We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Basic Hotel Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Basic Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Basic Hotel Victoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kong Oscars Gate 29, Bergen 5017, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

BEWARE of extending your stay. We booked our stay through bookings.com for two nights, and when we decided we wanted to stay in Bergen for a third night we asked at the front desk to extend our stay. The person at the front desk did not tell us we were being charged a different price when we booked to stay another night and it cost us almost DOUBLE the amount for one additional night. They would not refund us even though their front desk staff didn't tell us that extending would cost us almost double. This hostel was nothing special and DEFINITELY not worth how much we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    19
    25
    16
    3
See reviews for
7
33
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading previous reviews, I was prepared for the worst. I was surprised to find a clean, modern room with plenty of space for one person, and a decent sized clean bathroom. For the price you pay, yes it's a lot for what you get, but this is pretty consistent in these parts of Norway. My room was on the fifth floor and it was not a problem with the stairs and elevator situation. Room had white painted walls, clean floors, a tv and a refrigerator. Convenient to the harbor area if coming by boat and a quick walk to the train station as well. Staff was young and you get a mix of helpfulness depending on the person.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

After being greeted by a friend receptionist, we headed up to our 5th floor room. The elevator doesn't go to the 5th floor so you must walk up a flight of stairs from the 4th. The hallway smelled of urine and the signage on the wall was damaged & run down looking.
Our room was set up with a cot for our 7 year old, and the beds were nicely made; however, the room was DIRTY. The floor looked as though it hadn't been swept in weeks, and the rod in the closet was broken. The bathroom smelled of urine and it was very moldy. Luckily, we only stayed one night- definitely happy to get out of there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Short walk to the fish market and tourist information centre. Our room was clean with a TV, kettle and small fridge. Our room was located on the 1st floor and was facing the cathedral. One plus point was that the room was lined with windows, all of which can be opened wide thus it was breezy and cooling at night. You would hear cars passing by below but as there are not many cars around, it wasn’t noisy to us. Wi-fi connection is not good, where you would only get 2 bars at most if your phone is held at a specific spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel was located in a great location. The room was clean and acceptable.
However, you have two choices, one a room that may be quiet (not sure) but looks at a wall of another building, or two, a room that looks out to the street but is very noisy. We did realize until we were leaving that in the summer, the hotel has live entertainment, directly beneath the windows from 9:00 PM to 3:00 AM. Needless to say we did not get any sleep while that was going on. If you cherish your sleep, then do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel location is fantastic as it is less than 10 minutes walk to the fish market and to the world heritage site of Bryggen. Also just 10 minutes to the bus stop to/from the Bergen airport or bus station and train station. It is diagonally opposite the old 12th century cathedral in the old town. I was lucky to have a room facing the cathedral so I had a splendid view. But the room is really basic and there is no room cleaning daily unless you requested for it and paid extra for it. For me it is ok as I just stayed for 2 nights. The room is very clean. The hotel staff is friendly. But the price of the hotel room is a bit pricey considering the facilities of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is a low budget. The room is very simple and basic. It's ok for one night or for backpackers style. Location very good though, near the railway station and Fish Market.
We stayed there just for 01 night and it was clean and comfortable. Wi fi was good as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basic Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Hotel Victoria

Address: Kong Oscars Gate 29, Bergen 5017, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Basic Hotel Victoria 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our three Basic Hotels are located in the city center of Bergen. We try to keep our solutions as simple as possible, in order to provide a good alternative when you are looking for smart, affordable accommodation. Basic Hotels are suitable for guests who want a comfortable stay in a casual setting, but have no need for extra hotel luxuries and services. Nevertheless, our hotels boast modern design and perfect functionality.All our rooms come with a private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, an electric kettle, TV, refrigerator, hairdryer, a convenient desk and a wardrobe. The rooms have oak parquet flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Basic Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basic Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.