We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lille Saigon 1

Lille Saigon 1
Bernt Ankers Gate 7, Oslo 0183, Norway
+47 21 38 81 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 990 Restaurants in Oslo
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Simple but nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

A cosy, but non-fancy, Vietnamese restaurant worth a visit. It has a relaxed athmosphere, tasty food and affordable beer. Located not far from the main street Karl Johan.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Good honest food, large portions, expedient service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a very down-to-earth little restaurant. Don't expect anything fancy. The food is good and no one leaves hungry. The prices are in the low end by Oslo standards. They marinate all their meat in a marinade that contains MSG, so if you have an allergy/intolerance, the only options are vegetarian.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Service, food, price... Very good choice. Friendly staff, food was incredible, never tried authentic vietnamese cuisine, so it is either the place or the dishes...

I am intolerant to ertain food, and they were helpful to helping me decide.

Nobody there when we get there, so we were worried, but the results proved us wrong.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My absolute favourite in Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is the place where my Norwegian colleagues take me when we go out eating. With Oslo prices this is a great place to eat at. The portions are huge; I think that of the 4 times I've eaten here, I've managed to finish my dish only once. So this is a place where big guys get their stomachs full without a hesitation.
from the outside the place looks like it's not a good restaurant, but when you get in, you see that almost all the tables are full. I would have never found this place without my local colleagues.
The only thing that is a bit annoying is that the machine never accepts my bank cards (accepts only Norwegian).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best secret in Oslo. And cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is the restaurant people living in Oslo are going to, for cheap and great food. It's very tasty Vietnamese food for a lot less money than you'd normally spend in this expensive city. I always bring friends and families when they are visiting Oslo, and they love it. Not the most cosy place, so come and eat and leave again. Lot's of great bars in the neighbourhood to go to instead. Can recommend the soups. No reservation is needed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lille Saigon 1 also viewed

Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 
Oslo, Eastern Norway
Oslo, Eastern Norway
 

Been to Lille Saigon 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lille Saigon 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.