We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Gildevangen

Save Saved
You added Thon Hotel Gildevangen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thon Hotel Gildevangen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sondregate 22B, Trondheim 7010, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Trondheim
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was very convenient to the train station and is described adequately elsewhere. Quite an elegant old stone building. Initial problem with the room as there was scaffolding outside the window but we were immediately given 2 other options by reception without problem.
A major cleaning problem was that the previous guest had left a bag of soiled sanitary products in the bathroom and it took 2 calls and more than a day for them to be removed. Disgusting.
Fantastic breakfast included with very attentive wait staff and an adequate supper all included in the price.
We were on the corner of the building so it was a bit noisy at night but not too bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    47
    33
    15
    1
See reviews for
11
25
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is located in city centre close to the railway station. The airport bus stops at hotel. Our room was located in a building connected with a "bridge" to the old main building was bright and clean. The room had wooden floor and a very good bed. Both the room and bathroom were fairly small. The breakfast buffet had a good selection of meat cuts, fish, cheese and freshly baked bread. This is a good selection and value if you travel by train or air and don't plan to stay much in your room during the day. Parking is probably a problem as in most center hotels in Trondheim.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the summer and the prices were really good for Norwegian standards, NOK 750 a night. The rooms are small but very modern and clean. The breakfast is of good quality and they even serve fresh herb tea. When you come with children they have a lot of facilities; play room and a special corner in the breakfast area with pancakes and fresh fruit and room to play. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I returned to this hotel because I had such good memories of it from a previous trip five years before. It has an impressive old graystone facade, much like elegant old apartment buildings and hotels in the older parts of many cities. It had spacious rooms with bay windows and well worn but nicely appointed furniture. This time around it was like a space station. Tiny rooms, mine had a window so high up I had to stand on something to see out the window. It was the size of a monastic cell and similarly furnished. There were no drawers in the room and few coat hangers. The desk clerks were friendly and efficient but that is the best I can say for this hotel. The breakfast buffet was the least appetizing I encountered in a month in Norway.
I love Trondheim but would not bother with this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We agree with the reviewer who detailed the parking problems. Our room was spacious, bed comfortable,bathroom basic but acceptable. However, works on the scaffolding just outside our window commenced at 7:30 am! (Workman on 5th floor very nifty with screeching angle grinder tool...) to be fair once Alerted, the staff could not have been more helpful and brought the work to a standstill and the matter to a satisfactory conclusion.
Excellent breakfast; very relaxed atmosphere, lovely for children; the staff are very pleasant - even when you have a problem - and helpful. Good also to be able to store your luggage on departing day if necessary after checking out.

Room Tip: DO NOT TRUST GUIDES & SITES that tell you the hotel provides a light supper free. When I booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I am normally a low maintenance tourist causing hotels little in the way of grief but, before I had even arrived at the Thon Gildevangen, I had made two demands of the place.
1) I requested a quiet room as I had noticed feedback that it could be quite noisy out front
2) I indicted an early arrival well in advance of the traditional 3pm room access time and asked if I would be able to get into my room early after overnight travel.
On both counts the hotel delivered and even exceeded themselves as I turned up even earlier than I expected and my room was still ready!
Travelling alone I requested a solo room. It was certainly compact but I only use it to sleep so it wasn’t a problem.
Was it quiet? In the main, yes, but I did have a slight disturbance around midnight of first day when a nearby group of seagulls decided to play at karaoke! Wont blame the hotel for that one and if I had realised earlier that the window was open I may have muffled the effects.
The place is clearly aimed at families. A kid’s play area is adjacent to the reception. The restaurant even has a kid’s height food area for them to help themselves.
Breakfast selection was impressive with all tastes catered for and the quality of the orange juice more than acceptable. (I have a theory that you can gauge a good hotel from a bad one by the standard of the orange juice).
Location is as central as you could wish and within walking distance of most tourist sights. The bus from the airport even stops right outside the hotel.
While the room maybe lacks some of the finishing touches of some of its more up market rivals there is a mini bar with snacks and a free tea/coffee machine is in the lobby at reception.
On the whole the place is mostly clean and appears well run. I say mostly, as at 6’3” I tend to see dust at levels most staff can’t reach. I will make particular mention of the hair drier in my room. I would not think it possible for an electric cable to be so festooned in dust! Room 354 if management wish to address the issue.
And that was my only real gripe.
I strongly recommend the Gildevangen for anyone finding themselves in Trondheim.
As to whether I will ever find myself in Trondheim again, I suspect not, as I was underwhelmed with the place!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Thon is a large hotel chain in Norway and surrounding countries .This property is located in the old part of Trondheim. The airport bus stops right across the street .It's about 1/2 mile to the main train station.The cruise port and ferry terminals are less than a mile away .Several
city buses stop within a block of the hotel.
The hotel staff were excellent and never minded answering our questions.They had a good map of the city to give the tourists.There was also a free computer in the lobby.During the summer the hotels puts special emphasis on children.The staff dress in costumes and there are many events for the children.
The breakfast buffet was excellent. Eggs,cold cuts and cheeses and lots of bread.Had an extensive selection of fish dishes .After all this is Norway .Except during the summer they offer a free light dinner .A real plus in a city where a moderate meal for two can cost $80.
Some of the not so good.The room was small,the bathroom tiny,and the shower minute .Any one larger than average would have a hard time fitting. The hotel has no pool,sauna, or outside seating.Smokers hover around the front door since there is no smoking inside. In the summer there are 20 hours of daylight and there are no black out drapes.The room was light at 3:30AM
The hotel is noisy. There are two bars on the street and locals like to party.Can also hear street sounds
We paid $125 a night with tax..Booked through Orbitz.This is cheap for Trondheim. Hotel website was more.They have a calendar of rates. Seem to change almost daily.

Room Tip: Main building is 100+ years old. Just completed renovations .Rooms in this part may be bigger.I read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thon Hotel Gildevangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Gildevangen

Address: Sondregate 22B, Trondheim 7010, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Gildevangen 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thon Hotel Gildevangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Thon Gildevangen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Gildevangen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.