We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fjord Restaurant

Fjord Restaurant
Kristian August Gate 11, Oslo 0164, Norway
+47 22 98 21 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 906 restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Seafood, Norwegian, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Fjord offers exciting varieties of fish in all forms. The restaurant changes its menu every month so that guests can experience new tastes each time they visit the restaurant. As a guest at Fjord you can always be sure that the food is made from the best ingredients, and each season will offer new and exciting selections on the menu.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very centrally located in Oslo with a nice interior. Although a quite open room it was quiet, allowing you to converse.
We had the 5-course meal with a set wine menu. Excellent, varied food and very nice wine matches arranged by a highly serviceminded and knowledgable sommeliere.
The meal plus an aperitif and tea/coffee did not cost more than just over 1000 nok/person which I find very reasonable for this quality in Norway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    96
    34
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I really loved the way the restaurant is decorated, and the service was great. As I was out with a friend for the evening it suited us well that there was quite a while between the courses, but I would not recommend this place if you're in a hurry.
They are very good at presentation - every course is a piece of art. There is just five courses on the menue - and you can choose three, four or five. If you're hungry you should take at least four. The price level is quite good, and they have several wines you can have by the glass.
You don't get any bread/butter - but they served us an absolutely fantastic "amuse bouche". The ravioli with king crab was nice, although the stock that came with it was so spicy it nearly drowned the taste of crab. The flounder we had as a main, was good. I had cheeses instead of dessert - they were ok, and no more. My friend had the sorbet and fruits which were wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The seafood tasting menu was excellent. The quality of the food, the preparation, and the service were all top notch. Perhaps a little overemphasis on the various mousses, and it might have been enhanced with more textural variety. And certainly Oslo prices. But each bite was delicious, and the presentation, balanced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I ate here with a colleague from Germany. We had the full 5 course tasting menu and we both thought it was incredible. Beautiful ingredients turned into lovely delicate dishes. Nice and simple, well put together by people who clearly understand and are proud of what they do. One of the most memborable meals of recent memory, hence writing the review. The wine tasting menu was very good too. The owner is charming and clearly enjoyed the interest we took in his food and restaurant without being sycophantic in any way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent seafood!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you want to have som seafood i Oslo,this is the place to dine.
Very good food end service,and romantic environments.We will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fjord Restaurant also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Fjord Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fjord Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.