We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anker Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anker Hostel to your Saves list
Anker Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Oslo
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“not the value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Quite expensive but among cheaper in norway, no security lockers in room, linen for rent, breakfast for 55 NOK but I didnt have it. I stayed in room for 8, rooms are quite small, but bathroom inside, I didnt use any of hostel entertainment but i could see fussball, tv, internet. Overall i would stay again because of its price in comparison with other hostels)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    130
    217
    73
    50
See reviews for
29
108
126
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed in Anker Hostel for two nights.It's price is quiet good for Oslo, especially considering the fact that you will be very close to city center and Central Station ! The staff is very friendly and you could find some people to talk with. However , everything except for the bed and hot water(!) is costing you money again ; like sheets , towels, food,coffee;tea ! So bear in mind to take your sheets and towels with you. If you are staying in dorms you could have different type of roomates who switch on the lights at night while you are sleeping ! However , it is a youth hostel not a 5 star hotel-quiet expectable ! Also ,the beer is cheap there ( cheap concerning Oslo ! )Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hostel isn't bad, its very average in most things with the exception of the location. Many of Oslo's sights are within walking distance and moving around the city form this location by public trasnport is quite easy.
What I didn't like is being charged extra for sheets and not provided with a towel, which I haven't experience before in the various hostels I stayed at before.
Also the room I was in provided hot plates which could have added a cheaper option than snacking in Oslo but unfortunately no pots/pans in the room so this would only be useful to travellers that happen to carry cooking equipment from country to country............
The majority of staff were friendly, hostel was peaceful so all in all a decent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

During our trip to Oslo, we stayed in Anker hostel. The location is very good, 10mins walking from the centre and 2mins from several restaurants and bars, and a tram stop just in front of it. Even if surrounded by city hotspots, the hostel is still in a quiet corner. The room was basic, but clean. The only surprise was the price, very expensive for a hostel...but that's normal based on Norwegian prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Anker Hostel is one of the cheapest places to stay in Oslo, so you can't expect luxury, and the place is good for the price.

The location is close to the city centre, and so it's a good base for exploring, and only 10 minutes walk from the train station and bus terminal when arriving or leaving. Thanks to the location, I didn't need to use any public transportation to get around - most of the attractions are about 15-20 minutes walk away, and Oslo is small enough to walk pretty much everywhere.

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm, which was never full on any nights, possibly due to the time of year. The dorms have an ensuite bathroom with shower, basin and toilet. The beds in the rooms are comfortable, though linen is not included and costs extra.

There is free wi-fi in the reception area (sometimes I could pick it up in the dorm as well), with ample room on the sofas and tables for a good number of people. The reception also supplies hot and cold drinks, as well as any help and information. When my padlock broke on my suitcase, the staff quickly helped out by finding the security to break open the padlock

Before arriving I was worried about heating, seeing as Oslo in January can be very cold, but inside the hostel was always warm - reception area and dorms alike.

Overall, Anker Hostel is a good place to stay on a budget, with decent rooms, helpful staff, and good location, at a much nicer price than other places in Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The place is ugly and sterile. People that are working there are dull and lifeless.
There is no WI FI in rooms. They are charging extra for everything including linen.
One day I didnt have 100 NOK but 70 and they didn't want to lend me dishes.
They made me go to the exchange office.
The toilet was broken and they didn't fix it for 6 days so I had to poop in restorans.
Anyway, really bad choice.
I would never choose this place again. Even if it was half price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed 3 nights ,The hostel is close to the train station,about a 10 minute walk,we got a basic room with two twin beds small kitchen with a mini fridge, You have to pay for sheets and towels are not included in the rate, the Staff was average, good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hostel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hostel is a modern hostel situated in the center of Oslo.8 minutes walking distance from Oslo central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Anker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anker Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.