We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant in Oslo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie 45

Brasserie 45
Stortingsgaten 20, Oslo 0161, Norway
22 41 34 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #416 of 990 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Brasserie 45 serves delicious food for people on their way to the movies or the theatre, or simply meeting business relations or friends. The restaurant has one of the best locations in town, right next to the National Theatre, Karl Johans gate and the City Hall. Brasserie 45 serves delicious continental dishes based on the finest produce at very competitive prices.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

So glad we were recommended this by a Norwegian friend. Lovely food, great service and, for Norway, not too expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    14
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Touristic Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was looking to eat typical Scandinavian food and I have been a bit disappointed. It's simply a touristic place but, unfortunately, it is not easy to find an affordable restaurant in Oslo and this was the best option among all the others. A dinner for two, two mains and two drink NOK 550.00

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A gem in Olso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Must off the main drag of expensive chain restaurants, this is a gem in the heart of an expensive city. Excellent service, lovely food and very reasonable prices. Quite simply, if you're visiting Oslo, eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Well rounded restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Probably one of the best restaurants we tried in Scandinavia,by far the best service provided by Marcus from Sweden,friendly yet very professional. Traditional food with an eclectic Scandinavian flare. Very,very reasonable prices in a city where an small bottle of water can cost easily U$ 6/7,we paid for 4 people U$ 210. I had the moose burger(nothing to die for) but interesting. The rack of lamb was very good. I think the desserts are the star of the menu: amazingly good Tiramisu, superb Orange sorbet and very good chocolate truffles(indeed a chocolate Marquisse) Nice setting overlooking Karl Johanns Gate. Highly reccomendable

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lots of good reasons to go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This restaurant is in a great location adjacent to the National Theater. It is on the second floor in a corner location so views of Johans's gate and the side street enhance the atmosphere and dining experience. We enjoyed a fixed menu and each course was well prepared, nicely served and filling. We tried the deeir madallions and fish and were very happy. We were surprised to dine so well in Oslo for such a reasonable sum.The wait staff are very helpful and accommodating with wine selections. We were there mid-week and did not have trouble getting seated in a choice location by the window. This is a quiet restaurant so it is a good choice after a busy day of touring.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie 45 also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Brasserie 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.