We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Pricey, good food, great ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Hong

Mr Hong
Stortingsgata 8 | inngang Rosenkrantzgate, Oslo 0161, Norway (Sentrum)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #430 of 907 restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pretty Pricey, good food, great ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went to Mr Hong Restaurant by chance, was walking by and saw the welcoming flame outside - went in cautiously, but was blown away by the size of the venue, the welcome was really special too.
Had a bottle of Chilean wine which was pretty good and then we both settled for the Mongolian - meat was a little shredded, but once it was cooked with the fresh vegetables it was delicious. Had two portions as it was so good. the chilli sauce was really spicy and added to the overall flavours.
Staff were excellent and the two young ladies (one obviously a trainee) were most attentive and friendly.
Will definitely come back - especially after they assisted when we realised we only had Euros and no credit card!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    11
    19
    20
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good enough chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Beef chow mein had a nice flavour. Crispy deep fried chicken - so so - not a super great flavour but filling. Sweet and sour pork - nice chunks of pork, nice sweet and sour sauce, but a little on the gluggy side - but every "chinese" restaurant does their own version of this sauce - it had lots of garlic which I liked. Service was quite good. We didn't do the mongoiian barbecue as unless it's the real deal and you know how to combine flavours, it can be a real hit or miss. Atmosphere not the best when you're seated near the mongolian barbecue section - restaurant feels very crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good service and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went for dinner with friends and service was surprisingly good! The shanghai noodles I ate were good; however, the fried rice was obviously made with frozen vegetables. The hot pot was a success, hot and spicy! The prices are ok for Oslo standards.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pambula
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mr Hong - good value and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Absolutely lovely decor and not a Chinese Cheapie as I had been led to expect. Choice on the menu was extensive and service was quick and efficient. Food was delicious and having some green tea, reading a book and supping with chopsticks a great way to spend an hour or two.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Vent with work to Oslo in late september 2012... We decided to go to Mr. Hong, as one of my coworkers been there a couple of years ago. We all had the Mongolian barbaque. What a mistake. The meat was terrible; stringy and fatty. The food was burned and a lot of it were inedible. The service was slow and our used plates were left on our table during most of our meal.
All in all a very disappointing experience...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Hong also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Mr Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr Hong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.