We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delicatessen Grunerlokka

Delicatessen Grunerlokka
Sondregate 8, Oslo 0550, Norway
+47 22 46 72 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 960 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Delicatessen Grunerlokka serves Spanish tapas made from a combination of Norwegian and Spanish ingredients. We pride ourselves on using the best ingredients available. I.E. All of our fried food is fried in Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Montabes in Jaen, Andalucia. The Montabes oils are known for their high level of antioxidants and actually adds flavor and nutrients to the food. This is an expensive way to fry food but only the best is good enough for us. All of our hams come from specially selected producers. Our main supplier of hams is Casalba in Burgos. At Casalba knowledge of how to make the finest hams, chorizo etc has been passed down for several generations. We are proud to be able to offer their world class products to our customers.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great evening out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited the one in Vibesgate at Oslo west. It's also one at Grunerlokka (Oslo east) and one at the waterfront (Aker Brygge).

First of all, keep in mind that this restaurant dosen't take reservations after 5, and not at all at weekends. As it's highly popular it might take a while to get seated, but it's worth the wait.

Yes it's crowded and loud, but it's also cosy, romantic and energetic. The service is good, although the waiters should be drilled a bit about the menu. Asked for a wine pairing and for once was not recommended the most expensive. Thumbs up!

Food is great. They have some basic dishes all year round, and some changing with season. Love that you can get your favourites, but also try someting new.

Will return soon!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    102
    9
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great for tapas, lunch or just a drink.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great little selection of tapas. I live in the area and find that they offer very reliable quality over a number of years. Also good for enjoying just some Cava or Champage at the long, friendly bar after/before a meal in the area. For lunch a small selection of salads and sandwiches, the Bisteca sandwich is big enough to sustain even the hungriest.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food-a-holics paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We both are food-a-holics and dined here. Delicatessen was recommended by a friend of mine. It was a great food experience for us both. The place is good for couples as the ambiance of the place is such that it has a romantic aura and encourages romance. When we went it was not very crowded and so we had a quiet, romantic dinner. We had the tapas and it was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

a friend brought me there for the first time. it was crowded and squeezy already at 7pm. It wasn’t a very big restaurant; hence I can understand how my chair I was sitting on got bump by the waiter many times. Don’t expect an apology though; because they are too busy getting orders and serving.
Food ordered came fast. It was delicious no doubt. We ordered 5 tapas/breads for 3 persons (female) and it wasn’t enough. We ended up adding 2 more tapas and finish the meal with dessert.
At 830pm, it was really crowded and waiters started coming round and asking if we are done so outside waiting customers can have their dinner. We don’t mind at all and left shortly after. Reason given, the noise level got so loud that the 3 of us have to shout to speak. Temperature is getting very warm as well and you can feel you are grasping for oxygen. I believe the compact layout of the restaurant contributes to all the above factors.
If it for the food, I will definitely patronise again. However, if a gathering for business or friends, not ideal at all, since you cant really hear what another party due to noise.
.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, but book in advance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, this is the only really good tapas I know of in oslo. But it's always crowded, so you won't get to much attention from the staff. But definitely worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen Grunerlokka also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Delicatessen Grunerlokka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicatessen Grunerlokka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.