We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Friendly Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie France

Brasserie France
Ovre Slottsgate 16, Oslo 0157, Norway
+47 23 10 01 65
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 959 Restaurants in Oslo
Price range: $29 - $36
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Cypruis
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went here on our first night in Oslo and were agreeably surprised to find better French food than most places we went in France. The staff were friendly and helpful. The menu was interesting and varied. Good choice of wines too. Prices in Norway seem always to surprise on the high side and the restaurant was no exception but that said for this city it was very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    94
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went to this restaurant after finding that a number of the well-known restaurants in Oslo (esp. meat places) close for several weeks in the summer. The food was ordinary and quite expensive. This was our first exposure to Norwegian prices, and as Americans, we were astonished by how consistently expensive everything was. Our dinner of one appetizer and 2 entrees, with no beverages, was $100. The escargot was good. This is clearly a touristy place and not worth the price

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best French food in Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When we sat down, we noticed this brasserie had that typical French feel to it, which is great. The staff was very friendy and helpfull. The wine list has a good balance to it and the staff will aways try to find you something good. The food was very good as well: real value for money! We were very full after a starter and a main. We would recommend you take a main and dessert only, because of the generosity of the chef and in order to have a taste of the good desserts.
Overall it was worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice French Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice French food with good choice of wine. We enjoyed most of the food. we were a group of 6 and had a good time enjoying the cold evening

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersel, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Rather good copy of french brasserie.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Nothing authentic but food and service were good. We had steak, fish and salad. The served free tap water :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie France also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Brasserie France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.