We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for families or larger groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Apartments
Save
You added Harbour Apartments to your Saves list
Sandviksboder 9-10, Bergen 5035, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good choice for families or larger groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotels in Bergen are expenisve so we needed an apartment for part of our family holiday to Norway. We came across Harbour Apartments on Trip Advisor and overall it was a good choice.

This is more like an apartment hotel, they must have at least 20 apartments over three floors in this building. There is a reception office near the door which is staffed during office hours and the staff are friendly and helpful. There is a lift and free WiiFi is also provided, they give you the code on arrival. The apartments are a good 15 minutes walk from Bryggen, the harbour area and a taxi will cost you at least £15 GBP for a very short trip. Buy a Bergen Card on arrival as soon as you can as this will give you unlimited travel on public transport and also many discounts on attractions.

Our three bedroom apartment was modern, clean and very spacious and was split over two levels. The bathroom had a washing machine and a tumble dryer, all very handy for a family! The kitchen was also well equipped and had a dish washer machine. Please be aware that most apartments do not have a sea view and that the waterfront restaurant area they show on the website is actually an occasional function room and heavy transparent curtains block the view when not is use, this was disappointment to us.

The apartment owners also own some restaurants in town and offer a great 25% discount to residents which is great in expensive Norway. We ate a few times at Harbour Cafe in town which they own. The food was excellent and the 25% discount was much appreciated.

Overall this is a very good option for families or larger groups, the larger apartments could easily sleep 6 - 8 people. Staying here is not cheap but certainly cheaper than most hotel options. We would return if visiting Bergen again.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a harbour view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in a 4 BR apartment for 2 nights from the 26th of May...we had a Harbour facing apartment and the view was gorgeous. It had 2 bathrooms.

The apartment was very nice and comfortable. Decently equipped with pots pans, tv, washing machine and dryer...no plug points in the kitchen counter - so we had to constantly lug appliances to the other parts of the dining room floor for use...

Beds were ok but pillows were too soft...

A very large supermarket is very near so it was a breeze to do groceries... But we had a car - so it was easy...there also seems to be a bus stop right outside their door...

The owner was very very helpful...but the rest of the staff did not seem to have much clue about anything.

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour facing rooms away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed in the Penthouse of these apartments which is just down the road a little from the red building in the picture. The aparment was ENORMOUS. Plenty of room for 8 to 10 people. Huge fridge, kitchen (with lots of pots, pans, etc) great big stove, 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The lounge room was very very spacious and had gorgeous views over the harbour. It's right next to where the big cruise ships doc and we had a new one to view almost every day. The downside is that the bedrooms that face the street are way too noisy. The traffic noise really is a bugbear. I guess in winter it wouldn't matter as the windows would be shut. It's a longish but nice walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

These apartments are a real find in Bergen , on the water , in fact built over the water . There are also two more apartments that they have within walking distance of the old part of town . One of these is a 4 bedroom which in reality could easily sleep about 10 people . It has a huge open plan living room and kitchen , 3 full bathrooms and a washer and dryer .Everything you could need for a self contained stay and with prices in Bergen and Norway way through the roof you will really save money on home cooking . There is a supermarket within 5 minutes walk either way from the accomdation .The living areas have full floor to ceiling windows looking out on the water . Its like living on a boat . The only downside is the traffic noise from the two bedrooms that face the street , but in the colder months this would not be an issue as the windows are double glazed . So if you have a large family of group of friends this is the perfect place to call home while in Bergen.Remember to buy your alcohol duty free before you come as its about the same price as gold here . You can bring in 4 litres each .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pefrect place, rignt at water front. 15-20 min walking distance from city center. Small parking available right in front of the hotel. Good accomodation and modern scandinavian design inside (minimalistic :-)). Grocery store 200 meters away, across the street. Wifi available.
You can see sunsets from your windows or balcony. A bit expensive but it cost it.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony - choose first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Six weary and dishevelled travellers arrived at the apartments late one night after a three day canoeing and hiking holiday in Voss. We were greeted by one of the management team who couldn't have been more helpful, even offering to drive us in to town to pick up some food as it was late and there was nothing open locally.

We'd booked the apartments as if worked out far cheaper than any of the hotels we'd looked at and we couldn't have been happier. Spacious, modern, everything we could have wanted - wifi a bonus! Great views over the harbour and a steady 20 minute walk into town.

On leaving the manager arranged our cab and checked out our flight details for us as there was a strike at the airport so he wanted to make sure we arrived in plenty of time.

We had a very relaxing couple of days here and couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molins de Rei, Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed few days in this apartments. The rooms distribution was a bit strange and not comfortable. The location is at 15 minutes walking from the city center, but there is a bus stop in front of the house. The owner is friendly and nice and the views are amazing. The main problem we had is that there was a water leak in the shower and the bathroom got flooded. In general, worth the money but could be a bit better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Apartments

Address: Sandviksboder 9-10, Bergen 5035, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Bergen
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Apartments is the city's latest attraction for all who want holiday accommodation in the heart of Bergen. We offer 24 flats from 35 m2 to 100 m2 of a very high standard, all with fully equipped kitchens,TV, luxury steam bathrooms, broadband and lifts to all floors. Many of the flats enjoy panorama views of the Byfjord. We offer both short and long-term rentals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.