We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rica Bakklandet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rica Bakklandet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rica Bakklandet Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7400, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Trondheim
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one night, (5th july 2013) prior to collecting a couple of BMW Motorcycles from the local dealer to tour Norway.
The room was very spacious and very clean. The food, (breakfast) was outstanding, with several choices ranging from smoked salmon and caviar to fruit and pastries and a bit of a fry up. There were numerous beverages on offer, and the staff were not only friendly and helpful, but nothing seemed too much trouble for them. I would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    84
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
64
14
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night as we were travelling to watch our football team play Rosenberg. Hotel was excellent - we managed to check in when we arrived which was late morning and we were very grateful as weather was not good. Breakfast very good and appreciated eating overlooking the water. Happy to recommend and hope to return for a short break

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our second stay at Rica Bakklandet and we like it very much. When choosing between different hotels when travelling in Norway, the Rica hotels always get extra points for the lovely breakfast - this was no disappointment at Bakklandet!

The hotel is modern and clean, staff very friendly, elevators quick (!) and location superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I travel to Trondheim for business and always stay at the Rica B.
Pros: Nice & helpful staff, good rooms (although small), great breakfast.
Cons: Nothing major...The pictures in the rooms are probably the ugliest I have ever seen. ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersea Island, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent value for our superior room with a view over the river . Enjoyed a fantastic breakfast .After 2 weeks camping and canoeing this was what we needed ! Bus to the airport stops outside the Hotel .
Really helpful staff .If we go to Trondheim again this is the Hotel for us :-)

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view ( if you like boats and old buildings )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Booking Manager at Rica Bakklandet Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Johnskiahoy,
Thank you for your great review.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and our staff.
We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Anita B Henriksen
Booking Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

On the riverside. Close to the very center. Clean and quite, despite of the position on a street with traffic. Staff at the reception is very kind and helpful. The breakfast is not so rich sa it is at the other Rica hotel (very close) but anyway good and with fresh food and crispy bread.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Rica Bakklandet Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Paulifero
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you liked our staff and the breakfast.
Hope to welcome you back in soon.
Kind Regards
Johan Chr. Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although this is a limited frills hotel, it has something special about it and one of the best I have stayed in Norway. It is a relatively new hotel and features functional Scandinavian architecture. The living areas are warm and friendly and although the rooms are typically “Nordic” small, they are very comfortable, even without the usual hotel frills. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, the best thing about this hotel without any doubt is the truly superb breakfast. I am now finding it very hard to get good breakfasts during my travels around Europe having the breakfast at this hotel now setting the benchmark. The restaurant at the hotel is also very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Rica Bakklandet Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Beamer23,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am trilled to hear that we have now set your benchmark for a good hotel breakfast.
Hope to be able to welcome you back to us.
Kind Regards
Johan Christian Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rica Bakklandet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rica Bakklandet Hotel

Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7400, Norway
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rica Bakklandet Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Rica Bakklandet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rica Bakklandet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.