We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Oslo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thief

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Thief to your Saves list
The Thief
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Bergen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Oslo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very artistic hotel in Oslo. There is artwork everywhere, and the rooms are spacious and beautiful.
The bed with all its pillows, is gorgeous. Breakfast is probably the best in town, and the breakfast restaurant is very fasionable.
The hotel is situated at Tjuvholmen, near to The Astrup Fearnley art museum.
You can easily access the city centre by walking 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of The Thief . Splendid review and very glad you enjoyed your stay . We enjoy breakfast at the Thief and especially on the weekends when we have " lazy breakfast "

Great that you took the time to share your thoughts with us as your feedback is invaluable

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    74
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
30
160
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montebelluna, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Simply the best place to stay in Oslo! It is strategically located in newly developed area of the town (next to a modern art museum designed by famous architect Renzo Piano), it is brand new and it is tastefully furnished (do not forget to take a look at the Andy Wharhol painting hanging discretely on a wall in the restaurant). The restaurant is first class, also for vegetarians/vegans. Service is top quality as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Very glad that you discovered the Warhol as it´s a splendid piece . Great that we could accommodate for your vegan & vegetarian menu . We have great chef and he prides himself on his fresh , locally sourced & natural ingredients

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

New and modern in a quiet and scenic location. Very nice rooms with good beds, nice bathroom and a good nespresso machine. The breakfast is very delicious. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice art everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your very precise review of The Thief
Great to hear so many positives and I´ll forward your comments to my colleagues

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I'm always a bit leery of hip hotels staffed by attractive 20-somethings. In my experience, it doesn't bode well for the service (we call it the Sanderson Syndrome). And when we had to go back to reception to get keys that actually opened the door to our room, I was worried. But in this case, it was a fluke. The rest of the service there was fine. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel is in a newer part of Olso; it's on the harbor side and it's being developed for high-class tourism, I think. It was an interesting place to stay (although we were there in October; not sure how crowded it would be in the high season), with an amazing choice of restaurants and shops. The old part of Olso was well within walking distance. The lobby and bar area were luxurious and quiet; all in all, a top choice (and one I chose based on reviews here).
My one complaint was the hotel restaurant. It did have one of the best breakfast buffets I've seen, and again, staff were very attentive. But we came back for dinner, and I couldn't find a thing I wanted to eat on the menu. We actually had to leave and find another place. Now I understand that they had a top chef, and I understand that pasta and chicken aren't necessarily the best dishes for showing off culinary skills, but a hotel restaurant needs to have a wide range of dishes. It's like a balanced wardrobe: one where you always have an appropriate outfit to wear. This restaurant is the culinary equivalent of a closet full of Vivienne Westwood and Jimmy Choos...over the top.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side. I like to sleep with the windows open, but it was way too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your very comprehensive review of The Thief . Not sure if the Sanderson Syndrome is a compliment as it´s a fine hotel but very glad we managed to get over the original hiccup and provide you with a service worthy of The Thief . Comparisons with Jimmy Choo and Vivien Westwood are colourfull and imaginative and i can only thanks you
We have now introduced the Thief Burger and a range of international dishes to compliment the menu so hope we have listed to our guests and provided accordingly

Looking forward to your return and another interesting review

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a truly unique experience. The location is quite special...in a newly developed area of Oslo adjacent to a new modern museum. The owner-developer of the hotel is an art collector and generously shares his private collection with the museum and vice versa.
The staff is young, handsome, and attentive.
The bar has exceptional art including a few Damon Hirst skulls and some photos taken and printed by the queen. Get the idea?
The rooms themselves are beautifully appointed and are sleek and yet warm. The balance between luscious fabrics and hard surfaces creates a very interesting feeling. The lighting is amazing and the bathroom actually senses that someone is entering and turns on soft lighting. There are controls which enable you to create a sense of daylight, afternoon, or evening.
There is wonderful original artwork in the room. This has been one of the most exceptional hotel stays we have had. I will review the restaurant separately which was also superb.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your great review of The Thief . Splendid to hear that the experience was such an enjoyable one . As you mentioned we have sensors in all rooms that detect your presence and illuminate and vice- versa when your not in the room . Technology that helps us save on energy waste . We also have a superb art collection linked to our sponsorship and close collaboration with the Astrup Fearnley museum .

I´ll forward your thoughts to my colleagues and looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas. Hotel itself is excellent. It is very, very clean, quirky and stylish. But most importantly, the service level is as good as it gets. From the waiter in the excellent restaurant to the maid who greeted us with the sincerest of smiles, we could not fault any aspect of this hotel. Finding the hotel in the dark, is a bit of an issue, especially if you take the train from the airport to the National Theatre stop. It's got two exits which are about 1km apart; I didn't know that, and of course, chose the wrong exit. But once you know where you are, it's dead easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the port. They really are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of the Thief . Very pleasing to hear that you had such a good stay over the Christmas holiday . Great to hear your thoughts concerning the staff and the service . I´ll forward your comments to my colleagues .
Glad you found your way in the Xmas darkness and hope that next time you can experience Norway in the Spring / Summer sunshine

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I´ve stayed at many top category Hyatt and Starwood properties over the years, so my expectations for a scandinavian luxury hotel wasn´t that high to be honest. I am norwegian my self, so I know that a five star hotel in Norway, normally can not compete with international high end hotels on service. But I was proven wrong.

Check-in was smooth. We were upgraded to a deluxe room on the 7th floor (708 to be precise) with an amazing view. (see the attached pictures) Only downside, was that there was only a shower and not a tube. But that you can request at the time of booking, I´m sure.

The area is filled with restaurants and bars, but since this was new years a lot of them were closed, so we ended up with take away from Oslos best sushi restaurant, Alex sushi. Which we enjoyed in our comfortable room.

The ladies at the front desk are lovely, attentive and super service-minded.

We are definitely staying at this hotel again, and have already made our next reservation.

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic G, Manager at The Thief, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Greetings and many thanks for your review of the The Thief . To hear the name of our hotel used alongside those of the Hyatt & Starwood is truly a great compliment . Were very proud of our achievement over the last year and great to be able to provide an alternative to the hotel market in Scandinavia , Norway , Oslo .
Oslo gets a little quiet over the new year but glad you managed to find Alex Sushi as it´s a restaurant we highly recommend

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us

Looking forward to your return

Dominic
Guest Relations Manager
The Thief
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thief? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thief

Address: Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Thief 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thief reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thief, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.