We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Langbryggene 7, Skien 3724, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skien
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best staff ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

One week at this hotel and you really feel like home. The staff is so helpful you almost forget that you are in Norway. The hotel offers free waffles every afternoon and free dinner if you are too tired to go to a restaurant.
The rooms are tidy and neat, though the interior could use an upgrade soon. Every thing else is super duper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Whatimean,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our main focus is to provide good service and make our guests feel as if they are at home.
It is also nice to hear that you appreciated our concepts with waffles and evening buffet. These concepts are available at all the Clarion Collection hotels within Scandinavia.

Hope to see you back in Skien some time in the future. You are welcome back anytime.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    37
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
18
3
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nice Hotel, with nice rooms.(several with balcony), but its the atmosphere that strikes you. The uniqe staff, and the overall "welcome home" feel you get when you just enter the door to the hotel. For me, the clarion collection hotels are my home away from home. Only so much more comfertable. But don't let yourself fool. They are as professional as any other full service hotel in the world. Only so much better when it comes to hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Stig R,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
Your words are really warming us during these cold winter days. It is very inspiring to hear that our staff give you a comfortable home away from home feeling.
We look forward to see you again soon.

Best regard,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I do use this hotel regularly 30-50 times each year for business purposes and only sometimes for leisure. Nice clean rooms, nice staff and complete breakfast. Recommendable.
Perfectly situated for leisure travels on "The Telemark Canal - one of the most beautiful waterways in the world"

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Geir J B,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review and share your experiences from our hotel. It is always nice to have you here as a guest. You are more than welcome every time.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Travelling as an actor all over Norway and all over the word i enjoy only the best and the ebst of the best from people and beds and service. Dont we all.....at Clarion Bryggeparken in Skien the friendly staff in the reseption is only the start of the best! Thank you for many great night in your Hotell. Rune Temte, Norwegian actor

Room Tip: higher up is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Rune,
Thank you so much for the nice review.
Hope to see you back soon. You are welcome anytime.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

hotel is in a good location and i found that the staff were helpful they even lent me an iphone charger . Clean and comfortable. food was ok usual cold buffet but good quality . Price for Norway is standard . i had no problems with parking .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Nick T,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel here in Skien.
Hope to see you back some time in the future.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
614 reviews 614 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
474 helpful votes 474 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

They have parking, just not as convenient as we would have liked. The space we found was at the back of the hotel, but you can't enter the hotel from the rear for security reasons. It would seem to be worthwhile for them to look into a back door that can be opened by room key.
There appeared to be several rooms with views, but not ours. It was a shame, as the hotel fronts on the river
Other than that, this was the perfect hotel for our needs. It was easy to find, convenient to the Telemark Canal, and easy to find our way out of town when we left.
The lobby is modern, open, airy and clean, and the desk clerk greeted us immediately. Throughout our stay, she and her co-workers were pleasant, professional and helpful.
Our room was a clean, quiet and pleasant double with the surprise of a bathtub! We didn't especially want a tub, but it was the first we had seen in a Norwegian hotel.
The hotel offers a complementary "light" hot and cold evening buffet. With a number of traditional Norwegian offerings, it was anything but light, and we didn't need to bother getting anything else for dinner.
The breakfast buffet was similarly varied Though not the biggest we had seen on our trip, it was plenty and good.
This is probably the best bet for lodging in Skien, especially if you plan on a Telemark Canal cruise, which is about a five minute walk away.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear HowinBubba,

Thank you for giving us feedback from your stay.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, and that our staff took good care of you.

We will look into the possibility of installing a room key card reader at the back door.

Hope to see you back some time in the future.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had one of the best experiences staying at this hotel. The price is reasonable, the views are pleasant, the staff is super friendly and they feed you constantly. We had a balcony room over-looking the water. It was a bit noisy at night as the room is directly over some bars and restaurants however, you have to expect that due to the location of the hotel. Free coffee/tea all day, waffles at 3:00 PM, free dinner, free breakfast. These elements are non-existent at most hotel chains around the world and it was refreshing to stay at a hotel that offered this. You can walk to the shopping center, bars and restaurants. The only suggestion I have for this hotel is to re-open the spa/sauna/steam room. For some reason, these were all closed. I checked out the spa facilities and they looked really nice, not sure why the hotel choose to close this down. But other than that, everything was amazing and it was great staying here. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorEivindLine, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear kristin r,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We have recently had some extensive technical challenges with the jacuzzi and steam bath in the relax & fitness department. We are working on finding a solution to this.

Hope to see you again some day.

Best regards,
Tor Eivind Line
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken

Address: Langbryggene 7, Skien 3724, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Skien Municipality > Skien
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Skien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggeparken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.