We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Bakklandet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rica Bakklandet Hotel to your Saves list
Rica Bakklandet Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7400, Norway   |  
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Trondheim
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night with family on our Hurtigruten & Norway in a Nutshell tour. The hotel located not far from central station (10 min. walk) and short walk from all main attractions. New and modern style, good breakfast, rooms are clean with on Nidelva River view.
On opposite side of the street there is small grocery in case you would like to by some fruits.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    107
    19
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
85
16
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This stay was part of our "Artic Highway" Challenge Tour. Having driven 319 miles since breakfast we were delighted to find this modern hotel . Firstly and most importantly (when travelling by classic car) the car park was situated under the hotel with excellent access and protected by barriers. The rooms all have a minibar and private bathroom with shower .The level of cleanliness was top notch and we found the room to be very quiet. We did however have electric blinds which may have assisted in this. We had booked a "tour" dinner which was beautifully presented and French inspired but with local ingredients. Breakfast was extremely good with a fantastic selection incorporating all European tastes. We especially liked the fresh orange machine which actually squeezed the oranges directly into your glass. The hotel was opened in 2011 and so looks fresh and new and only a short walk from the older scenic areas of Trondheim

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Rica Bakklandet was good for us! We came off the Hurtigrutten very early but the hotel checked us in and gave us rooms early so we could go explore the city. We walked the city and explored the Cathedral from there. We were able to get a bus to the airport from the hotel early next morning and others in our group walked to the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night, (5th july 2013) prior to collecting a couple of BMW Motorcycles from the local dealer to tour Norway.
The room was very spacious and very clean. The food, (breakfast) was outstanding, with several choices ranging from smoked salmon and caviar to fruit and pastries and a bit of a fry up. There were numerous beverages on offer, and the staff were not only friendly and helpful, but nothing seemed too much trouble for them. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night as we were travelling to watch our football team play Rosenberg. Hotel was excellent - we managed to check in when we arrived which was late morning and we were very grateful as weather was not good. Breakfast very good and appreciated eating overlooking the water. Happy to recommend and hope to return for a short break

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our second stay at Rica Bakklandet and we like it very much. When choosing between different hotels when travelling in Norway, the Rica hotels always get extra points for the lovely breakfast - this was no disappointment at Bakklandet!

The hotel is modern and clean, staff very friendly, elevators quick (!) and location superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I travel to Trondheim for business and always stay at the Rica B.
Pros: Nice & helpful staff, good rooms (although small), great breakfast.
Cons: Nothing major...The pictures in the rooms are probably the ugliest I have ever seen. ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rica Bakklandet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Bakklandet Hotel

Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7400, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rica Bakklandet Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rica Bakklandet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Bakklandet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.