nice. There is a good spread of fresh fruit, meat, bread (how amazing is freshly baked bread?!), eggs, sausages, etc. The kitchen will cook eggs to order as well. The staff were friendly and efficient.

I'd quite happily stay here again. Friendly staff, good night's sleep and good brekkie - what more do you want?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello HAGustin!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel, and for your kind words. Feedback like this makes us all very happy! We wish you a lovely summer and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    167
    115
    41
    20
See reviews for
73
160
37
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

After reading other reviews wasn't sure what to expect and we were pleasantly surprised. Lovely room with views to the tree-covered mountains, very quiet and just five minutes from the fish market and main shopping street. Wide choice of continental breakfast, all very delicious. Great hotel for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello JenCSalisbury. Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kind words. Reviews like this makes us all very happy! We wish you a good summer and hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Okay at best, but the price was right. Good location for walking to the wharfs and around town. I had a tiny single, barely able to navigate the room. But it had a little balcony, it's one redeeming feature. Lousy breakfast, but they do provide free coffee and tea 24 hours a day. The airport bus stop is literally a 1 minute walk which is very convenient!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Carols01.
Thank you for your stay and for reviewing our hotel.
We are very happy to hear that you value our central location. Our single rooms are admittedly not the biggest, but should still suit the needs of a single guest. At Comfort Hotels we target ourselves towards those who want a comfortable bed - in a clean and affordable room – at a central location, thus leaving the guest with every opportunity to explore the city. However, if you would like a bigger room, feel free to book a double room - or maybe even one of our superior rooms - the next time you visit. We are sorry to hear that you found our breakfast to be unsatisfying. A good breakfast is an important start to any day, and a crucial part of any hotel experience. Please contact us via Facebook and tell us what could have been improved. Lastly, we are glad to hear that you appreciated the free coffee and tea, and the airport shuttle-stop only 20meters from our entrance.
We wish you a good summer and hope to see you again the next time you visit Bergen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voss Municipality, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was actually quiet, and the beds were great.
But the room was small, the bathroom was not great.
The cleanliness was not good, someone had clearly spilled something, and it was not cleaned properly.
Breakfast was good, but not to much to choose from.

All in all, ok for one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello karitha.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We apologize if the cleanliness in your room was unsatisfying; we will follow this up with our housekeeping department. We constantly strive to keep all of our rooms up to our – and the guests- high standards. It was, however, very nice to hear that you enjoyed our beds and appreciated the quietness in our hotel. We most certainly want to give our guests a better experience than “just ok”. We hope you will give us a chance to improve your perception of us the next time you visit Bergen.

Have a magnificent summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel, by impression, is lame... But happily inside, it's not the same!

Hey Guys, Oddvar here, and this time i'll be rating this hotel - Comfort Hotel Holberg

As i said in the "intro" Comfort Hotel Holberg is just a brick house.. with an entrance.. luckily, this is not how it really is.
Though the lobby is small, the location is wierd and Bergen' weather might not always be the best, this hotel scores high.

With free internet/wi-fi, good beds, TV, a nice bathroom, and parket floors... it's just luxorious!
The rooms are nice and clean, bathroom is not too small, but not to big either, and a reasonable price for the Norwegian market at this standard, it's worthy a stay.

You can walk to everything you want to,cruising the world known cobblestone roads of Bergen, and watch both old fasion and modern stores, while enjoying the weather or just the fresh Norwegian air!
- Within a distance of about a kilometre,you'll find possibilities to - shopping, eat nice dinners both cheap and expensive, enjoy the sun in parks (lille lungegaardsvann), going to the theatre, taking a glass of whine or a cold beer, observing different boats at the dockside, or witness the majestich ship Statsraad lehmkuhl at close distance. The possibilities are great!

As a food lover myself, I always love ending my reviews with a "column" dedicated to the hotels breakfast.

- Comfort Hotel Holberg' breakfast... YUMMY!! :D This hotel serves a great great great breakfast consisting of everything from cereals to newly amde crunchy bread, to hot dishes.. It's like the song "Let meeeee, entertain you" ... That sounded wierd, indeed, but anyway GREAT BREAKFAST

(Give me a helpful vote and i'll be sure to detail you about everything you need to know of where i've bee)
- Oddvar, over and out!

Room Tip: Just let them do the work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Oddvar.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our hotel, and for your kind words! Reviews like yours inspire and motivates us to keep doing our very best to offer all of our guests the best possible hotel experience. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice and quiet hotell but very small rooms and even smaller bathroom. (when you have to move the sink to the outside of the bathroom - then it is small) Poor TV-signal and few channels made it impossible to watch TV, used my computer instead because the Internetlink was good.
Good breakfast, nice people working in the reception area still made the stay nice. Will proably be booking here also next time I am in bergen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello Gravert.
Thank you for your stay and for reviewing our hotel!
Our rooms are maybe not the biggest, partly because we target ourselves towards guests who want to spend most of their time exploring the wonderful city of Bergen instead of in their hotel room. The solution with a separate room for the toilet and shower is simply so that these can be used while others are using the basin. However, some of our rooms are bigger than the rest, and include hardwood floors, a bathtub, and a balcony with a view for an extra fee. You are welcome to try them the next time you visit us. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a hotel in quiet area. Its about 10 minutes to walk to "Fisketorget". My room was delicate and a bit "homey", Excellent breakfast and good service. My only objection is that it is no coffe/tee facilities on the rom - even thoug it is always available by the reseption. A nice stay - I will use this hotell again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SveinAnderssen, Manager at Comfort Hotel Holberg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Mona E.
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and for your kinds words. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Holberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Holberg

Address: Strandgaten 190, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Holberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Hotel Holberg is the choice for travelers wanting to live in modern surroundings for an affordable price. The hotel is situated within a short walking distance from the biggest tourist attractions, shopping facilities and theatres in Bergen city center. The rooftop terrace is a hidden gem in Bergen. 149 Rooms, 4 conference room, lounge and reception. The three meeting rooms can fit 25-70 participants with class seating, and the board room can fit 12. In the hotel you will find Chilli Bar & Restaurant, which is one of the best tapas restaurants in the city. Comfort Hotel Holberg offers smart service solutions like for example wireless internet, free coffee/tea from buffet at all hours and coffee to go. Breakfast buffet with healthy options, and a lobby shop with snacks and softdrinks. There is also a small garage where spaces can be pre-booked. The hotel is an urban, efficient and affordable alternative in the Bergen city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Hotel Holberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bergen
Comfort Inn Bergen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Holberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.