We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check out the Bishop's Palace museum as well.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nidarosdomen

Nidarosdomen
Bispegt. 3, Trondheim 7013, Norway
+47 73 89 08 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 things to do in Trondheim
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nidaros Cathedral is the national sanctuary of Norway. Work began in 1070, and the building was completed in about 1300. After being damaged by fire, it lay largely in ruins for several hundred years. In 1869 extensive restorations were begun, and a century later the cathedral was again restored to its original grandeur.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Check out the Bishop's Palace museum as well.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is a stunning cathedral. We were slightly disappointed when the current renovation works meant we could only access the cathedral from 7-9pm, but even that brief glimpse was worth it.

Also it's highly worth checking out the Bishop's Palace museum, part of the same complex, which is genuinely interesting with some great relics and stone work extremely well presented, with a good history of the local area. The Royal Regalia (crown jewels) next door almost felt like the weakest attraction of the bunch.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    165
    33
    13
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Building is stunning the stained glass windows are marvellous
the organ is being retuned and it will take another 6 months too complete
because of its size !!
The guide gave a very informative 20 min talk .
shop and toilets next door , not far from city centre

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon District, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Definitely its one of most gorgeous cathedral I saw it Im still in doubt if I preferer Nidaros or Notre Dame ( Paris), but one thing I know it is one of my favorite spot in trondheim!!! Loved it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It is a large Gothic structure which is redolent of dark Nordic atmosphere due to the very dark stone used for its construction. Sadly the West end is cordoned off for organ reconstruction at the moment and it also meant we could not see or hear what is supposedly a very fine instrument.
The opening hours are limited and I personally object to having to pay a fairly high entry price to go into a church or be turned back at the door.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A place to visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This building overlooks the city and presents an inviting feeling. I paid 70K which was a reasonable fee. On entering there are some members of staff but not enough. The splendour of the building was fantastic and presented a must enter feeling. On entering I was a bit disappointed with the lack of information re the building and its contents. The visit took 50 minutes and involved looking downstairs. At the time of my visit there was some work going on re the Organ. I would not go back. Whilst I appreciate it is a church. I am of the opinion that if you are taking money you should provide a service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nidarosdomen also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to Nidarosdomen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nidarosdomen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.