We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xich Lo

Xich Lo
Karl Johansgate 23B, Oslo 0159, Norway (Sentrum)
22 42 48 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 961 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: Pay a visit to Xích Lô (pron. cyklo) for a taste from a little Further East. This is a unique treasure of a Vietnamese restaurant, now occupying new premises on Karl Johans gate 23 B on the first floor of the new department store in Egertorget square. Delicately exotic with light and airy interior and a mouth-watering menu where the food is reasonably priced and completely authentic. Aromatic and spicy without being too hot, the dishes are served as small pieces of art on the plate. Enjoy your trip Further East!
Elverum, Norway
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A safe card to eat really good food in the middle of everything! Ordered a three course meny with three glasses of wine, and simply loved the different flavors of coco, chilli and herbs together with fantastic tender meats. We absolutely loved the food!
Good waiters with good knowledge of the food and wines they served. Always attentionate to our needs and wishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    84
    27
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happy eating in Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very good food in the center of Oslo.
Had scampi for appetizer, and ribs of lamb for main course, both VERY tasteful

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Firstly let me assure you that I torn between a 4/5 mark however felt that the service towards the end of the meal didn't compare to the start. The food was lovely and good value for money, even tho everywhere in oslo is expensive, we felt that the price was good. The food was well presented and tasted amazing. However it took 15mins for our dessert to be removed from the table (when it was clear we had finished ie no food) and then after a further 15mins waiting for someone to collect my cash, eventually I gave up and proceeded to pay at the front desk. Slightly disappointed as the food and welcoming service had been great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

You have to know where you are looking when you go to Xich Lo as its in one of the many small shopping centres off Karl Johansgate in Oslo. However the big sign on the corner does somewhat give it away!

I went on for a business dinner with some clients and colleagues and was most impressed. We mostly had three courses with wine and quality and value were top class. I had the scallops to start, which were excellent, although if I´m honest I was somewhat jealous of my friends who had ordered the spring rolls! This was followed by the duck which was perfectly cooked, pink in the centre and seasoned to perfection. Lastly I had the passion fruit creme brulee and my only criticism was that the sugar topped, could have been a little crisper.

However, for Oslo and the quality of the food this was very well priced, with just over half a bottle of wine per person working out at around 750 NOK each. Service was subtle and elegant and I really liked the decor.

I would definitely go again if I felt like asian food in Oslo

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very good service....but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The place has received excellent reviews, so I was looking forward to visiting the place. The restaurant was packed so waiters and chefs were obviously very busy. The staff was very knowledgable and attentive the night of our visit. However not everything was perfect... First courses were served quite quickly and were great, but how wrong can you get with spring rolls? Main courses...long wait. When they finally arrived the fish was cold. Not a good idea to order fish when the rest of the party went for duck or chicken. One thing by the way; vegetarians do not eat shrimp crackers! Total impression; just average. But would like to try it again on another occasion.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xich Lo also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Xich Lo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xich Lo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.