We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist but works” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citybox Oslo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Citybox Oslo to your Saves list
Citybox Oslo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway (Sentrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Minimalist but works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

If you are in the market for a minimalist experience this might be the place. It's nice and very clean, has everything you absolutely need but nothing else. No wardrobe, no TV, no breakfast (next door is a great place for that). The check-in is automated, so no reception either. However, there is a very friendly 'host' that will help you. There is a luggage room (for free) and a vending machine - No alcohol is sold, though. For me it was perhaps a bit too barebone, but it's a cheap and we'll located choice for a simple overnight stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi TheLegos!

Thanks for a great review of our hotel!

"Minimalist, but works" is a great summary of us. We offer a simple and modern solution for what we consider to be a really fair rate.

Many of our Citybox Hosts have been travelling this summer, and after staying in many other places around the world, we all agree that we think our product is a really good option. To find a place in the city centers of the world, that has a private bathroom, has many times proven to be a real challenge without spending way too much money. After all, we do not travel to see the hotel, do we? :)

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    281
    54
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
190
62
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel, situated in the heart of Oslo,near central station and shopping street
It's ok for 4/5 days for a tour in Oslo!
Also it the rooms are small but very modern concept,
Wi fi is free, and that is many important.
I things that only problem: the room isn't clear every Day but each 2/3 day, and fi you want new towels, you go to take yourself! This is not a problem for me.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Francesco B!

Thanks for a great review of our hotel!

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is true that we do not clean the rooms every day. This is to keep our running costs down, and to offer you an even better rate on the room. We do not clean our rooms home every day either, so we don't really think it's needed? But for those who want their rooms cleaned every day, we can gladly do this for an extra charge - we think that is a fair deal, don't you? :)

Thanks again for recommending us!
Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We reserved a room by Booking.com for the very cheap price and the location (very close to the center, the main train station, the bus terminal, etc).
We didn't expect a lot but... suddenly we have the first surprise: no reception. How can we check-in? Automatized desk: you digit your reservation number and... you've got your key(s).
We lifted to the assigned room and... everything worked perfectly: the key opened the door, the room was very clean with all of what we needed. Just a little bit small (and te bathroom was too) but... everything was looking new, clean, comfortable, "functional".
We didn't miss the presence of "human" reception: furthermore, we had the need to print the boarding pass of our Ryan Air flight and... at the ground floor there was a personal computer with an internet connection and a printer; we printed our boarding passes in few seconds and everything was fine.
And... for the checkout? We left the hotel at 6 o'clock in the morning: we digit the number of the room, we dropped the key into the hole and... that's all! After few seconds, I had the receipt in my mailbox.
Really everything was perfect, simple, clean and cheap.
Thumbs up!

P.s. free wi-fi included!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hi proto1631

Wow! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel!

So glad to hear that we could offer you such a positiv surprise! We really try not to oversell our product, we try be honest in our marketing - just as our name tries to illustrate that we are no more than a box in the city, and we even name our small rooms "small". What we try offer is a simple and modern solution that is true value for money, and we just love to hear from guests that seem to like and understand our concept! :)

Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

In the most expensive city I've ever been this hotel has been a true pleasure to stay at. It was the cheapest option for a private single room in the city centre, and whereas this will get you a noisy, old room with terrible beds and a shared bathroom in other cities such as London or Paris, the Oslo Citybox is new, pretty, fresh, with great beds, perfectly working wifi, and an amazing bathroom with underfloor heating! I had a couple of questions which the host answered quickly and thoroughly on Facebook chat, and the room keycard I lost somewhere while hiking in Maridalen was replaced without any extra cost. Also, the host was cute. Should I or anyone I know ever go back to Oslo I will definitely stay at or recommend this hotel! Sad to check out in half an hour :(

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Hi Wesley P!

Wow! Thank you for an amazing review!

We are so glad to hear from guests that seem to like and understand our concept! We try our best to offer a simple and modern solution at a fair rate in what we feel are true value for money.

All our Citybox Host are availble on our facebook chat, and we respond as fast as we can! Guests who are sad to check out can take comfort in that we are even more sad to see them go! But we hope to see you again! :)

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

If you like to people watch, get a room on the sidewalk side of the hotel. Lots of "business" going on out there. Prostitution is legal here and there's lots of laughter as well as shouting out on the sidewalk most of the night.

Otherwise, this hotel is great. Cheap even outside of Norwegian standards, three of us stayed in one room. We had to pay for the third bed, which was brought up and setup for us by the time we returned to the hotel after a late lunch.

There is no TV, there is a vending machine by the lobby that takes credit/debit cards only. Cards usually need to have microchips in them to work in Norway. The US is transitioning to these cards so check your out first. I planned on using just credit card but I had to use my debit card instead and transfer money online from my savings to my checking. What a pain!

The shower in the bathroom is medium sized by nice. You check into your room using a machine in the lobby, you only have to talk to the staff if you have special needs. Staff is distant but friendly, just like every Norwegian I met in Norway. Wish I could go back!

Room Tip: For a good night's sleep, find a room not over the sidewalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hi Amber H!

Wow!! Thanks for an amazing review of our hotel!

Don't we all love people watching? Just sipping on a cup of coffee and study the strange and wonderful creatures around us? :)
Maybe that's why you fund us Norwegians to be distant but friendly, maybe we were just too consumed in our people watching?

In stead of having TVs in our rooms (they are actually quite a running expense for hotels) we have decided to upgrade our Wifi, so everyone should be able to stream whatever they prefer to their smartphones and/or laptops. And if you miss you TV too much, we luckily have two TVs in our lobby.

Too bad that you didn't have a pin on your card! We can accept cards without pin, but they you have to pay directly with us instead of our check-in/check-out terminals. Just press the blue calling button and we'll come running!

We try our best to offer true value for money, so we really appreciate that you found us to be cheap!

We hope you are able to visit us again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

By Oslo prices, inexpensive. Convenient location, modern and clean. I liked the comfortable beds and very soundproofed windows. I wouldn't stay for more than the 3 nights I was there. No TV in the rooms (there are 2 in the lounges on the ground floor). No breakfast. No power socket close enough to a mirror. No bath mat on the tiled bathroom floor which got wet and slippery. Not enough room to get into bed from the side, had to climb in from the end. The desk was tiny and not much good for anything. No shelves or drawers. But, these are all minor nitpicks and given the alternatives, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hi brian94582!

Thanks for a great review of our hotel!

We totally agree on that you should judge us based upon our prices. We wouldn't dream of comparing us to any 5 star hotel with restaurants and swimming pools, we are working on something completely different with a view to offer a simple and modern solution at an affordable rate. And that is also why we leave the breakfast to someone who is much better at it than us. TVs are actually really expensive to hotels, so we have instead upgraded our Wifi so everyone should be able to stream whatever they prefer to their smartphones and laptops.

Actually there is a power socket real close to the mirror? Maybe you didn't notice it?
If you need any extra towels you can always stop by our Citybox Host Office! :)

Thanks again for recommending us, and we hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I'd read mixed reviews on Citybox. Location was great for main railway station & Oslo is small enough that everything is within walking distance. Room was clean & mirror image of room in photo on website. It was clean & functional, if a little tight for getting around the bottom of the bed to the other side of the room. Automatic check in was simple to use & plenty of info sheets in reception area.
Shower was superb & Norway has delightful habit of underfloor heating in bathrooms.
Price is not cheap but it's good by Norwegian standards. For Brits - it's pretty much double for everything and then some for beer!

Room Tip: We were allocated a corner room which is perhaps the largest?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OsloCitybox, Manager at Citybox Oslo, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hi Christine W!

Thanks for a great review of our hotel!!

A bit surprised to hear that you felt you have read mixed reviews of our hotel? As far as we can see we have had about 85% recommendation rate, and been on the top 15 hotels in Oslo pretty much since we opened? But we are still aiming to be in the top 10 and a 90% recommendation rate! :)

We may not always be the cheapest option in the city, but we are constantly checking our competitors rates, and we try to always offer what we consider to be a fair rate according to what prices are in the market, and according to how our product seems to be received! Our aim is, and have always been, to offer true value for money, and we will continue to offer that! :)

But glad that you seemed to like our hotel, and thanks again for recommending us!
Hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
Citybox Oslo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citybox Oslo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citybox Oslo

Address: Prinsensgate 6, Oslo 0152, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Citybox Oslo 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices. Our rooms are cheap because we keep our running expenses down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a delicate bath, a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place for hanging your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel. Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Oslo, 5 minutes walking from Oslo S, train staion. If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Oslo is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Citybox Oslo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citybox Oslo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.