We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Prinsen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Prinsen to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Prinsen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongensgaten 30, Trondheim 7417, Norway (Formerly Prinsen Hotell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Arizona, USA
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were sent to this hotel by another one that was overbooked and had given away our reservation, so I can’t comment on price/value as the other hotel paid for the room. A pleasant and helpful clerk checked us in. The room (408) was modern and of reasonable size with a desk and chair in addition to the beds. Very little storage space, though. The drain for the shower was sluggish, so the time you had to take a shower was limited before it overflowed. A couple of nice points: large, fluffy towels and extra pillows on the bed. Good wifi in the room. The breakfast was excellent, with everything including do-it-yourself waffles. The second morning we had to leave early to catch a train so the hotel had an early breakfast prepared for us and available at the front desk. Obviously, nothing hot but a pretty substantial breakfast that was all we needed. The hotel is nothing special, but a very decent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
13
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Drammen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The hotel is in the central part of Trondheim, a few blocks from everything, including Nidarosdomen and a shopping mall.

My room was spacious and the bed was perfect, firm, but with a soft top mattress. Large and nicely decorated bathroom (only shower). I was not disturbed by any noise.

The breakfast buffet was good, it included both warm and cold food, sweets, juice, milk and coffee. The breakfast is served in the Egon restaurant which has lot of room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Søgne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed there during a conferance, nice rooms, quiet, good conferance and party options at the hotel.
Terrible drinks!!!
A little out of city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We enjoyed our stayed in the family room. Location is very central and a big plus.
The rooms are clean, adequate and hotel staff is quite accomodating.
Hotel has attached parking facilities which is helpful (though the cost is bit on higher side)
Very close to the tram start point, so travelling within city is very comfortable
Good breakfast in a nice restaurant.
Would recommend the place for a comfortable and central stay in Trondheim

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and had no complaints with this place. The location is good, being right in the centre of town. Reception were always helpful, both when checking in/out etc and when asking for info on the area and help in catching the right local bus one day. The room was pretty clean offering all the basic things you would expect of a hotel of this grade and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean. Finally, the breakfast in the restaurant downstairs was also pretty good with the buffet offering a good choice which should satisfy most palates. Overall, we'd say this place was clean, functional and if you're looking for a simple place to stay with no frills then it does the job perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
513 helpful votes 513 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

There's not many hotels on Tripadvisor for Trondheim to be honest. We picked this one just because it had a review!! So hopefully we will now double the number of reviews at a stroke...

We arrived by Hurtigruten boat. You can take a bus from the dock to the centre, but we found it quicker to walk. There was also a bit of a queue for taxis when we got off the boat, so be a bit patient. The walk into town is well signed, but it's about 20 minutes, which isn't great if you are lugging bags and suitcases.

The location of the hotel is great. Thankfully, most places in Trondheim can be easily walked from the hotel within minutes. The room size was fine with a surprisingly good view of the harbour and across to Monk's Island.

Complimentary Wifi access was probably the best of our stay in Norway. This hotel had access points on every floor and you didn't even need a login. Apparently, Trondheim has city-wide free Wifi access, but to be honest I could never get it to work on my PDA once we were outside.

The staff at the Tourist Information office in the town square were excellent. We went on a good 2-hour tour of the area, which had a lovely stop at a very ancient church where the lady showing us around the church suddenly started to sing in a beautiful voice. Very moving. (I was almost tempted to say an X-Factor type "You're Going To London!" remark at the end, but thankfully didn't)

The tour of Trondheim Cathedral and the Archbishop's Palace are fantastic. You can see the Norwegian Royal Family Crown Jewels here. If you are fascinated by royalty, I can't think of a better place to visit in Norway. You could pretty much have the whole place to yourself too, as not many people seemed to be there when we visited.

I would recommend buying an "all-in-one" ticket which gives you pretty much unlimited access to the Cathedral grounds for one day. The archaeological finds of the Royal Mint next to the Cathedral were fascinating. The only disappointment was that the crypt was closed, but the graveyard was certainly eerie.

For dining out, it's a pretty typical very expensive affair, but we found refuge near the hotel at the Microbrewery. Here we enjoyed some fantastic traditional Norwegian fish dishes and excellent beer (brewed literally right next to your table!) for under £40 for two.

Another great place to go is "The Good Neighbour" pub, which is just across the "Bridge Of Happiness". Yes you guessed it, there were more beers to sample ;-)

We never got to try the breakfast as we had to leave early for a flight. The excellent "Flybus" service leaves from across the street and is very frequent and about £4. The airport is very close to the city, you can get there by bus in well under 30 minutes.

Overall this is a good value for money hotel for Norway.

  • Liked — Location, Free Wifi Access
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2004

We were happy to find that the fire alarm system was so effective, & luckily it was a false alarm.
Everything was spotless, helpful staff & a great variety of dishes for breakfast. Who could ask for more.
Gillian, Canada.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Prinsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Prinsen

Address: Kongensgaten 30, Trondheim 7417, Norway (Formerly Prinsen Hotell)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Prinsen 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Prinsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsen Hotell Trondheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Prinsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.