We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Britannia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dronningensgate 5, Trondheim 7401, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Trondheim
Mo i Rana, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days while attending some meetings and a conference at the hotel,
The conference facilities are great and spacious with a touch of class. They serve the best coffee I have tasted at any conference facility I have attended. The breakfast and lunch buffet is exquisite. You cannot ask for more. There is even a sushi stand where the food is made by a chef while you are waiting. The room I got was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBritannia, Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Traveling T63,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice feedback.
It is very pleasant for us to hear that you really enjoyed your stay.

Welcome back to the Britannia Hotel.

Best Regards
Svein Martin Berg Krogstad
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    94
    57
    26
    11
See reviews for
44
85
26
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

On a business trip attending the SMSC centre in Trondheim. The hotel was ideally located for downtown Trondheim and about a 25 minute taxi ride from the airport.
The food options were good with Jonathan's restaurant a pleasure to dinei in.
Breakfast was great with so much choice.
The room I had was a twin with two single beds.
The spa was the best I have come across on my travels so far.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Mike E,

Thank you so much for your feedback about your stay at our hotel.
We are so pleasant to see that you had a nice stay.

Welcome back to Britannia Hotel.

Sincerely
Svein Martin Berg Krogstad
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel used to be a place for the Royals but is somewhat run down now. You can tell when you walk to your room that they should have invested in some paint and proper carpenters. But I'll give this one a good review on the basis of their breakfast and lunch alone. Best I've experienced in the world I believe. They will pretty much offer anything during breakfast hours (I could spend hours there with something to read), and their lunch isn't far away either.

The hotel is pretty much in the heart of the city, walking distance away from the beautiful "Nidarosdomen" church.

Impeccable service all throughout the stay, except we I checked out, the managed to over charge me. They quickly gave me a refund we they noticed their mistake though.

The Spa department was fairly nice, it is quite new so not run down as the rest of the hotel.

I wish they could use some money and restore it to its former glory, then it would be one of Scandinavia's finest hotels.

Dinner was very disappointing though, seemed like left overs from the lunch and that isn't good enough for a hotel in this price range. They also served no local beer which is
amazing considering that the mid-Norway ("Trøndelag" area) has a lot of local micro-brewery's with special beer that are way superior to the ultra boring Carlsberg pint they served us.

Beware that if you travel alone, you will get a very small room like I did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Chingar_13,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some very important feedback.
We have been working a lot with our breakfast- and lunch concept, so it`s really pleasant for us to see that our guests appreciate this like you do.
I am so sad to hear that the dinner did not get up to the same standard as the earlier meals. This is not representative for our restaurants. I will bring this review together with the tip about local beer back to the restaurant department.
With such an old building - built in 1897 - with many different room types that have been added on throughout the years, some rooms are quiet small. Due to this we have price policy in place that reduces the price for the smallest rooms.
Refurbishment of different areas has already started and we are really looking forward to see the results.
Thank you so much again for your feedback and welcome back to Britannia Hotel


Sincerely
Svein Martin Berg Krogstad
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent two nights here for a class reunion. The location is unbeatable, right next to the main shopping street and close to the cathedral. The hotel facade is grand as is the Palmehaven room where they serve breakfast. The breakfast was quite good even though the hotel was packed full for this particular weekend. The lobby area, elevators, hallways and rooms seem to be in need of refurbishment, i.e., while generally clean, every surface is showing its age. The bed consisted of two mattresses pushed together, but it was still comfortable to sleep in. The rest of the room (728) was clean and functional, but dated.
Apparently there is a new spa area which some fellow guests described as being very nice, but which I unfortunately did not get a chance to try out.
This hotel used to be the pride of the town. Hopefully, the new managers (Thon group) will invest to bring the hotel back up to the luxurious standards one would expect.

Room Tip: Ask if they have rooms that have already been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThonBritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Cicignon,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to see that you appreciated different elements about our hotel, elements that we think it`s important for many guests.
Refurbishment of different areas has already started and we are really looking forward to see the results.
We would like to welcome you back and hope you get the time to enjoy our spa next time you are in town.

Sincerely
Svein Martin Berg Krogstad
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

it might be simply the single rooms that are not on a level one might expect from a hotel like the britannia. the double rooms might be better and live up to the (former) reputation, i only saw single rooms.

if a hotel is not fully booked to assign the guest a room, where the bed shares the wall with the elevator, that is a not a treat. when asked for a room change, the alternative was a room where the window could not be opened as it was located above an indoor walkway, and the 90 cm wide bed reminded me on times when I staid in youth hostels when a student and traveling on a budget. the room was simply depressing.

finally i got offered a room on the eigth floor, (the elevator ends on the 7th, but i was kindly warned). that room looked nice, bed was wider and window would open, but the curtain was hanging half down ....this hotel for sure has seen better days.

if i would not have stayed in trondheim before in a very nice hotel, with experienced and friendly staff (at a similar rate), i would have simply thought that is the standard of a smaller city.

it is for sure not, there are plenty of new hotels.
check the alternatives until this hotel lives again up to what its facade promises.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanna U, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Ute B,. Thank you for taking the time to give us some very important feedback. Needless to say I am sorry to hear that your experience was not up to par at first. With such an old building - built in 1897 - with many different room types that have been added on throughout the years, some rooms are quiet small. Due to this we have price policy in place that reduces the price for the smallest rooms. I am glad to hear that the staff did their utmost to find the best room for you although some attention to detail was lacking. I would appreciate if you would give us another chance, as this was not representative of our standards. Do not hesitate to let me know next time you are in town.

Sincerely,
Svein Martin Berg Krogstad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel is a vast an imposing pile. The public areas are good. Our first impression of the room was "wow" but then we looked closer...no loo paper in the loo. No tea or coffee to go with the kettle and mugs...very tired paintwork....we discovered a half eaten bar of chocolate in the wardrobe....the rattan headboard had a hole in it. All basic housekeeping things which should be seen to however tired the hotel is. We went to the fitness centre only to find that we should have changed into our costume and gone in a hotel gown...so we went back to our room only to find that not all the rooms had gowns and we had to get ours from reception. When we finally got to the fitness centre it was wonderful, but what a palaver. On the plus side the staff were pleasant enough and the room in which breakfast took place was truly awesome and the breakfast was fantastic

Room Tip: Take Domestos
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanna U, General Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Charlesnfergus from ely.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience was tainted by our lack of attention to detail in this room. It seems your room was not ready to be checked into and the room attendant had cleared the room for check-in by mistake. My sincere apologies also for the headboard. We are looking at replacing a number of these as we speak. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful Spa and we are looking into a better routine regarding the robes. I would appreciate if you would give us another chance, as this was not up to our usual standards of operation. Do not hesitate to let me know next time you are staying with us.

Sincerely,
Svein Martin Berg Krogstad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The room 41x was very worn and in dire need of a full makeover.
Really disappointing for a hotel with an historic reputation for being top notch.
The window drapes also much too sheer to keep the light out.

Would have rated it 3, but the great breakfast served in the morning lifted my mood somewhat. So I'm giving it a 4. But if you don't have the time for a slow breakfast consider this a 3 rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear PogoMan,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We have a renovating process underway and are refurbishing many of our rooms, as well as the hotel areal.

We are pleased, however, that you enjoyed the breakfast, and welcome you back during your next visit to Trondheim. If you contact me directly I can insure a top notch experience for you.
My e-mail address is on our website.

Sincerely,
Katherine B. Service Manager, Britannia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Address: Dronningensgate 5, Trondheim 7401, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Trondheim the Britannia Hotel is part of the Historic Hotels of the world and offers the best accommodation when in Trondheim. It offers a variety of rooms from standard single rooms to Deluxe rooms and Special Suites designed and decorated by famous Artists of Norway. The Britannia Hotel Trondheim has several Restaurants and Bars. The well know Britannia Spa & wellness center with its trim room is available to all guests free of charge as well as free Wi Fi. During the summer months enjoy lunch on the Hjörnet Brasserie outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;