We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anker Hostel oslo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anker Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Anker Hostel to your Saves list
Anker Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Oslo
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Anker Hostel oslo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hostel is close to the train station. Nearby is a shop. Room ok but there was no soap. Many young people. At the reception you can buy beer. You end up staying in the hostel you have to take a bed sheet and carry it to the front desk to the trash

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    120
    198
    69
    47
See reviews for
27
99
117
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed one night (room 3-11 - don't stay in it) and there were bed bugs. On the plus side, they moved me when I went down to complain. The next day, one of the staff was really helpful in helping me sort and wash everything (and that means everything including luggage), but still eliminating bed bugs was not what I had planned to do on my only day in Oslo. They didn't charge me for laundry use either (and neither should they).
It's a big hostel and the foyer seems to be the only common area where people sit and use the wi-fi. This means that although you might have lots of people sitting together, on the whole everyone is staring at a screen rather than interacting. Has potential to be a lively centre and maybe after a few drinks that's what it was like - must have missed it though.
Got some good tips from the staff about places to go in the evenings.
Area is handy for the botanical gardens, Evard Munch museum and the train station, about a 15-20 minute walk into town.
If they can sort the bed bugs out, I wouldn't have any problems recommending it.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 3 - 11! Unless you like blood sucking parasites that infest everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hostel is located about a 10 minute walk from the train station but as a female alone I didn't feel safe in the area at night. The staff are friendly enough. Rooms are just ok, they were clean enough. There is a stove and fridge in the rooms and a bigger kitchen on the same floor but no cooking equipment there, you have to go down to reception and pay a 100 NOK deposit to use the cooking equipment for three hours. The vibe here was not great and there's Wi-Fi but no computers for you to use. You have to pay to hire the linen but it was of good quality. Entry to rooms is by a swipe card but there are no lockers in the room, you have to pay if you want to hire a locker. Oslo is expensive so if you need budget accommodation this is ok but I wouldn't like to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed two times in this hostel.What I can say is it is the best choice for budget travellers and the cheapest accomodation in town. Since Norway is an expensive country this hostel providing a better deal compared to the other hotels or hostels in town. The location is very good and a walking distance from Oslo train and bus stations.In term of cleanliness, I think this hostel is clean enough.The staff is also friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile


Stayed Mid may 2012

Hostel was ok. Clean, fresh sheets. There are kitchens in the rooms (which I liked) but you needed to rent a cooking kit - now you got your money back but you could only rent for a few hours otherwise you lose your deposit and they had limited supply of kitchen boxes. 

Not a very social hostel although they do have a foozeball table in the lobby and they serve beer etc. (which I also liked because it was alot cheaper than bars in the area).

One thing is that they don't have lockers, I think all hostels should have lockers in your room. They had small lockers downstairs for valuables (provide your own lock). Wifi was good in the lobby but we couldn't get it in our room, we were a few levels up.

Not in the nicest area kind of reminds me of a ghetto a little bit. 
I was there for national day (17th may) which was good fun but just beware everything is expensive in Oslo - hostels, food, shopping, maccas and especially alcohol! I paid almost 80$ Australian for a litre of Smirnoff!

I wouldn't mind staying here again but i would look around at others as well.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean room, this hostel is not even a choice. If you are going with a bunch of friends and after partying you don't care where you end up, it coul be worth it. We arrived at 22.30h, after a long journey hoping to have a warm shower and some comfort. 4 people in the reception, no one attending us, they were busy talking or serving drinks to other guests. By the way, we booked with hostelworld and no information given regarding bed linen/towel. We had to pay extra 150kr. We had booked a twin room, but maybe they were that busy, that counted wrong and gave us a room for 8. The room had never had the pleasure of metting fresh air!! It was so smelly, dirty and... Simply disgusting.... Guests there are having fun, so there are continuosly people shouting on the corridors, at the stairs... We hardly slept. The only good thing is its location, 10 min from bus/train station. But honestly, the worst experience over our week trip.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights (August 2012). For about $100 US per night we got a basic room with two twin beds, en suite, with a mini fridge, and a small stove top (downstairs will lend you a set of dishes, pots & pans).

Oslo is a very expensive city (says the New Yorker) beers in the bars will run you $10-$15 US (or as I refered to them "Yankee Stadium Prices"); a small bottle of Coca-Cola is $4, and candy bars cost $3. So all things considered $100 US per night was very reasonable.

If I were to "NOK" them for anything it would only be that their common room space is small and their free Wi-Fi is only downstairs in the lobby (it doesn't reach the rooms upstairs)... and that the night of the USA Women's Soccer Olympic Gold Medal game rather than showing that on the television they had on some generic track & field events (with Norway's Women's team being a major rival of the American team in years past — I chalked it up to jealousy). But overall, the stay was good and the staff was friendly and helpful. If I were to return to Oslo I would have no trouble staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Hostel

Address: Storgata 55, Oslo 0182, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Hostel is a modern hostel situated in the center of Oslo.8 minutes walking distance from Oslo central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Anker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anker Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anker Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.