We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa del Toro

Casa del Toro
rosenkrantzgate 6, Bergen, Norway (Vågen)
55 55 03 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 242 Restaurants in Bergen
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Vågen
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is Bergen's only "Tex-Mex" restaurant so if you particularly want Tex-Mex food you have to go there (by default). The food is ok and only that. All of the options be it burrito, quesadilla, etc all seem to have the same filling and topping. Large portions so you want be hungry. The price is ok (for Bergen). There was too much cheese for my liking which made it all feel quite greasy but then again you don't generally go to Mexican restaurants if you are on a diet! The re-fried beans are not as expected, they are just kidney beans heated up in a nice sauce but they did taste ok.

The staff was very friendly and very good with our daughter (19 months). There are high chairs but note no baby change facilities so had to change her on the floor of the ladies toilet on her nappy change mat.

We were staying at the hotel that it is attached to so was very convenient for us but you can find better eating in Bergen at similar prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Average Mexican fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Casa del Toro was an average dinning experience. The restaurant had some Southwest decor, with a lot more odd combinations of decor from places unknown. The service was great. Like most restaurants in Norway, the meals carry a hefty price, but are portioned appropriately (no crazy US supersized platters).

I grew up in Southern California, and have worked across the Southwest for years... Casa del Toro isn't your average Mexican restaurant.

I had the burrito; it was about the size of my fist and had an odd combination of seasonings for Mexican food. The seasoning of the burrito seemed to be more Indian, rather than Mexican.

If you want some Mexican food, Casa del Toro is available. However, there are many great restaurants in Norway... next time I will look further than next to my hotel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Found by chance and what a find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found Casa del Toro by chance and after looking at the menu outside and noticing how busy it was we decided to enter but also thinking we probably won't get a seat without a booking. But not so, the wait staff had a quick conversation and we were shown to our table at the window. Comfortable chairs, lovely warm decor and atmosphere - I think the other room where we came in was where the action was but we were perfectly happy to be a bit secluded from that as the noise levels were louder and my hard of hearing partner would have struggled. Basically we had a lovely meal all things Spanish. The service was impeccable, friendly and helpful. No waiting for drinks at the beginning and once we made up our mind what to order this came along in a timely manner. Food was very good, thoroughly enjoyed by us all. Would definitely encourage you to give it a try.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a surprise :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in Bergen for a few months during a work assignment and found this restaurant by chance and was immediately impressed. 'Everything happens for a reason' I was told by one of the waitress there and indeed I am a firm believer that it is the case.
The food was brilliant and not too expensive, the restaurant was very clean and the staff very nice and corteus. Indeed a good experience which I would not mind repeating.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A positive surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hard to get a seat close to Bryggen so we went up on street and found this restaurant. We ate Fajitas Originale which was excellent. I recommend this restaurant if you want to eat mexican food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa del Toro also viewed

Bergen, Hordaland
 
 

Been to Casa del Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa del Toro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.