We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Prinsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Prinsen to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Prinsen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongensgaten 30, Trondheim 7417, Norway (Formerly Prinsen Hotell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Exellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Exellent location in the Heart of Trondheim . Nice rooms with comfortable beds. Clean. The breakfast is good, with much to cloose among. Friendly staff, helpull and polite. I like this hotel Very much.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
14
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel, relatively new ad updated standard. My room was small but functional, and with the great centra location it was perfect for this business trip to Trondheim. Nice breakfast in the egon restaurant downstairs was also a plus.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

After me and my SO had a quite unpleasant stay at another hotel for one night in Trondheim, we were really pleased when arriving to the Thon Hotel Prinsen.
As nice and friendly the staff was, as clean, neat and cosy was the room we stayed in. One could feel that somebody has put effort in arranging everything and I felt welcome and appreciated as a customer.
The breakfast was really worth it and you definetely should try the omelette ;) and so was the food at the restaurant.
Only point of criticism: Our bathtub neither wasn't completey clean nor fully functional when we arrived, unfortunately this was not fixed during our stay, even after we mentioned it several times to the staff.

Room Tip: If your sensitive to noise you might ask for a room in the back of the hotel or bring earplugs. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We got a nice room on top with view over the fjord. The room was very comfortable and large with armchairs and sofa. The boiler and small bags with tea and coffe was appreciated. The bathroom was large,clean and of very good standard. No luxury,but very good value for money. IRight in the centre of the city was perfect. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: On the top with view of the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night only on a driving tour up the coast. We found the hotel surrounded by roadworks which made parking an issue, but this was no fault of the hotel, however this took the edge off our stay.
The Egon restaurant was good for meals and breakfast and we found it a convenient stroll to go sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronnoysund, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A lot of construction work and one way streets made finding the hotel a slight problem but thats not the Hotels' fault. Its situated very central and is close to many points of interest so you would not often be in need of any transportation if you choose to stay here.

We stayed in room 624 (on the 6th floor) and we were 2 adults along with our 4 children. This room is large and for a family. We were delighted with the size and comfort of the bathroom and the bathtub was very confortable to lie in. There were two almost queen sized beds and also a fold-down couch more than adequate for our two youngest chidren and about 140cm wide.

The staff were cheerful, polite and helpful all the way and assisted with parking to the rear of the hotel. A very pleasant experience indeed.

I was very impressed with the breakfast buffet that was served in the neighbouring restaurant "Egon". The times you can eat breakfast are also generous on weekends and open until 10.30 am on a Saturday and 11 am on Sundays. There were smoothies and pastries and all sorts of eggs, bacon, smoked salmon and much much much more. The bread freshly baked and many kind to choose from.

We will definately be back and we will want the same room ! Thank you Prinsen Hotel !

Room Tip: I would guess that there is more ambient noise toward the ground level since you are in downtown Tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on business trip. Arrived at midnight on first night, but hotel staff still on hand to offer help. Really pleased with location. Has all the facilities you'd need. Stayed on 5th floor room. Good sized room with large en-suite bathroom, desk and sofa. Restaurant is a Egon, a national chain of pub-style restaurants that offer a good range of meals. Menus available in the widest variety of languages I have ever seen. (7 I believe)

Location is fantastic. Right in the central city district, near to the big Trog shopping mall. Easy walking distance to most sights around the city and in a very convenient location to where the Flybussen coach from the airport stops. The Flybussen service is really very good. Wi-Fi on board 225 NOK return per person. Takes approx 35/40 mins.

I'll certainly stay here again when I return to Trondheim.

BTW - There are at least three Thon hotels in the central area. Be sure that you get the right one. There is one directly across the road from the Flybussen coach stop but it is not the Prinsen. The Prinsen is about 1 min across the road to your right when you get off the Flybussen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Prinsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Prinsen

Address: Kongensgaten 30, Trondheim 7417, Norway (Formerly Prinsen Hotell)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Prinsen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Prinsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsen Hotell Trondheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Prinsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.