We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norwegian food with a nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bryggeloftet & Stuene

Bryggeloftet & Stuene
Bryggen 11, Bergen 5003, Norway
55 30 20 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Price range: $19 - $117
Cuisines: Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant where the atmosphere makes all the difference. Enjoy dining in the fascinating atmosphere of the old warf, Bryggen, where the buildings erected by the merchants of the Hanseatic League between the 13th and the 18th centuries still stand.
Bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Norwegian food with a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This restaurant is a place where we go to eat good Norwegian food at chat with friends...
During sunny days we always try to get a table outside...to enjoy the harbour area...
Good food and nice service ........

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    208
    29
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Norwegian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Good Norwegian and international dishes
Reindeer, monkfish, cod, beef.
Dishes are big and prices in line with other restaurants in Bergen
Relaxed atmosphear
Been there many times
I would not recomand Lutefisk to foreigners. If you are not used to the consistency and taste you will most probably not like it. But its a taste issue and it is one of Norway most traditional dishes

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Bergen fish soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

With a superb location in the heart of Bryggen Hanseatic wharf, a historic building, and a traditional Norwegian menu this place might be a touristy cliche. But it's not.
Our food was good and the service was the right kind of friendly and relaxed. We had excellent Bergen fish soup and tasty locally brewed beer.
It seemed a good sign that the other diners were mostly Norwegians with young children. If I lived in Bergen I'd visit this place regularly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmachar
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“First rate Restaurant on the Bryggen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We ate there twice during our short visit and were not disappointed on either occasions. The starters are big portions so beware, if you want to finish your main course. The pepper steak was beautifully cooked and Steinbit, comprising Wolf-fish, mussels and prawns was just as good. Good value.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very expensive traditional food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a great meal here and were happy to try the traditional dishes but it is very expensive, £115 for two. We had the moose, reindeer, salted trout and the lutefisk. The lutefisk is a must-it's a white fish served with sautéed bacon and a legume mash is very rich but well worth it. But £43!! Eek! Anyway, it was a good experience, just be mindful it comes at a hefty price tag. Book ahead. Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryggeloftet & Stuene also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
Bergen, Hordaland
 
Bergen, Hordaland
 

Been to Bryggeloftet & Stuene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryggeloftet & Stuene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.