We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Brattorgata 2, Trondheim 7010, Norway   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% OFF Room rate
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Good atmosphere, good location in central Trondheim. Good breakfast and evening food. Nice and smiling staff. And of cause, many of them are swedes, allways smiling. I like this hotel even if the rooms are small. Trondheim is a nice city



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello Haugerto,

This was exellent reading this weekend - I am so glad to hear that our centrally located hotel in the middle of Historic Trondheim was pleasing, both in regards to location, food, staff and atmosphere. We are so pleased that you took the time to write a review of our hotel, and it is of course very good to see that we delivered as we were supposed to.

We actually have only a few Swedes at the hotel now, but it is nonetheless great too see that we deliver great service either way :-).

We do hope to see you again here at Bakeriet, and in beautiful Trondheim in the near furture.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    81
    34
    19
    9
See reviews for
35
69
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I hadn't stayed at a Clarion hotel before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel foyer had a welcoming feel and was very clean. For the most part, the rest of the hotel matched.

Finding the carpark was a little tricky, even with a map and instructions... one way streets were the challenge. Anyway, after a long day of driving, I found the carpark. The section set aside for hotel guests is not well lit and the parking spots themselves seem to be designed for smaller cars (to fit more in I suspect), which makes it hard to get in an our of your car.

We had booked two 2 single bed rooms and, for some reason, they were put on different floors. One (502) was on level 5 (near the gym and free guest laundry) and the other (323) was on level 3. It wasn't until we arrived at our rooms that we realised that our online booking of rooms with 2 single beds wasn't accurate. The two beds were joined together with a single mattress. Our phone call to reception went unanswered and a visit to the concierge desk resulted in us being told that it would have to wait until the next morning for housekeeping to break the beds apart - this was not great.

That being said, each room has an iron/ironing board, TV/DVD player, desk, couch and armchair, coffee table, coffee maker and free WiFi. The bathroom was nice, although the shower/bath was a bit high to climb in/out of.

They offer a complimentary light evening meal, but we were hungrier that what was available.

The complimentary brekfast is OK, but basic. There was a choice of two fruit juices (apple or orange), coffee, bread (but no toaster), hard boiled/soft boiled/scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, three types of cereals and eggs that you can fry yourself (which you can also use to warm your bread if you have the patience).

The guest laundry wasn't too difficult to use, although one of our fellow guests decided to leave his laundry all over the small room - llike it was his personal laundry room. The challenge occurred when someone closed the door behind them - you need to ask the reception staff to unlock it for you, but ther were happy to help.

While we were there, the hotel had issues with the elevators on a number of occasions. In fact, the day we were due to leave (very early in the morning), one of the two elevators was stuck on the third floor, meaning that it was not possible to call the working elevator to that floor. To get around it, I had to take the stairs to the second floor, call the elevator and take it to the third floor in order to take our suitcases down to the carpark.

So I would sum up our stay as OK, but I would recommend investigating other options before chosing this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Infrequentflyer 22,

First I would like to say thank you for your feedback, it is important for us to receive feedback in order to improve, and also so we can see in what areas we provide the service we are suppose to.

I am sorry that the bed-situation wasnt handled as efficiently as we usually do - I see you had the upgraded rooms, and in some of these the beds are joined together with a combined top-mattress. I am sorry we were not able to handle this the same day, and we have gone over our routines on check-in - we are supposed to ask if this bedding-arrangement is ok.

We have a toaster, but it is usually put out during the evening, as the bread is fresh in the mornings, but I know several people like their toast, so I have had a talk with the kitchen chef about this. Seeing as we have the toaster inhouse already, it poses no problem to put it out during breakfast as well.

The last month we had some issues with our elevators, and I apologize for this - I have had the lift-company adjust and fix the lifts so hopefully this will not be a problem in the near future.

I am glad to hear that you stay was OK, but I would have liked it to be more than ok, and I am thankful as your feedback to us makes it possible for us to provide even better service in the future.

So we hope to see you again in the future here at Bakeriet, and in fantastic Trondheim.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here on our way North (by train). Arriving early at about 8.30am we expected to drop our bags and head off into town but instead we were invited to have coffee and wait for 20minutes for our room to be made ready. Great location, literally 10 minutes from the station and the centre of town. The room was spacious is a bit basic but comfortable. We like the Clarion ethos which is for the hotel to be like your own home and it is certainly relaxed and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello Camay,

We are delighted to see that your stay here with us was a great stay. We take pride in our relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. And it is always good to hear when we deliver our promises.

We hope you enjoyed Trondheim as well, and look forward to seeing you here at our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice, cosy hotell in Trondheim suitable for both families, couples and friends on travel. The hotel ranks high on hospitality both because of friendly service, but also because of generousity (many meals included in the price).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Google Translation
Hei Bjorgro,

Veldig hyggelig å lese at dere har hatt et godt opphold her sammen med oss på Clarion Collection Bakeriet Hotel, Vi jobber mye med service og personlig atmosfære for å hele tiden bli bedre, og vi i vårt team blir så glade for slike tilbakemeldinger.

At vi byr på vafler og kveldsmat er hyggelig å se at faller i pris - det er jo noe av det som gjør oss litt "annerledes" enn mange andre.

Vi ser frem til å ønske deg velkommen tilbake til oss og fantastiske Trondheim senere,

mvh,
Ronny R. Reithe
Hotelldirektør
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinkjer, Nord-Trondelag, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Cosy hotell located in the center of the city. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, pictures and items conserved from when it was a Bakery. Well away from the busy streets. Inside Gym and outside area with city wiew on the top floor. No restaurant, but only a few minutes walk to Jonathan and others. Waterhole across the street. Gry and Per Terje

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Per_Terje,

This was a great review for us - and I am so happy to be able to share your feedback with our employees. You focus on some of the very things we are proud of and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Trondheim.

We look forward to seeing you again here at Bakeriet and wish you a great November,

best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korsoer, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The first thing I saw was a beautiful and well-maintained building. When I got inside there was a pleasant mix of old and new but combined with respect for the hotel origin.

A very friendly receptionist made ​​me quickly detected and I got a cozy room away from the street so there was complete peace - On the other hand, the prospect of the roof facing the not the best, but something for something when you want to stay central.
At the top is a nice gym and a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the town center and harbour

Included in the very reasonable price was breakfast and dinner, free coffee in the restaurant all day and waffles every afternoon. Dinner is not flashy, but good taste and fine salad bar.

After I checked out, I had some waiting time in the city, and the nice receptionist offered both free coffee and chocolates while I waited.

Definitely a place I live again next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Willy_KMCK,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us valuable feedback after your stay!

The fact that we are a historical building is something we are very proud of, and the 150 years of bakery-history here is something we try to infuse into our daily workings, if it is show and tell to interested guests, or providing guests with homebaked bread, or even our small monthly beer-club - it all traces back to our history.

The training facilities is something several of our guests enjoy, as well as the complimentary waffles/evening meal after a day at work or after training. I am so glad to hear that my colleagues made sure you had a great stay, and will make sure that everyone here reads you review.

We try our best, and it is so nice when we do our best, and it is appreciated by you - our valuable and friendly guests.

We look forward to seeing you back here in Trondheim in the future,

best regards,
Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The room was tiny, and only had one window in the ceiling. My wife would've hated the bathroom light as being being insufficient for putting on make-up. Bed was OK. No mini-bar, and the TV was tiny. The lobby bar wasn't very inviting. Staff was as pleasant and service-minded as one should expect. An average experience, and I think next time in Trondheim I'll contemplate spending the necessary extra bit to get a better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronny R, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hello Arild S.

I am very greatful that you took the time to write us a review of our hotel after your stay. I must apologixe for taking so long to reply, but I have been out of the office for some time.

When it comes to the size of the rooms, I am sorry you got one of our smaller rooms - being an old building dating back to the 1860s we have many different shaped rooms, some bigger and some smaller. I can only ask that if you return please ask for a larger room and we will accomodate as best we can.

We have the last weeks taken measures in both the tv-section (we have changed 40 of our old tvs with newer flatscreen 32" models fitted on the walls. We hope to continue changing tvs as we go along, but already appx. 50 rooms now have newer and larger tvs. We have also takens measures when it comes to the atmosphere in the lobby-area and the dining-area focusing on making the public areas even more welcoming.

I am glad that all personell were pleasant, and that the beds were ok - it is important to have a good nights sleep.

I hope you will return to our hotel with our complimentary waffles and evening meal, and if you do, I hope your impression will improve even more.

Best regards,

Ronny R. Reithe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet

Address: Brattorgata 2, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a peaceful haven in historical Trondheim. Hotel Bakeriet with its 109 rooms is located in the charming old parts of town and the house is inspired by its former history as a bakery. Included in all our rates are breakfast, and we even offer complimentary waffles during daytime, and a complimentary light evening-meal in the evenings. Coffee/tea is always free, and of course internet wi-fi access as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Clarion Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.