We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting stop if you have the time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nobel Peace Center

The Nobel Peace Center
Brynjulf Bulls Plass 1 | City Hall Square, Oslo 0250, Norway
47 48 30 10 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 303 things to do in Oslo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nobel Peace Center presents the Nobel Peace Prize laureates and their work, in addition to telling the story of Alfred Nobel and to host exhibitions on war, peace and conflict resolution.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Interesting stop if you have the time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

On our walking tour around the City, we had time and I was keen to see the Nobel Peace Center. I was a little disappointed. The museum permanent exhibits felt worn and some parts were broken. Nonetheless, we learned a lot about the Nobel Peace Prize, past winners, and the history of the founder.

The ground floor was all about Europe and a special exhibit on European identity. Only mildly interesting. Good stuff in the gift shop made up for some of the other deficiencies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    108
    82
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Interesting center. Guided tours included in the ticket. Tickets are valid all day, so you can go out and return whenever you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to the Nobel Peace Center. It is a lovely building in the first instance and located in a great location just at Aker Brygge and on Radhusplassen looking out at all the boats and ferries. We found the exhibits to be well displayed and very informative in a peaceful (excuse the pun) environment. Some of the electronic displays are brilliant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Could be more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

There are temporary and permanent exhibition about Nobel prize. You must check the schedule and whats on display. The souvenir shop is also bit of disappointment.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Inspiring reflexion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The centre is included in the 3-day visit Oslo card, but we were not sure whether it was a good idea to go there, especially on Munch day (June 3rd when the Munch exhibitions opened simultaneously at the National Gallery and at the Munch Museum). I am glad we did. You can spend as much or as little time as you want. There are guided tours (also in English) and it touches on the main aspects of the museum. If you are a history buff you may want to spend at least a couple of hours on your own. The history of the price and of Alfred Nobel are displayed in an iterative book. You could look for your favourite laureate (short) biography, or look at the overview that displays the different spheres of influence of the laureates. Even though the number of men outnumbers that of women, the first female laureate was Baroness Bertha von Suttner, back in 1905. Who would have thought?? Another interesting one is Wangari Maathai (from Kenya) in 2004, and whose book "The challenge for Africa" is a must read for everyone interested in the development of the continent. Another interesting one is Shirin Ebadi, now living in exile, who received the prize in 2003 and became the first female from an Islamic country (Iran) to win it. I could continue, but I leave it up to you to explore the centre :)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nobel Peace Center also viewed

 

Been to The Nobel Peace Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nobel Peace Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.