We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vietnamese Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xich Lo

Xich Lo
Karl Johansgate 23B, Oslo 0159, Norway (Sentrum)
22 42 48 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 961 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Pay a visit to Xích Lô (pron. cyklo) for a taste from a little Further East. This is a unique treasure of a Vietnamese restaurant, now occupying new premises on Karl Johans gate 23 B on the first floor of the new department store in Egertorget square. Delicately exotic with light and airy interior and a mouth-watering menu where the food is reasonably priced and completely authentic. Aromatic and spicy without being too hot, the dishes are served as small pieces of art on the plate. Enjoy your trip Further East!
Asia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A choice for a dinner in Oslo is not usually easy, lots of expensive options ;-) but then when notice there is this nice Vietnamese place the decision making was fast, I think we even called to reserve a table because it was Friday and we wanted to be sure that we can eat where we want.
The restaurant itself located in this building complex with department store (image 1), not easy to find exactly how to get it but we asked. The setting itself was very modern and cosy, thankfully no any kitschy decoration or music and then was the time to look at the menu. Obviously Saigon (export) beer (image 2) was a natural choice as I haven’t had that one since my visit to Vietnam couple of year back. The food choice was deferent story, this was not a Pho street stand but well dining restaurant, so we did select some soup for starter and my meat for main dish (image 3) was delicious and rich in flavour and taste.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    84
    27
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Superb Vietnamese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I can see why this is one of the most highly rated restaurants in Oslo. The food was delicious and wonderfully presented. We had a set "tasting menu" and my dislike of scallops was not a problem. Different wine to match each course aswell. Brilliant!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Food was excellent! Maybe not traditional Vietnamese cuisine, but def a good choice when in Oslo.. Would recommend

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“More good than very good, but OK!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Ate her our first night in Oslo as it was near Hotel Bristol and had good-ish reviews. Overall, it was good. The food is a mix of Vietnamese and French, the cuisine of which was (for me) a bit too sweet - but the space is nice (big dining room), nice welcome and coat check, and drinks offered as soon as we sat down. Obviously popular, lots on the menu, selection of Vietnamese beers as well as local ones, wine list not crushingly expensive! Would probably go again.

Tip: you reach this place by going through the doors marked "Shopping" and then using the lift which is further in and to the left. Looks like an office block entrance, don't let that put you off.

Also: there's a nice bar/piano bar immediately to the left as you exit which we liked

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverum, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A safe card to eat really good food in the middle of everything! Ordered a three course meny with three glasses of wine, and simply loved the different flavors of coco, chilli and herbs together with fantastic tender meats. We absolutely loved the food!
Good waiters with good knowledge of the food and wines they served. Always attentionate to our needs and wishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xich Lo also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Xich Lo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xich Lo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.