We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceminded staff and a relaxed atmosphere with a lovely dining hall! Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skippergaten 7, Oslo 0152, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Serviceminded staff and a relaxed atmosphere with a lovely dining hall! Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Hotel Bastion is one of those unique hotels where you feel at home! This is the hotel I choose every time in Oslo. Thanks to the staff and the dining-room (all-time open serving evening-buffet (included) in the afternoon) Hotel Bastion has a relaxed atmosphere where you really feel welcome. Personnally I am not a fan of hotels and normally find hotelrooms steril and cold. The standard rooms at Hotel Bastion gets a higher score from me than the majority of the hotels i know. But the upgraded "Superior" rooms are something special! They're different furnitured with a much more cosy style than "normal" hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Dear Torfinn from Norway,
We are honored by your kind words regarding our unique staff and fantastic staff. I will bring on all your comments ! I understand you have tried one of our De Lux rooms. As you point out,- 50% of our rooms are all individually decorated by the original owner,- with pieces of art and furniture from his personal travels all around the world.
A warm welcome back,
Best regards,
Hilde Hammervold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    314
    91
    26
    18
See reviews for
120
298
82
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

I arrived into Oslo at midnight so the easy 5 minute walk from the train station was great. I was initially put off by the building works going on opposite the hotel but my room was at the back and in fact one of the quietest places I've ever slept!
The staff were very friendly and willing to help. Free wifi was also a great bonus.
My room was lovely but the size of a cupboard and certainly not for sharing unless you are intimately connected/like the person very much! But it was spotless and was all i needed.
Breakfast was a great selection of food from cereal and yoghurt to a selection of breads, cheese and meat to a full English but it was packed and not enough space to stand and get your food and not enough tables.
Afternoon tea was included but was not as great as I expected, you make pancake and waffles on a little grill but they only had jam to eat with them, but the coffee which is free for your entire stay was really nice.
Then the included evening buffet which was a really nice selection of simple light bites and was perfect after all you get included. The deal is very good value because you need not spend money elsewhere.
The jacuzzi downstairs was also a great bonus after a day in the snow!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We were in Oslo for 3 nights so wanted somewhere central, safe and convenient. The Clarion Hotel Bastion was incredible! The staff are so accommodating and friendly. The room that we got had reclining beds and a wet room type of shower, which was brilliant. In the lobby, there is free tea & coffee all day not to mention fruit and water. The breakfast buffet consists of fruit/ juice/ toast and a full fry if you wanted it. Perfect start to a day's adventures. In the afternoon there's a hot plate for you to make your own pancakes...yum! The evening buffet, also included in our room price was more than enough to keep you going. There's soup/ salad/ bread, a hot dish option and dessert. We had the time of our lives and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Oslo is a fantastic city and the people are so nice! Just sad to be home now! Thanks to all at Clarion Bastion for a great holiday

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW (USA)
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We returned to Oslo from up-country for one night and I booked this online the evening before. The rate was, compared to others offered in Oslo Centrum [10 minute walk to the train station], excellent. We were allowed to check-in before 1000 [ferry arrived nearby] and they offered us breakfast gratis; coffee, tea, and pastries were available adjacent to the lobby all day. Our room faced the harbor and was beautifully appointed. And quiet! The front desk staff was excellent thoughout, including "insider" tips on a few places we still had left to see in Oslo - with advice on the best tram routes to/from. A "light" meal with two hot dishes, many side dishes, and dessert was available that evening, and appreciated by two weary vagabonds. As we had an 0715 train to catch the next morning, they set up a breakfast for us at 0600 (an hour before normal hours) and then sent us on our way with a bag of brioche and muffins for the trip. The guest computer in the lobby was welcome. All this for 1200kr! This was the BEST service and value we had in 3 weeks travel through all the Nordic countries. Such a gem!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

Pluses
Free food in the evening.
Good location. Not the best for Oslo

Minuses
Free food instead of hamburgers. Food is very simple like in cheapest canteen.
Good location. If you would like to find a girl for night it is simple near this hotel.
There are a big construction of new building in front of the hotel. So if you pay for superior or suite you will get a nice picture of construction. And a sounds.
Rooms was renovated in 1960-1970-s. Very cold in rooms. You could hear a wind from the windows. But you could ask a heater from the reception.

The floor in the room was cleaned a year ago. Very dirty….

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Dear Guest from Russia,
Thank you for taking the time to give your review of the hotel. I am really sorry we did not manage to fulfill your expectations.
Your review indicates that apparently the style and concept of the Hotel Bastion does not appeal to you. The Hotel Bastion is a very personal hotel, with an informal and as most guests describe it, a cozy and very personal atmosphere.
It consists of 2 buildings,- the first opened 1997, and fully refurbished last year in a modern style , inspired by the latest boutique hotels in London. The other building consist of suites and De Lux rooms only. These rooms are all individually decorated, with furniture, pieces of art and decorations collected by the original owner on his personal travels all over the world.
Quite correctly, some of the rooms do have old floors, of which we are very proud. Here he has collected old antique floor planks that are used in some rooms, as well as ship floor in some. Unfortunately for your review, you have not seen any of our suites that you try to describe,- as they are all facing the other side of the building, not the side where there is some construction going on, but also where you can see the fjord and the Opera from most rooms.
Luckily our guests have different taste regarding style, atmosphere and decoration of a hotel as well as food served. . The Hotel Bastion does not have a restaurant, or a choice of hamburgers for our guests to buy. And our guests do not pay for half / full board. As a part of Clarion Collection philosophy we offer our guests certain treats for free,- coffee, tea and fruit all day, waffles /pancakes in the afternoon, and a Teaser evening buffet in the evening. This buffet, many of our guest actually find so good and attractive, so they cancel their restaurant reservations, and rather buy a bottle of wine and enjoy the buffet offered by the hotel. And, if you check in after 9 pr you are even offered a sandwich so you should not go hungry to bed.
However, I am truly sorry that you experienced cold rooms. I know this has been a problem on some rooms this very cold winter. We offer all our guests an extra oven if needed, and the building owner has agreed to a new heating system. New windows for the rooms in questions were changed this month!
However, I hope you enjoyed Oslo, and that you will find your favorite hotel also in this beautiful city!
Best regards, Hilde Hammervold
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

There was a building site in front of the hotel with a lot of noise. The hot water did not work one day. The gym was closed for renovation, I could not find any warning of this before arrival. The location is not bad but you can get closer to the train station in other hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HildeH, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Dear Guest from Barcelona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry we did not manage to fulfill your expectations this time. As you mentioned, the gym was closed for renovation first week in January, a notice was posted in the elevator. As to the cold water, this was actually not due to the hotel. Unfortunately, a large part of Oslo was cut out of the “remote water heating system” for one night,- without notice. And the noise from building activities was to be finished in December,- but there are still some days with noise daytime, unfortunately. However,- we are glad you liked the location! I hope we will be able to welcome you back on another occasion!

Best regards, Hilde Hammervold
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Can't agree with the good reviews for this hotel.

Agree with comments about the construction site right outside. They started smashing up rocks at 5.30am. Location a bit unsavoury as well.

Free evennig meal was OK but a bit tastless. Had better breakfasts. The training room room was closed for buliding work.

Room was too hot on arrival, with an extra heater installed, probably due to the comments about rooms being too cold. Otherwise OK - comfy bed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion

Address: Skippergaten 7, Oslo 0152, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oslo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#7 Family Hotel in Oslo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#10 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotellet er inspirert av engelske boutiquehotell og legger vekt på å skape en hjemmekoselig stemning for deg som gjest.Med fyr på peisen ønskes du velkommen til vår spisestue, hvor du også kan Afternoon tea,kveldsmat og frokost - uten tillegg i prisen. Rommene som var nyoppusset sommeren 2009 er gjennomført i en trendy,boutique-stil, mens deluxe-fløyen holdes i en engelsk kolonistil. Noen av rommene har utsikt over det nye Operahuset og havneområdet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Bastion
Clarion Collection Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Bastion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.