We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big range of beers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Den Gode Nabo

Den Gode Nabo
Ovre Bakklandet 60, Trondheim 7013, Norway
(+47)40618809
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 194 Restaurants in Trondheim
Price range: $15 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Den Gode Nabo is a place where it is possible to have a conversation, even if the atmosphere may be a bit noisy at times. An informal pub where you also can get a good meal.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Big range of beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The range of beers you can choose from is very big, the service is friendly, but the food is quite poor. It could be a bit cleaner too, good that you don't see too much, since it's quite dark inside.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    34
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Pub by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent food at reasonable prices; I had the beer snack (jamon serrano, salami, olives, bread, alioli, tomatoes...), which was very good and very much, too. The staff are very friendly, and they´re smiling all the time :) The location is very nice at well - if the weather is good enough, you can sit right by the river, but the inside looked nice enough too. Also, I don´t think there are a lot of tourists going there. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cosy place, horrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

So far I had been to Den Gode Nabo only to enjoy a beer by the river. And it is a very cosy place even though beers are overpriced, but this is a general rule in Trondheim. Today, I went there with my girlfriend to enjoy some fish at a reasonable price on a lazy sunday.
139 for a fish and chips for her, same price for "Today's fish dish". We sit down on the cosy terrace on the river, and after 15 minutes the waitress comes with the Fish and Chips. I tell my girlfriend not to wait and start eating. After 10 minutes, still no sign of my dish, so we go and ask the waitress what is going on, and because the dish comes from another kitchen, it takes longer. Anyway, we wait a bit more until my girlfriend finishes her meal, while me and my stomach are watching. Finally, after 15 minutes, my girlfriend goes and tell them it is not acceptable to give, for 2 persons, one meal after 15 minutes, and the other one more than 30 minutes after, without any unforced explanation whatsoever.
So we decide not to take the second dish and leave. We are the ones who ask for a refund of the second dish. The waitress was not to blame as she obviously was a new employee, but her manager did not even dare coming and talk to us after having given the money of the missing dish to his waitress. They could have at last told us beforehand this would happen, as they obviously knew. The waitress justified this by saying that "they are a pub, not a restaurant". Not a single gaze or gesture from the manager, no excuse for the delay, no thanks for coming, and not even a good bye. As soon as our credit card was swiped, they simply did not care at all and were dismissive in addition.
To summarize, the service ruined it all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The best beer-place in Trondheim!!! The atmosphere is fantastic. Here you will find all kinds of people; students, tourists, young, old, upper-class-posh couple, artists, footballplayers, preparty for wedding, birthdays...and so on-the list is LONG! You don't go there for the food(they have something to eat but it's not a restaurant, so it's simple), but you go for the atmosphere, music, and the huge selection of beer! In the weekends they have live-music. They may also shows football on projector. If you are a big group it's no problem-they have plenty of seats!!
Friendly staff. It's pricey, but it's a must!!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Huge menu, great location, pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Probably the biggest selection of beer in Trondheim, located in a historically interesting building in the idyllic Bakklandet. Seating for hundreds of people, yet the atmosphere is a very intimate beer hall. In the summer time they have seating outside on a barge on the Nidelv river, right by the picturesque old bridges and the Cathedral.

It is however, very pricey, even by Norwegian standards, and the average pint will set you back 10-12 €. The food is nothing to write about really, but it is simple enough to satisfy after three or four beers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gode Nabo also viewed

Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
Trondheim, Trondheim Municipality
 

Been to Den Gode Nabo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Den Gode Nabo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.