We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite okay - central but needs dusting off a little” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Hotel Bristol
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kristian IVs Gate 7 | Postboks 6764, St. Olavsplass, Oslo 0164, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Oslo
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Quite okay - central but needs dusting off a little”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night. The staff was friendly and the check in and out quite efficient.
The interior design is quite old fashioned, which I actually like. But the equipment in the lobby and in the hotel room has seen better days.
The hotel is quite central which is an advantage.
The breakfast was quite good and a wide selection was offered.

Will I go back? Yes maybe. But maybe I will try another hotel too

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    253
    81
    14
    13
See reviews for
63
239
58
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. Friendly, efficient check in, lovely building and interior, and the room was an OK size with a good view. Decor is of the period, but I think "faded glory" as I read somewhere is harsh - it's a very nice lobby, and the bar and breakfast area is also very comforable and nice.

Good, fast free wifi throughout the hotel.

The main square and main shopping streets and many restaurants are all easily walkable, and having walked throughout the whole centre and also travelled to both of the nearby station areas I'd not stay outside of the area where the hotel Bristol is - we saw several more modern hotels near the central station (e.g. Radisson), but these areas were not central enough.

breakfast was good - served until 10am, hot and cold and a good choice.

Gripes? None, really.

Tips for travellers?

1. Wifi is good throughout except in the breakfast room some tables have no signal so if you want to read your paper online get a table near the entrance/bar area.

2. To get here from the main airport, it IS possible to walk from either of the two train stations (central, theatre) - but I'd not recommend it as it's just a little too far especially when arriving early evening. We got the train in from the airport to the central station, and then got a cab to the hotel - much better and easier.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrasanta, Toscana, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent two days in Oslo and we found this incredible accommodation. The Hotel is in the core of the city just few hundred meters from the most interesting places. The hall is something incredible that let you remember the old extremely luxury accommodation: things like Titanic or Queen Mary. It is a tea room, a piano bar, a library, there is a beautiful fountain in the middle: it's a warn recovery from the cold outside. Everything has been … perfect. Keep it up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thanks to all the wonderful TripAdvisor reviewers, I picked this hotel for a 4-day stay last March. It met every one of my needs: old-world local charm (I always knew I was in Oslo!), location within walking distance of most places and a street-car ride for all the rest, sparkling clean room (but small, so I only had what I needed/wanted), good restaurant, nice pub, super breakfast, wireless everywhere, etc. Most of all, the lobby gave me a home away from home: great for a solo traveller who knew no-one when she arrived. The service was warm and friendly. Plus I got an instant insight into why people complain that Norway is expensive when I checked the laundry prices and found a $25 price for washing (not ironing) a pair of jeans. It was obvious that prices are high when service is involved, because they pay everyone a living wage and benefits. This made for friendly service people; it also made for taking advantage of all the "practically free" public benefits, like the Oslo ticket that covers all the museums, transport, etc. Even going to the opera, and to a couple of really top restaurants, this visit was not expensive, because so much of what I wanted to do and see was much cheaper than it would have been in the U.S.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

of the lobby strikes you immediately when you enter ; very cosy: big leather sofa's which creates an immediate nice ambiance. It sure is a nice different to some of the more 'sterile' Scandinavian hotels I stayed in.
The front desk staff is friendly and helpful.
The rooms are comfortable - and the windows do open (I like to have some fresh air).
Nothing fancy but comfortable.
A thing that struck me is that (at times) there is a slight sewage smell in the bathroom; I was told that in Scandinavia they are not allowed to use harsh cleaning products (like bleach) ...!!!
During the peak season the breakfast room can be a bit ' overcrowded'; you may have to wait to find a table; also the replenishing of the breakfast items does take time as the staff can not handle the flow. But hey, who is in a rush right?

The location is TOPS; 2 minutes from the main square. 10 minutes from the port (really fab to sit at a terrace in the summer watching people stroll by, listen to a concert.
Everything is at hand; restaurants, bars and cinemas.

And the Scandinavians sure enjoy the outdoors; it does not matter if it is 25 degrees or minus 20; I saw them on the (heated) terraces having a drink!

But I am always surprised how expensive it can be!?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were looking for a competitively priced hotel in the centre of Oslo for a long weekend city break and booked the Bristol hotel.
It was very easy to find, short walking distance to the national theatre train station which is fantastic as you can use the metro to get anywhere you might like to go.
On arrival at the Bristol hotel I was amazed by the beautiful Lobby area it relly is stunning. The reception team were fantastic, offering ideas for where we may like to visit during our stay and a map (always useful).
We had a standard room which was a good size with a desk and small sitting area. The bathroom was lovely, L'occtaine hair and body wash, just a shower which was fine for us, but if your someone who needs a bath, it may be worth checking with the hotel what type of room you need to book.
The room was spotless, and house keeping did a fantastic job daily to keep it so, infact the whole hotel was spotless.
The bed and pillows - aaaaamazing, most comfy bed I have ever slept in.
Breakfast is wonderful, buffett style with plenty of choice. If you can have breakfast late and consider it brunch (it will save you alot of money, Oslo is expensive!!)
I used the sauna once during my stay, again it was clean and well kept. It is small, but i was the only person there, a great way to warm up after a chilly day round Oslo.
Whilst we were visiting my boyfriend unfortunately broke his ankle sledging and really the hotel were fantastic (specificaly the reception team) . They faxed all our insurance documents and printed the documents we needed, extended our room to a late checkout on our rescheduled departure day, provided extra pillows, anythng we needed, the reception team eally are a credit to this already lovely hotel.
The hotel holds the charm from the 1920s and really is fantastic, we really hope to visit again (hopefully no broken bones next time!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This city centre hotel combines old-world charm with modern comforts in an ideal location convenient to all the main city attractions, The rooms are small but well appointed and those on upper floors are quiet with views over the city from their small balcony. The buffet breakfast is extensive and of high standard. The free sauna, plunge pool (10c) and power showers are a valuable bonus on cold winter days. Room rates reduce by the number of days stayed and offer excellent value for money compared to other hotels even within the Thon group. I would not think of staying in any other hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Address: Kristian IVs Gate 7 | Postboks 6764, St. Olavsplass, Oslo 0164, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#3 Business Hotel in Oslo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#7 Family Hotel in Oslo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Oslo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.