We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For those who wants to have a nice break !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Grand Olav

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Grand Olav to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kjopmannsgate 48, Trondheim 7010, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“For those who wants to have a nice break !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Always excellent service, good offers in the hotel, clean offer brask. Nearby the most interesting tings to do, such as Church Nidarosdomen. We live in this hotel everytime we travel to Trondheim. Special offers like newpapers, self-made waffles

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    80
    24
    10
    1
See reviews for
28
50
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We've stayed here for one night on our way up north in August of 2013. We arrived late, but got quick and helpful service. The room was big for Norwegian hotel room to be, with a queen size bed, a sofa, table and two chairs, and a bath tub. Everything was nice and clean, including the bathroom, but the bathroom was a bit outdated.

Breakfast was good, and the location was superb with everything within walking distance - inkluding the main street, the harbour, shopping centre, Olavshallen, Nidelven and Nidarosdomen.

The parking was full when we arrived, but we found a spot in the street around the corner, so no problem. The airport express bus stops outside the hotell.

This is a good hotel for a Trondheim weekend, great beds, good location and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived in the early morning with the Hurtigruten ship from Bergen. It was surprisingly nice that we were able to check-in immediately. People at the front desk are friendly and helpful. The rooms are cozy but not very big - still ok tough considering the price. Beds are comfortable and we had a relaxing night rest. Everything was clean. The city center can be explored by foot. Breakfast is included in the rate and there was a big selection of cold and warm dishes. Definitely a good place to spend some days in Trondheim.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived in Trondheim early, around 9:30, and the hotel was kind enough to make our room available so we could drop our bags and explore the city.
The retro modern, hip, decor was very unexpected I this business hub city in Norway. The rooms were large, had a fridge, hair dryer, wife etc etc.
And, the hotel offered great value for those seeking to make this very expensive city affordable--we were offered free pancakes (a Norway specialty) in the afternoon, and a free evening meal.
What's more, the desk manager recognized us at checkout the next morning, needing no prompting as to which room were vacating. Not something you find often.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Trondheim - Clarion Collection Grand Olav
This hotel was chosen for its proximity to the port and railway station and proved very convenient. Trondheim is an old capital and has plenty of history. We were able to walk easily to the city centre and a number of historical sites. The old town area, its bridge, and centuries-old warehouses are worth the effort.The hotel room and amenities were fine with a comfortable bed. The Grand Olav provides a complimentary evening supper for all guests. A selection of salads, cold meats, cheese, and a hot selection mean it really can double as an evening meal. It was the first time we have come across this type of offering and it was appreciated. The breakfast range was fairly standard and very satisfactory. There was also a fairly extensive DVD collection available for guest use in their rooms and return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked for one night as a city break for partners 40th, put a note on booking form to that effect and requesting a nice room.
The room was very nice and clearly an upgrade, the staff smiled and were happy to help with questions (shouldn't need singling out for special mention but nowadays it does).
The food absolutely excellent, complimentary evening meal if you wanted it, cold meats and salads, plus traditional fare, also afternoon cook your own waffles, the breakfast was top notch buffet selection.
The room furnishings were a little tired in places, and the lighting was a strange set up in that you had to get out of bed to be able to turn off the lights as the master switch at the door operated everything, that said the room cleanliness was very good, and it was comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very easy to find from station.
Very modern, wComfortable beds, very nice breakfast with salmon, chees and meats.
staff helpful
Quickest filling bath i have ever seen
Trondheim is lovely picturesque city.
Make sure you walk down to the old town bridge and look at the old coloured warehouses. The microbrewery is worth finding too. We had lunch at the fishmarket down by the wharf, a real find. The cathedral is worth the walk too.
.

Room Tip: Choose superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#4 of 26 in Trondheim
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bakeriet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#3 of 26 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Nidelven
Scandic Nidelven
#2 of 26 in Trondheim
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Grand Olav? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Grand Olav

Address: Kjopmannsgate 48, Trondheim 7010, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Grand Olav 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Clarion Collection Grand Olav reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Trondheim
Clarion Collection Trondheim
Trondheim Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Grand Olav, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.