We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Bakklandet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Bakklandet to your Saves list
Scandic Bakklandet
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

On the riverside. Close to the very center. Clean and quite, despite of the position on a street with traffic. Staff at the reception is very kind and helpful. The breakfast is not so rich sa it is at the other Rica hotel (very close) but anyway good and with fresh food and crispy bread.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Paulifero
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you liked our staff and the breakfast.
Hope to welcome you back in soon.
Kind Regards
Johan Chr. Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    143
    30
    9
    0
See reviews for
46
115
25
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although this is a limited frills hotel, it has something special about it and one of the best I have stayed in Norway. It is a relatively new hotel and features functional Scandinavian architecture. The living areas are warm and friendly and although the rooms are typically “Nordic” small, they are very comfortable, even without the usual hotel frills. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, the best thing about this hotel without any doubt is the truly superb breakfast. I am now finding it very hard to get good breakfasts during my travels around Europe having the breakfast at this hotel now setting the benchmark. The restaurant at the hotel is also very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Beamer23,
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am trilled to hear that we have now set your benchmark for a good hotel breakfast.
Hope to be able to welcome you back to us.
Kind Regards
Johan Christian Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Welcoming, clean, comfortable and very well located -- these words are no exaggeration. Our one-night's stay in May could not have been more pleasant. Staff were not only courteous but very helpful -- offering to let me use their computer, for example, so that I could print something, and volunteering to find and print a map of where I was going the next day.
It is a little hike from the ferry terminal but the hotel is in a great location to explore the old and new, from the Cathedral and university section to the buzzy restaurants around the old ship-building area..
The breakfast was spectacular. The variety, the quality, the aesthetic display of the delicious food was the best way to wake up on a sunny day in this interesting city. We also had supper in the evening and the food was extraordinarily good -- one of us had superb local veal.. And my halibut was simply the best I've eaten. You will be glad you chose this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Uksnowy,
Thank you so very much for your kind review. I glad to hear that we were worth you hike from the ferry terminal. I am also proud to hear that really you liked our staff, breakfast and that the halibut was the best ever.
Hope to see you soon back in Trondheim.
Kind Regards
Johan Chr. Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is a excellent 4-four star hotel. Great value and a service minded staff. The impressive breakfast buffet is also worth mentioning. Even though it is a bit crowdy in the breakfast area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi StOlKa,
Thank you very much for your kind review. As you say our breakfast can be a bit crowded during peek hours. This is something we work hard to avoid and we try to make it as smooth as possible for everyone. Except from this I am glad to hear that you liked your stay with us.
Hope to be able to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Johan Chr. Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent two nights here when visiting Trondheim for a wedding. Room was nice, clean and modern with a spacious bathroom. Had a great nights sleep. Staff was very corteous, but could have been a bit more informative. Location is nice, 5-10 minutes walk to the main part of Trondheim city center.

Unfortunately, the breakfast area was extremely crowded, we actually had to wait for a table (which I find quite unusual). Another small minus is the elevators which you end up constantly waiting for.

Other than that we had a great stay, and I would not hesitate coming back during my next stay in Trondheim.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear henris0n,
Thank you for your review. All reviews and feedback is importent to us.
Yes, the breakfast can be crowed at peek hours but this is something we try to avoid and work hard to make it as smooth as possible for everyone. It's good to hear that you had a good night sleep and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Johan Chr. Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Rica Bakklandet is a beautiful building right on the water in the historic district. Excellent location with lots of interesting places to visit within walking distance. Our room was excellent - good quality linens, comfortable beds, very clean and new. The breakfast buffet is the best we had while on a three week driving tour of Norway! What a huge selection and all beautifully presented. Cold cheeses and meats were served on chilled pieces of slate and warm dishes were served on warm pieces of slate.... very unique presentation! Delicious homemade jams and juices. All this is inside a multi story, glass enclosed atrium that looks out over the water. Great setting! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan Christian S, Front Office Manager at Scandic Bakklandet, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Macja,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel and the slate on our breakfast buffet.
Hope to welcome back soon in the future.
Kind Regards
Johan Chr. Stuan
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great service, excellent menu and staff that reflect and give a high standard of service at a reasonable and fair price ...we had a party of 10 from different European countries this was not our first meal together in Trondheim but from both quality and service it was definitely the best well worth a visit .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Scandic Bakklandet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bakklandet

Address: Nedre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Bakklandet Hotel)
Location: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Trondheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Bakklandet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bakklandet hotel is centrally located in the heart of Trondheim along the river Nidelven by Bakke Bro. The harbour, bus and train station are within walking distance. Our hotel has a restaurant that serves a hearty breakfast, as well as dinner with a wide range of international dishes and local specialities. If you're planning a meeting, conference or event, we can provide flexible facilities for up to 40 participants. We also have a fitness room, as well as a relax lounge and sauna. Free WiFi is available in all our rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Bakklandet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Bakklandet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.