We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holocaust Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holocaust Center

The Holocaust Center
Villa Grande, Huk Aveny 56 | Take the 30-Bus to "Bygdøhus", Oslo 0287, Norway
+47 22 84 21 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 303 things to do in Oslo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Center for Studies of the Holocaust and Religious Minorities presents a modern exhibition on the Holocaust, focusing especially on the fate of the Norwegian Jews during the Second World War. The exhibition presents images, sounds, film, items and text documents about the genocide of the European Jews, as well as the Nazi State's mass murder and persecution of other groups and minorities. The Center is located in a villa with a garden and has a cafe. Opening hours 10am - 4pm every day.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Holocaust Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to see this centre. Most of the exhibits are noy in English so you have to have the audio tour, just does not have the same affect as reading yourself. I enjoyed the bits where i could read, surely it would be cheaper to have printed translations or am i odd?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A well designed unmissable museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We got to the museum for opening time and we were instantly greeted by friendly staff explaining the lack of English text but this didn't take away from the impact of the museum thanks to the audio guides it was a really informative well layed out thought provoking museum well worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Oppland, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The exhibition gives unique insight into the fate of the Norwegian Jews during the Second World War. To me, this was the most interesting part. I think the museum managed to show individuals, not just a group of people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is not that easy to find even for a local the first time unless you do your research. It's a very interesting place in several ways, it's a research institution with a small library connected to the University of Oslo, it's an excellent museum about the history of the Jews in Norway (in a broader European setting as well), and it was the home of the deluded Norwegian Nazi and traitor Vidkun Quisling and his wife during the second world war. I personally enjoyed the exhibition a lot, it gave a lot of background information, personal information and information about the aftermath of the Holocaust and the fate of surviving Norwegian Jews. It was no problem for me reading all the info since I'm Norwegian, but I would assume it could be annoying having to solely use an audio guide since there's no English translation - I've heard people complain about this.

But, if you're Norwegian you better get your buttocks out here and learn about an important and dark part of history which never must be forgotten or repeated.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONCORD
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was looking forward to visiting the Center but was disappointed with the visit. At the Oslo Tourist info center, the person did not even mention it. The Center is a little off the path so make sure that you follow the signs for the HL - Senteret. There is an interesting display when you walk in and an audi guide but the vast majority of the displays have no English translation and it was difficult to get a sense of the museum and what happened in Norway.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holocaust Center also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to The Holocaust Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holocaust Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.