We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, hot and noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Hoyers

Save Saved
You added Thon Hotel Hoyers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thon Hotel Hoyers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kongensgate 6, Skien 3724, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Skien
Gjovik, Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice, hot and noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel in itself is well worth a visit, it's got an unique and beatuyful "old-times" style. I actually spent some time wandering around the hotel admiring its style, which is rare for me in a hotel stay.

The nearby disco and the before-mentioned cars with tuned V8's running up and down the streed forced us to close all windows and finally go buy our own portable aircondition unit to be able to sleep. Please keep in mind that these days were among the hottest this summer, and we had a room in the top floor.

The staff was - as usual on all Thon hotels - very pleasant and helpful.

Unfortunately, the town seems to "shut down" in the summer, with most stores closed because the owners were on vacation. Skien is a good place to go if you're stopping on the way to something else (Bø Sommarland for instance like us), but I wouldn't go there for my vacation.

Room Tip: The two top floors were "boiling" in the summer heat, while the areas further down in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
7
3
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Very friendly greeting by the receptionist.
Rooms perfectly up to standard for this price range. Nice and clean. The street outside was VERY noisy due to V8-powered tuned street racers going up and down the street way past midnight. If it weren't for the ear plugs, we bought, we wouldn't have slept at all. I recommend, that you ask for a discount due to the noise. The hotel has free parking and free wi-fi, although this is not stated in the booking.com description. Not your first choice for a hotel to stay at for several days...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business.
Pros: FREE parking - the only place we found that had this on our tour! But not many parking places, so get there early to grab your spot. Magnificent looking pink hotel. Lovely lounge / reception area, with warm colours, chandeliers, wonderful old paintings (the Princess and the Pea was my favourite!). Excellent night's sleep. Very friendly service, great breakfast buffet. Room well equipped, including with tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV etc. Internet connection worked well.

Cons: The upright piano in the downstairs lounge area is horribly out of tune! Please please tune it! We were visiting as part of a tour as a ceilidh band, and were asked by some other guests to play a few tunes in the evening, but the piano was an embarrassment after all the beautiful perfectly tuned grand pianos which we'd been provided with at the Kulturhus elsewhere. The room was a little smaller than some other hotels we visited. Be aware that the buffet is cleared away as soon as the allotted time for breakfast is reached, so don't arrive 5 minutes before the deadline!
Overall: I would happily stay here again. Apparently we were in the refurbished rooms, which are much better than those awaiting refurbishment.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend when I visited my sister.
The people who work at Thon Hotel Høyers is really friendly and helpful. The hotel is very beautiful and they serve really good food. I loved my room. It was big enough and had a nice bathroom. I recommend everyone that is visiting Skien to stay at Høyers :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The place needs an update as it is very shabby for what you expect at this price range. The free parking that should be included was full and I had to park some distance away. The hotel could not provide a iPhone charger even though "everyone has been asking for it" as the receptionist said.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here overnight for a trip to Skien for a concert at Ibsenshuset. I'm a Thon reward member so stay at Thon Hotels a lot. They greeted us with a really friendly, quick check in, confirmed (without asking) that points would be credited to my membership. And, when they learned that due to having an early train to catch we would miss breakfast they offered to make us a pack of food to go! Which they came good on as well and it was much appreciated.

This is not the most modern or attractive hotel in Skien I'm fairly sure but they make you really welcome! The lobby is cool in a cosy leather couch kind of way, room was refurbished - pretty modern, corridors and lift showing their age a bit in style. Recommended for short stays in Skien.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Yes location is good but there were some drawbacks when we stayed there in July 2012. Mainly we found it very old and badly in need of updating. We arrived in fairly warm weather and were given a room in the front facing west and the harbor. Normally this would be nice but the room had been cooking in the afternoon sun with no AC so it was like a sauna. All they had for relief was a small plastic desk size electric fan. We went back down to ask for a cooler room so they gave us one in the back over an alley with no view but it was at least a bit cooler. Part of the 3rd floor was being worked on and there was construction lights strung and hanging from the ceiling. Perhaps they're renovating but for the time being, the website and photos are very deceptive.

Room Tip: Go up and check your room before you unpack, you might need to ask for a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thon Hotel Hoyers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Hoyers

Address: Kongensgate 6, Skien 3724, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Skien Municipality > Skien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Skien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Hoyers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic hotell centrally located in Skien, within walking distance to Skien`s cultural attractions, restaurants and shopping. We offer delicious food in our restaurant Brassriet Madame Blom, nice rooms, free parkering. Combine your stay with activities like the Telemark Canal, golf, a concert, theatre or visit the Ibsen Museum. You can also visit Skien fritidspark, Eventyrfabrikken and Sommarland i Bo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thon Hotel Hoyers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Hoyers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.