We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spisekroken

Spisekroken
Klostergaten 8, Bergen 5005, Norway (Vågen)
55 23 01 15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Vågen
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming place with fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We made sure to book beforehand as the restaurant has limited seating. For main we had veal and reindeer, both dishes with a local touch, accompanied by a Pinot Noir. Everything tasted heavenly (- especially the reindeer). Marvellous food and friendly service. Definately a place we will visit again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    61
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Bergen...or entire Norway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We have late 30 min, but the very beautiful and nice weither (girl) wait for us with the chichen open! We eat the best soup find here in Norway! Everything was SUPERB ;))!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A world apart from touristy Bergen......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

In a town like Bergen where eating out is fairly expensive and most restaurants seem to charge +/- the same for pretty uninspiring fayre, the Spisekroken is a great find, tucked away in the Nordnes district nor far physically from the centre of Bergen, but miles away in terms of quality and service. A rather limited but specialised menu; veal, goat, fish and scallops - all is explained to you by charming staff. This is a serious and professional restaurant offering a daily 3 course menu at 435 NOK. Even the price of wine is not exhorbitant (unlike everywhere else in Norway). My best meal and most enjoyable meal during a 9 day stay in Norway. Highly recommended but best to book beforehand.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Loved the sampler with three shots of aquavit... though you'd be quite drunk before the main meal. We had an excellent dinner - probably the best of the trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quaint, Excellent Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Went to this small, local restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed. We were seated without a reservation (we went early) and had an excellent meal. Had the trio of appetizers paired with Aqvavit. Very interesting and yummy. Our entrees were excellently prepared, and it was obvious that thought went into each dish. The wine selection is good, but not large. We were able to find a decently-priced Gruener Veltliner. The restaurant is small, so a reservation is probably a good idea, but it is very quiet, quaint, and frequented by locals. The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive. Of our three "good" meals in Bergen (read: outside the Fish Market), this was probably the second best for the both of us. My wife preferred Naboen and I preferred "Penguin", but Spisekroken was a wonderful experience for both of us.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spisekroken also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Spisekroken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spisekroken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.