We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK rooms, magnificent SPA!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Britannia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Britannia Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dronningensgate 5, Trondheim 7401, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 28 hotels in Trondheim
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK rooms, magnificent SPA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed two nights here in june 2012, and was very satisfied.
The hotel in itself is good (rooms are tidy, breakfast plentyful), but the SPA is what makes this hotel really worth a visit. You just ask for some bathrobes and slippers at the front desk, and take the elevator down. Here you can choose between a pool, salt-water-pool, saunas and a cold pond. It's really relaxing.
The staff are friendly, and even let us check in at 10 in the morning!
Location is great, in the middle of Trondheim city centre, and in a quiet area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your compliments on our spa. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    100
    63
    30
    13
See reviews for
35
72
22
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was our last stop in our trip in Norway and we had decided to splash out on staying at Britannia. First signs were good: the location, the front of the building, the public areas were all very smart. Our room looked inside as good as in the brochure: large, with a comfortable sofa and armchair, nice soft furnishings, large flat screen TV. The bed was comfortable. We had bathroom robe and slippers. The bathroom was large, well-appointed and had its floor heated(!).
Alas, our window faced an internal courtyard with a tall wall only 5 metres in front, which put a big dent in our ability to enjoy our stay (see the attached pictures). There was a low frequency hum in the room that went on during the day, but it thankfully stopped at 10pm or so. Sound proofing from the hallway and adjacent rooms were excellent though.
Breakfast was a mixed experience: beautiful setting, excellent choice of food, but let down by poor service. Some food choices ran out 1h30 before closing time, taking 20 minutes to refill, long delays for clearing tables after people had finished eating, thus making it hard to find a clean table for people who came in later. The staff seemed overwhelmed and I could only find the excuse that the balmy weather outside (sunny 16C in early June!) had prompted some of them to take the day off.
Overall an OK experience, but not up to the expected standard or price.

Room Tip: If the hotel is not full ask for a room with a view towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest
We appreciate your feedback after your stay at Britannia. We are disappointed that we did not meet with you expectations regarding standard and price. Your honest comments are very helpful in our continuous work to improve our product and the personal service. Thank you and welcome back to us at Britannia Hotel. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I would go there for the spa! As for just a hotel stay I would not get to excited. Their service is great, however a bit snobby of a place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for recommending our spa. Our goal is to make everybody feel comfortable at Britannia , and we look forward to welcoming you again at the spa and as a hotel guest.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spent a weekend at Britannia hotel in Trondheim with my girlfriend, and will definitely choose this hotel again for another occasion. Highly recommended! The breakfast was presented with a rich assortment of food, great service - we did not ever wait for more coffee to be served! The room was honorable, clean and with every facility needed, and the SPA made it all complete. The location was great, in the absolute middle of Trondheim, just a short stroll from everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Trondheim!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namsos, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Excellent food, outstanding service and lovely atmosphere in the middle of Trondheim!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinkjer, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had an excellent weekend at Britannia hotel. Spacious familyrooms, a fantastic SPA and very nice breakfastbuffet. Great localisation in the middle of Trondheim.

Room Tip: Artist rooms are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britannia Hotel M, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your compliments on our family rooms, the breakfast buffet and the spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable weekend at Britannia. Welcome back to Trondheim and the Britannia Hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Good service, excellent food, wery central location, beautiful room. We loved everything, except for the extra bed, it was wery hard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel

Address: Dronningensgate 5, Trondheim 7401, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Britannia Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Trondheim the Britannia Hotel is part of the Historic Hotels of the world and offers the best accommodation when in Trondheim. It offers a variety of rooms from standard single rooms to Deluxe rooms and Special Suites designed and decorated by famous Artists of Norway. The Britannia Hotel Trondheim has several Restaurants and Bars. The well know Britannia Spa & wellness center with its trim room is available to all guests free of charge as well as free Wi Fi. During the summer months enjoy lunch on the Hjörnet Brasserie outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel Trondheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.