We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Admiral to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Admiral
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Sundts gate 9, Bergen 5004, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Bergen
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best in class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In my opinion the best hotel in town (easily out of the ones i have stayed in). Nice room (ginourmous tv), friendly staff, great restaurant and the car park with lots of space 5 mins away, however there is room to drop off and pick up outside hotel. This is where I will be staying on future trips.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    99
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
87
14
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, nice room, central location, very pleasant bar and restaurant decor. We had great views over the Bryggen area, and although there was a lot of noise from the city, the room had interior air condition, so we didn´t have to open windows for fresh air.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during Easter. Conveniently located in the downtown, by the waters and across the heritage site Bryggen. The reception was efficient and helpful, the hotel was elegantly decorated, and we had a generous standard room with all the necessary amenities. The breakfast was variable and plentiful, loved the fish table. A la carte/dinner menu was a bit boring, lacked the vegetarian/fish choices. In general this hotel was not very child friendly (candles, glassware, expensive looking decoration in low of child's reach, in addition to lift there were still some stairs to cope with the buggies, no childrens' corner etc) but we chose this because of our travel companion & knew it beforehand too

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well positioned hotel in the centre of Bergen, helpful staff at reception, lovely room with nice touches. Great views. Good breakfast. Very happy with my choice, Even dinner was delicious and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. My room, with sloping ceiling, was a decent size and pleasantly light, since it was in a corner of the building. The view was unexceptional, however. The bed was very comfortable and the showerroom perfectly adequate. Decoration was unremarkable but acceptable.
Breakfast was excellent and served in very pleasant surroundings, with harbour views. The dinner menu was disappointing and although the food was satisfactory, I thought that the meal was pricy for what it was. Service was very friendly, as indeed it was at reception. (On my first evening, the receptionist recommended me an excellent traditional fish restaurant on the quayside - Enhjorningen, or Unicorn in English).
I had hoped that the hotel might have some leisure facilities but sadly not.
I think that this hotel represents reasonable value for money and I would consider staying here again if returning to Bergen.

Room Tip: A Harbour view would be wonderful but no doubt comes at a price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One-night stay. Friendly staff. Modern and nice room. Cool bar with a harbour view. Super location right at the harbour in the center of Bergen, within walking distance to Bryggen, Torgalmenningen etc etc. Absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First visit to Norway, and chose this hotel based on other Tripadvisor reviews. As I arrived late at night, I went straight to the room and didn't get the chance to look round the hotel properly. Check-in was efficient & polite, and the room (543) well appointed, very clean, although the lighting was a bit dim and a very poor view of the road and buildings. There was an angled part of the roof which could well have been a problem (banging head) had there been more than me in the room (it could sleep 3), but I avoided that side of the room. The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of cushions and a huge pillow, and I slept unusually well for the first night in a hotel. The bathroom was in the form of a wet room, which was fine, and the shower a combination rain/hand-held heads, which was excellent. The toiletries provided, in fixed dispensers, were good quality. Breakfast in the restaurant, which had superb views across the harbour, was buffet style (included in the room price) but with a huge range of hot and cold food, drinks etc. The salmon was among the best I have had, unsurprising I guess for the area but never-the-less very enjoyable. Unfortunately, my stay was brief, and the weather initially atrocious, but from the little of Bergen that I saw impressed as being very clean, efficient and somewhere I could re-visit given a generous budget (everything expensive compared to the UK).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Admiral

Address: C. Sundts gate 9, Bergen 5004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bergen
#3 Family Hotel in Bergen
#4 Business Hotel in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Admiral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Admiral finished a large renovation in May 2014. The hotel is right in the center of Bergen City, with a view featuring Bryggen and Fløyen Mountain. Enjoy lunch and dinner served in the restaurant Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson.Clarion Hotel Admiral in Bergen is situated in a traditional pack house that dates back to 1904. The dignified old building opened as a hotel in 1987. A stay at Clarion Hotel Admiral is the perfect starting point for Bergen’s unique city life; shopping, concerts, theatre and dining.The staff at Clarion Hotel Admiral fully understand that a genuine presence and individual care form the basis of passionate hotel management. Our creative employees will do everything they can to make your visit a memorable experience. This is how we manage to create such an intimate atmosphere in the heart of Bergen.In the hotels bar and restaurant, Kitchen & Table, we offer a diverse menu with influences from Manhattan - and Bergen. Afterwards you can relax in our salon with a glass of wine, cocktail, beer or a cup of coffee.We offer a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning, and free coffee/tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Bergen
Clarion Bergen
Bergen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Admiral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.