We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing and overpriced hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Kristiansand

First Hotel Kristiansand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Kristiansand to your Saves list
First Hotel Kristiansand
Dronningens gate 66, Kristiansand 4608, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Very disappointing and overpriced hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel as most of the other hotels in Kristiansand were full. Given our bad experience staying here we wish we would have booked outside the city. The overall feel of the neighborhood should have been a sign as it was rundown and littered. The hotel itself has a cramped shabby feel. The room was absolutely awful. It was so cramped we could hardly turn around and the ventilation so poor that we could not wait to leave the hotel each morning. We stayed 2 nights which was unfortunate. The clerk insisted that we pay our bill upon check-in which was a 1st in Norway. Makes us wonder if guests check out early after spending one nite there. Having traveled to Norway many times I can honestly say this was the worst Norwegian hotel I have ever stayed in

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I chose to ignore some of the reviews and book this hotel partly because the price seemed pretty good and partly because the photos looked really nice. Don't make the same mistake.

The room we stayed in was still pretty shabby despite the recent renovation. Light bulbs were missing, the floor in the bathroom completely flooded every time we emptied the sink in the kitchen and there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling where the extractor fan should have been - the smell was pretty bad! We live in Norway so know how expensive this country is but I'm afraid to say that this hotel charges 4 star prices for 2 star quality...sorry!

What's more (and most disappointing) was the fact our car was broken into and items stolen whilst in the hotel car park. When we informed the hotel they told us that they've had that happen several times before...so be warned!

On the plus side...the wifi is excellent. The meal deal in the evening is pretty good although the website says 69 NOK but we were charged 98 NOK when checking out - apparently a special increased price for July!

The location is good if you want to go to the city beach but then I would probably stay at the Scandic next door - modern, sea views and newly built. It's a bit out of town if you're interested in shopping.

We visited Kristiansand so we could go to the Dyreparken. If I did this trip again I would stay at Noa's Ark. Better reviews, more fun for kids and right next door to the park so saves travelling time.

Room Tip: Saturday night is night club night - ask for a room on the top floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestfoss
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had book two nights in a hotel for a weekend in June. Something was going on in Kristiansand, and I had trouble finding a hotel. In the end First Hotel Kristiansand (or as they call themselv - Hotell Sørlandet) had a room for me (the booking took place one month before).

The hotel is situated in an area of the city centre where the surroundings look real bad, I must say. But we got a room to the backside, no problem with noise or anyting.

But what kind of a hotel in a city centre doesn't have a parking place? When I asked, the receptionist just told me "we're full" or something and "you have to park along the street". Not the first thing you want to do when the streets look like the Bronx. We arrived Friday evening and had to pay to avoid a parking ticket on Saturday.

Our room was tiny, no minibar and an old tv situated so that you had lie in a funny way on the bed to watch it. And there wasn't much to watch, about 10 channels and no pay-TV (with bad reception as well).

But we had a good night's sleep. At breakfast it was obvious that the staff were not experienced. The staff was more occupied with drinking coffee and cleaning plates (I wondered, because they never cleaned the tables as long as the guests were present at the tables - when I left I had three plates, 2 glasses, 1 cup and 3 knifes on my table) - there wasn't much service.

We had paid our stay on arrival (well, because they made us), so it was no wonder that nobody turned up in the reception as we wanted to check out (well, hand over the key) - even after plinging the bell.

Well, room was okay (at a high price I think - over 800 NOK per night in a tiny double room), but all in all average in the meaning of the word.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed for a couple of days, and the highly-positive feedback comes from the fact that as hotel guests, on one day we were entitled for a special-offer dinner which was 10 EUR (including a glass of beer or wine). And on the other day, the dinner was free.
As we were short of time one day, hotel owner even offered as quick buffet-breakfast-like option to cover our lunch, without charging anything.
As Norway is extremely expensive, all this was a nice surprise and positive impact on our budget.
The rooms are pretty basic, but was not expecting any luxury and all needed was there. Location is excellent in town centre. Free WI-FI included in price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We booked the hotel because we had such a good service/stay in a First hotel in Stavager however, it was not at all comparable. The bed was uncomfortable and the room was basic. Not as good value for the price. It was uncomfortable at breakfast as the staff took up most the seating area (as they join you for breakfast) and were very noisy. We also only saw the staff in the restaurant in the evening. We couldn't find the hotel parking so parked on the street. It was ok overall. Great location and within walking distance to the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Kristiansand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kristiansand

Address: Dronningens gate 66, Kristiansand 4608, Norway
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Vest-Agder > Kristiansand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Kristiansand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Kristiansand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Kristiansand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.