We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eld Restaurant & Bar

Eld Restaurant & Bar
Kongens gate 30, Trondheim, Norway
+4747931000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 194 Restaurants in Trondheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $85
Cuisines: French, American, Grill, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Eld Restaurant & Bar gives you a taste of the world in Trondheim.Our Chicago-style grill gives the food a characteristic flavour.You can come fore a whole evening, and enjoy our 5-course menu, or you can stop by the bar for a great drink and a burger.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We composed a 3 course menu à la carte, and enjoyed every second. Especially the reindeer filet!
Great service and cozy, toned down surroundings.
The prices are a bit stiff (main course: 350NOK), but does definitively reflect the quality of the experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    10
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Fine dining in the most stylish restaurant in Trondheim. Excellent food, waiters show high level of knowledge, nice wine and quality drinks. Recommended:)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I eat here each time I come to Trondheim, and typically have the same meal. The Rum's in the bar are 1st rate and I like the Spanish red wines. Shame more of the excellent wine list is not available by the glass. I love their rib-eye steak. Done just about as perfectly as a steak could be! And with a nice glass of Rioja, it was a wonderful meal. Turned out the night I was last there was the head chef's birthday - buying him a drink was a pleasure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“So so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Dark and modern (by Trondheim standards at least) - high ceilings, ample seating and a decent menu - cocktails were horrible and extremely sweet - skip the martinis and mixed drinks and stick to beer, wine or hard liquor here. Service was okay. Decent place but seriously awful, awful, awful drinks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“too expencive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I got nice food but really small portions. My friend order medium steak, and she got row instead. The waiter argued with us about it.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eld Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to Eld Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eld Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.