We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jambo Restaurant

Jambo Restaurant
Karl Johans Gate 13, Oslo 0154, Norway
2242 1983
Improve this listing
Ranked #709 of 990 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Staff told us to try not to spill on the table, so they wouldn't have to clean it.. I hope this was meant as a joke! Food was good. We were a party of 9 and we were disappointed that they didn't serve everyone at the same time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    15
    15
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“If you suddenly crave for the orient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you happen to desire food from the orient while in Oslo, this restaurant is a good bet. Dishes are prepared cantonese style and can request certain foods to be prepared that are not in the menu. We asked for a slab of salmon to be steamed with soy sauce, ginger and scallions paired with white rice and had the best norwegian salmon cantonese style we ever had. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Service is fast and efficient.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Only found this restaurant on the last night. It is located on the main street ( Karl Johanns Gate) so we presumed it was going to be expensive but turned out to be very resonable with fast service

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very poor!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Watch out! Ordered dinner for two. The meals vere served with a remarkable difference in time. It is nice to eat together! The Soya sauce was diluted with water as well as the Tabasco sauce. Slow service.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkenes, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We chose Jambo on Karl Johan street because 'Dinner' (the best Chinese in Europe by all accounts) was fully booked, days in advance. My partner ordered Spring Rolls for a starter, he got 2 good sized ones which came out on a small plate accompanied by nothing, so it looked a tad vacant in presentation, but he asked for a chilli sauce to go with it & it seemed to make his eyes water enough to let me know it was completely satisfactory!

My starter was chicken & sweetcorn soup & it was not only tasty but stayed hot until the last spoonful, although I didn't get my last spoonful. I was still slurping my starter after my partner finished his & the waitress already cleared his plate & setting, which made me feel hurried. I find it rude in any restaurant for a place to be cleared before anyone else has finished. This might be a case of manners or custom, I'm not sure, but to me, it was manners.

Mains: Yummy. They bring hotplates out to keep the food warm. My partner ordered a spicy beef number with chilli & I ordered what I read to be chicken in black bean sauce (menus are in Norwegian & English). Turns out I got chicken in a black pepper sauce (possibly my mistake in ordering), but I won't complain because it was just too yummy to complain about! My partner couldn't tell the difference in his meal because of the chilli sauce he had with his starter, so apart from saying the beef was tender & juicy, he can't pass comment on how spicy it was!!! I could taste the black pepper in mine & the more I ate, the stronger it got, but the water I had between mouthfuls, kept the heat down, having said that, I'm sensitive to pepper & spice.

I'd say they could put more meats in these meals & less veg, we both had a massive amount of large cut green & red bell pepper in our food, so there's my only complaint.

All I would say is that if there is more than one of you eating here, make sure it looks like you're all still eating until you've all finished otherwise the places will be cleared promptly & whoever is left eating will have all eyes on them.

Dessert:, I had one but my other half didn't because he wanted a genuine Chinese pudding of some kind. They have ice cream or banana split on the menu in different variations & that's about it, but I chose the Ice Cream with Chocolate Sauce. It was delicious. I expected a scoop of vanilla with some chocolate sauce on but I got a large glass of vanilla ice cream, a wonderful mouth watering scoop of chocolate ice cream and a heaven sent huge dollop of chocolate fudge sauce that melted down between the two... yum

I recommend this restaurant but I do recommend that you should all make your courses finish the same time as each other, otherwise they'll clear the places & you'll be left eating alone... aside from that, yummy!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambo Restaurant also viewed

 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Jambo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jambo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.