We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very interesting, but somewhat dated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kjopmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location and very interesting, but somewhat dated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I did a 5 day business stay at Royal Garden. Overall I liked it very much, but there were few things that catches my eye.
The room was very well set up and very, very clean. The bathroom was usable, although the shower handles were somewhat stuck and needed some brute force applied initially to get the water running. There were not a lot of pillows and the ones present were not very high, so I had somewhat hard time taking a good night sleep.
there was a heater below the window, but it was turned off and it took some brain power to set it up.
The breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of items and fresh fruit juices.
I've also tried the fitness area, but got disappointed and never repeated. The reason for this being that the fitness room was very small with only few very basic appliances. I've tried the treadmill, but it didn't worked at all, so I had to use the bikes as a poor substitute. No free weights either, just 1 and 2 kg.
The pool looked very well setup, but I didn't tried it.
The hotel is excellently located in the center of the city right next to a stop of the airport shuttle service.
As everything else in Norway it was on the expensive side.

Room Tip: take a room with a view to the river. Should be on the high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    121
    93
    34
    16
See reviews for
45
101
21
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

When this hotel was new, it was a 4 star by all means. They have lived on (and off!) that for quite some time now and need to do a few things here and there to get this joint up-to-date.

The rooms, once so nice and shiny, now in need of make-over. "Keep bathroom door closed under and after showering or fire alarm will go off!" - What's this - Russia anno 1970?

The location is great, the bus from the airport stops just outside (great!), the breakfast was nice, it was clean and the service ok. But I expect more from a Norwegian 4 star hotel than an average experience (being a Norwegian myself). And it is not cheap.

Renovate the rooms, get rid of some old carpets, shine it up, and I'll come back with a smile, not just with a "fair enough".

But to my foreign readers - it's a fair, good and safe choice and I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Ask for riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Check-in was trouble free. Reception area and room was clean and well cared for. Even though I had a first floor room (123), the room was very quiet.Water pressure in shower was good. No flat screen tv. Breakfast was plentiful and of excellent quality. Airport bus passes outside of front door. Train station is within short walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This hotel is fabulous, right on the water's edge and ideal base for exploring Trondheim.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marthe H, Sales manager at Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear RandB264,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments.

Please feel free to come back whenever in the future. We will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsteinvik, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have stayed at many Radisson Hotels over the years and have enjoyed a friendly reception and excellent service. This is the first time in Trondheim. The hotel is clean and spacious but very impersonal, cold and sterile. On arrival the lack of parking near the hotel was a problem and also expensive. I parked a short walk from the hotel and paid half the price of the hotel garage and less than the parking outside the hotel. WHY the difference? The allocated room 213 was very small and the lack of an outside window meant the air conditioning was on all the time. This led to a dry atmosphere, dry skin and thirst in the night. As the majority of the rooms have the same layout with all rooms facing into a central atrium this is a major problem. The bathroom needs to be modernised. Some work has been done but it could be better. The breakfast room is too small for the number of guests and had queues. The galleriet bar was empty and the food on offer was unappealing so we ate out. The lack of free tea and coffee facilities in the room or public areas was also an obvious omission. I complained on check out but the receptionist was not interested and suggested I contact the management. In contrast my family arrived late at night in winter at Alesund and waited in the Radisson Hotel there and were offered free coffee and help even though they were not guests! In general I have enjoyed the service I have had at the many Radisson Hotels I have used in Scandinavia and the rest of the world. I will continue to use them but never in Trondheim. It is too big and impersonal. I had a colleague ask me today where he should stay and of course my reply was anywhere else but.....

Room Tip: Due to the galleried layout with three main buildings linked by glass roofed galleries most rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

One of those hotels that used to really trendy and nice, and was very popular. Now it's starting to show, and it looks a little tired both in and out, though it is still well maintained. Great restaurants, but tired conference facilities. They appear to be rotating their furniture as some chairs are threadbare and worn, while other conference rooms and lobbies have new and comfortable chairs.
Best location in the city hands down.
Most visitors from other countries experience Norwegian service sector employees as polite, but not exactly helpful. Reception in this hotel is no exception, I found it standard or better than average for this country, though an outsider might think it rather rude if they are unfamiliar with the Norwegian service culture.

Room Tip: The whole building is encased in a glass shell so there really isn't an issue with traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very nicely and centraly situated in Trondheim, close to the cathedral and old city. The Airport coaches stops outside main entrance. Good swimming pool and business facilities. The hotel works well for holiday and business!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim

Address: Kjopmannsgata 73 | P.O Box 956, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trondheim
#10 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Trondheim
Trondheim Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel Trondheim Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.