We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kragero Resort

Save Saved
You added Kragero Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kragero Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Stabbestadveien 1, 3788, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

As an travel agency employee I get discounted rates at some hotels.
My stay at Quality Spa & Resort in Kragerø was discounted.

The location is outside the city of Kragerø, with a great view of the coastline.
We stayed in one of the smallest rooms (ca 12 m2) I've ever stayed in, with the only window towards the walkway to the rooms. To get some sense of privacy, the curtains had to be closed.

The pool/spa area is small, with a couple of different saunas, a heated pool, and two whirlpools. Children are allowed, so there's not much tranquility..

All in all I was not impressed with the resort, and was glad I was only there for the accommodation, not for a weekend spa-break.

My rate for value is an average 3 points, but that is only because of my discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
22
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solum, Telemark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Incredible view and sceneary, stayed here while attending a wedding, however the wedding celebration were somewhat spoiled due to a lack of sleep because the rooms were so hot at night, and extremely poorly ventilated. The rooms were small, and expensive. Especially when we all had trouble getting more than 2-3 hours sleep at night. We had a pre-wedding meet in the bar friday, to get to know each other and the bar closed at 24.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kragero Municipality hotels

Drammen, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Nice architecture, modern, but the room was average in size and did not have a safe or fridge ( minibar), only 2 hangers, and no roommaid came the 2. day, and we had to collect towels from the reception, which was located far from the block we stayed in.
Consists of many blocks, partly privately owned rooms / appartments.
Roomprice: double NOK 1700 / € 218 / $ 310. I have stayed cheaper in Hilton on Manhattan.
Extremely expensive: a small bootle of beer in the restaurant NOK 68 / Euro 9 / $ 12.
Hotdogs and fries NOK 95 / € 12 / $ 18.
The hotel is named Kageroe resort, but Krageroe is 40 min drive away, or by ferry 15 min, last ferry 9 pm.
OPC: ( Other peoples children ) plenty, all over, and all of them aged 0 - 6 years. No place to have a calm, relaxing stay, perhaps less OPC in other seasons.
I rate just *** because of the choice of places to eat, the remote location, and all the OPC.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I and my spouse have visited many hotels in Europe, this is by far the best. The whole hotel is extremely well thought-out! Breathtaking location, stunningly beautiful interior decoration, incredibly 'user friendly' spa and and smiling, helpful staff. We can't wait to visit this hotel again. Anna and Assaf, Sweden

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We arrived late,but our room were still not ready. This was a small flaw because the rest of our stay were perfect.

If there were one thing I would like to complain about it was the curtains in the bedroom, they did not keep the light out as a result we had sun when the sun rised at 0420. I am not a fan of sleeping in the light, I like it dark and cold. But this was a minor problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We had a short get-away weekend and chose to stay at this hotel based on their facilities and location. We did book a suite based on the text and pictures on the resort's website.

1) The suited turned out to be some different from the displayed pictures. They showed a suite with two-side panorama window, with larger living room. This type of suite, they have only two. We got a suite that only had the panorama window in front. This was a misleading publicity on their website.

2) Everything was fine, till I was waken up at 01.30 AM by very loud music from the bar. The suite was located topmost, with good airspace in between, and even a restaurant floor in between. The bar was located in the bottom. Even that, the music was so loud. I phoned to the reception, the only thing they could do was to close the door of the bar out to the balcony! I was so tired that I felt at sleep after a while. What a waste of the sleep quality.

3) The beer at the pool was not fully poured, and the price was astronomical.

4) The suite was nice with a lot of self-service equipment if needed. However, there was no sign of hotel bookleaf anywhere. We had to ask the reception for the needed information.

5) The pool facilities were nice, but it seemed like the lamps were gone here and there. Pity that the staff didn't bother to keep the quality better.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

The very best with the resort is the view over the archipelago, which you also can enjoy from restaurantants and pools. It is a large complex of rooms, suites, holiday apartments. Quite crowded in sumer, other times of the year just very few guests - and it isn`t really fun to be 2 of perhaps 15 guests in an enormous dining area.

The budget rooms are very plain, but the beds very comfortable . Missed reading light at the bed. Had a look at the more expensive room which sure looked nicer...

Nice spa with outdoor/indoor pools. Treatments offered - however expensive (see pricelist at website) Golf and tennins course, gym.

Food is verygood! However it is set meals and no buffets when there are few guests.

The hotel is a bit away from nearest village, Kragerø - either 35 kms by car, or by ferry (infrequent) or taxiboat(rather expensive)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kragero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kragero Resort

Address: Stabbestadveien 1, 3788, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Telemark > Kragero Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kragero Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kragero Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the sunny shores of Stabbestad, lies Kragerø Resort - one of Scandinavia's most extravagant spa resorts and the new pride of lifestyle hotels. At the resort, you will also find one of Norway's finest golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kragero Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Spa And Resort Kragero
Quality Spa & Resort Kragero Hotel Krager Municipality
Kragero Resort Norway/Telemark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kragero Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.