We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin ** potential.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bare Restaurant

Bare Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel Norge | Nedre Ole Bulls plass 4, Bergen 5012, Norway (Sentrum)
47 40 0024 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: $129 - $163
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Søtt+Salt restaurant har nå byttet navn til Bare restaurant. Frode & Fredrik fra Søtt+Salt har valgt å fokusere på sine kjerne virksomheter, og derfor har Øystein Ellingsen som siden starten har vært Daglig leder og medeier overtatt hele driften. Konseptet og de ansatte er det samme. Velkommen til BARE restaurant
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Michelin ** potential.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My only exquisite dining experience in Norway. Incredible creative cooking, unforgettable handling of the ingredients. Friendly staff, perfect wines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced, small portions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went with colleagues, had booked table for 19.00. We arrived on time but were told to wait in the bar because they were not ready. (no other guests were there) We ordered 4 courses with the wine meny. Food was quite tasty but very small portions, and the wine was served with no introduction of the selected wines. Overall the food was overpriced anf wines were average. They are trying to be a gourmet restaurant, which they are not able to live up to. The bathroom had no soap in it, and we had to remind them 3 times to fill the soap. Makes you wonder if the chefs washed their hands .......

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cutting edge cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We've visited Bare Restaurant three times since it changed name from Søtt og Salt. The experience was outstanding on two occasions, and more than good on the last. The place has an unlikely location inside Radisson Blu Hotel Norge, but this is definitely not a typical hotel restaurant. The food was cutting edge gourmet, but clearly Western Norwegian at the same time. We were served by both a waiter and the main chef who offered us a very personal service, and we were also given several dishes as treats, beside the 8-course menu we had ordered. Knowing the high level of costs in Norway, this restaurant is not as pricy as it may seem, but actually offers great value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellings1, Owner at Bare Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We thank you for your feedback. Every day we work hard to improve ourselves and discover new and interesting flavours.
We enjoied your your previous visits and looking forward to see you in our restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A special dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Søtt + Salt Restaurant is situated inside Radisson Blu Hotel Norge in Bergen. At the Søtt + Salt Restaurant you're in for a special dining experience. The menu is presented with only key words of what you will be served. The food was splendid and the dining experience is great! You will be served several small courses with exiting composes of ingredients. Every course was beautiful and the wine was great! I will recommend this restaurant for everyone who visits Bergen.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Dinner in Bergen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had dinner at Søtt and Salt while we were staying in Bergen. The food concept is simple: You choose between a 3/5 or 7 course dinner. We decided to go for 3. It started with an "amuse bouche" from the kitchen followed by a lobster first course. For the second course we had the Norvegian "Hake" fish which was an excellent joice. As dessert we had a milk ice creme with dill and aquavit - very delicious and innovative. The service was extremly friendly and professional. Overall an outstanding dinner experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bare Restaurant also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Bare Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bare Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.