We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent location, view and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lysebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lysebu to your Saves list
Lysebu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lysebuveien 12 | Postboks 109 Holmenkollen, Oslo 0712, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Exellent location, view and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have spent several nights on this amazing hotel. The location and view alone is worth the trip! The food and wine is among the top that Oslo and Norway offers. Friendly staff, clean rooms, pool and huge recreation area makes the stay complete. we will definitively be back. Elisabeth and Stian

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
31
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It took a long time to find a hotel given the parameters of our business. We needed to be awy from the crowds and yet close enough to the city. This was second time to Oslo and the problem was parking, and needing to see clients south of Oslo and to the west. So city no go.

The drive to the hotel is extremely pleasant as one climbs the area where the Olympics were held with the ski jump. The view from up there is extraordinary on the fjord around Oslo.
There are two parts to the hotel: an old one and a new one. The new part has rooms with views that are extraordinary all pointing north.
Dinner was extreme both in prices and in service with the usual exaggeration of a maitre d'hotel and modern cuisine.Breakfast was ornamented in the same but included in the price of the room.
Staff pleasant trying to do its best.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the new wing with a view on the lakes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I attended a workshop at this hotel and stayed there for 2 days (1night). The experience is overwhelming. This is a unique place with its own charm. This time I stayed in the new wing where the rooms are equipped with every possible amenity you need. The food is superb, both breakfast, lunch and dinner. My compliments to the chef! The staff is friendly and helpful. What I liked most about Lysebu was its design. Being a traditional mountain farm, it now has paintings borrowed from the Henie Onstad Center of Contemporary Art at display in the new wing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Has been at Lysebu several times before - always happy with rooms, food and facilities. This time tops it all! Beautiful rooms in the new building - large and comfortable with stylish design, floor-to-wall windows with its own terrace and the forest right outside. Meeting facilities are the best, and the food in a class of its own. Lunch consists of high-quality food, shellfish / seafood, delicious hot dishes and fabulous desserts and cheeses. The dinner was a 4-course with very good quality ingredients, wine menu that really fit well. Must also mention breakfast, organic products, Norwegian producers of top-class - it oozes quality of everything. Art, furniture etc are a delight to the eye - and not the A4-style hotel. Can really recommend Lysebu, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed for a two day conference. Got a small charming room in the main building. No TV. Single bed including a toy teddy bear. The food was excellent. The breakfast had all you needed incl fresh fruit sallad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012 via mobile

A comfortable wooden build Hotel in the upper mountains in Oslo. Unfortunatly not located in the city center. Still a good hotel during the sking season. Not far away there is Oslos winter park. A good choice, service is great, nice view over Oslo and a lot of nature around. Good food and cozy made, with cool rooms. Quite expensive thou.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the best Oslo can offer! It's located in holmenkollen near the famous ski jump and approx 20min from the Oslo center with the subway. From the hotel its 10min to walk to the nearest stop on the metro. The hotel is part of the "historic hotels" in Norway and it states class and quality. I have stayed on 12 there hotels and they are top of the class, lysebu is absolutely the best in the Oslo area if you can afford it. The breakfast is the best Norwegian food I have tasted and the view from the restaurant is stunning! The dinner is world class, I have eaten on a couple of Michelin restaurants and this hotel has the same food quality. A swimming pool, sauna in the ground floor. Permanent art from the famous henie onstad art gallery and soviniers from danish designers. The building is designed by the danish architect Magnus Paulsson and a gift from Norway as a thank to Denmark from the food supply during the WWII. All danish people feel like coming home when they arrive at this hotel. This hotel is the best hotel experience you can get if you not is needed to stay in the city centre. I would had booked it if you will have something extra, see the ski jump, eat the best norwegian short traveled and organic food, enjoy art and discover the best wine cellar in Norway. Happy stay, I have lived in Oslo for a long time and this is my best advise to you.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lysebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysebu

Address: Lysebuveien 12 | Postboks 109 Holmenkollen, Oslo 0712, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lysebu 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic, fairytale location above Holmenkollen, only 20 minutes drive from Oslo centre. We pride ourselves in being able to provide our guests with the best of everything. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant, and enjoy wine from our cellar with more than 4000 bottles. Encounter 112 works by Norwegian and Danish artists from the Henie Onstad Art Centre. Have a swim in our wellness center or take a walk outside in the beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lysebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lysebu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.